Customer Reviews for

Maybe This Time

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

MAYBE THIS TIME, by Jennifer Crusie, is a romantic and thrilling book that will keep you glued to the pages. Crusie created a great story that is sweet and almost scary at times. I love the supernatural aspect of the ghosts and how the children factor into everything. ...
MAYBE THIS TIME, by Jennifer Crusie, is a romantic and thrilling book that will keep you glued to the pages. Crusie created a great story that is sweet and almost scary at times. I love the supernatural aspect of the ghosts and how the children factor into everything.

I absolutely loved this book! I fell in love with the characters and I was enamored by their uncontrolled predicaments. Andie was such a doll and I would have loved to snatch her out of the book and make her my best friend. She was extremely patient with Alice and Carter and protected them with every inch of her soul. Crusie also let us into the mind of North, Andie's ex-husband, and it was a pleasurable experience. I thought North and Andie's past was a bit rocky but I am true believer that time heals all wounds, it just took some effort to get Andie thinking the same way. Even some of the more minor characters were hilarious. Mrs. Crumb, as the crochity housekeeper, was ecentric and sometimes too secretive which made me question her motives.

I even liked experiencing the mystery of the house and the ghosts that inhabited it. I was pulled back and forth between siding with Andie or North in the debate about the ghosts and Crusie never allowed me to put my guard down until the very end! I liked how Alice and Carter fit into the larger aspect of the book. It was no mystery that these children have seen their share of horrors and neglect but Andie and her determination did stand a chance against them.

I don't think I can give higher praise to this book. It was funny, fresh, romatic, with some added suspense. I highly recommend it to those looking for a great mystery and a little romance.

posted by kittydanza on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

GACK!

So I've read most of Jennifer Crusie's published work and have really enjoyed it... but this was not what i was expecting. The reviews said funny ghost story, paranormal romance. And like the rest of us I've seen wizards, vampires and ghoulies in romance novels lately. ...
So I've read most of Jennifer Crusie's published work and have really enjoyed it... but this was not what i was expecting. The reviews said funny ghost story, paranormal romance. And like the rest of us I've seen wizards, vampires and ghoulies in romance novels lately. So a witty haunting where she saves the children sounded perfect! If only this were the book the reviews said it was. This was a sad book! I didn't see the "humorous romance." I did however see Andie (the heroine) haunted by thoughts and miss a guy that existed 10 years earlier who came back and said that he wasn't the same guy. So instead of spending ANY time to get to know each other they had sex in a pantry. WTH? I would have been OK with that if they had been strangers (ironically enough) or if they had rekindled a romance of any sort. But we were spared by the author of getting to know the male lead character in any other way than a ghost demanding sexual information from Andie about the male character. Bottom line... Great author that really didn't do the idea of this story justice. DO read her other works because they're funny, fun and have a great pace. But if you're reading this one because you like the author be prepared for something completely Non-Crusie'esque. I actually am wondering if she had someone else write the book like Patterson, Greshem, Danielle Steel, or Nora Roberts... Point in fact-- i gave it 3 stars because it wasn't horribly written... I just wish it had been advertised/reviewed and promoted by someone that had read it. I would have given it 2.5 but had to give solid stars. There wasn't one huge smile or audible laughter from me (and I LOVE to laugh) when reading this book. I'll pick up Crusie's next novel at the book store when it comes out to skim through it. I'm never going to buy again just because of the author's history of writing.

posted by 3586317 on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Loved it!

    MAYBE THIS TIME, by Jennifer Crusie, is a romantic and thrilling book that will keep you glued to the pages. Crusie created a great story that is sweet and almost scary at times. I love the supernatural aspect of the ghosts and how the children factor into everything.

    I absolutely loved this book! I fell in love with the characters and I was enamored by their uncontrolled predicaments. Andie was such a doll and I would have loved to snatch her out of the book and make her my best friend. She was extremely patient with Alice and Carter and protected them with every inch of her soul. Crusie also let us into the mind of North, Andie's ex-husband, and it was a pleasurable experience. I thought North and Andie's past was a bit rocky but I am true believer that time heals all wounds, it just took some effort to get Andie thinking the same way. Even some of the more minor characters were hilarious. Mrs. Crumb, as the crochity housekeeper, was ecentric and sometimes too secretive which made me question her motives.

    I even liked experiencing the mystery of the house and the ghosts that inhabited it. I was pulled back and forth between siding with Andie or North in the debate about the ghosts and Crusie never allowed me to put my guard down until the very end! I liked how Alice and Carter fit into the larger aspect of the book. It was no mystery that these children have seen their share of horrors and neglect but Andie and her determination did stand a chance against them.

    I don't think I can give higher praise to this book. It was funny, fresh, romatic, with some added suspense. I highly recommend it to those looking for a great mystery and a little romance.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Delightful! Would recommend to a friend!!!

    I read Bet Me first. Which has become one of my favorite books ever. While this book is less comical, it is still delightful. Not so much a romantic comedy, instead this book revolves around a haunted house and two children who are caught up in its trouble. If they made this book into a movie, I would want to see it immeadiately. Andie, the main character, is someone everyone can relate to. Well written, an easy read, and a wonderful ending make this book worth every penny. I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Romance, mystery, paranormal activity....

    Andie Miller is finally over her ex-husband, North Archer. She's marrying someone else, hopefully, and is seeking to finally, and totally, sever the ties with her ex-husband after being divorced for ten years. She wants to tie up a few loose ends prior to agreeing to marry her new love. During a meeting with North,(ex), he has one last request of her. to spend a month at an old castle in Southern Ohio so that she can "fix" two children who have managed to run off every nanny that he has sent. This is an enjoyable mix of romance, mystery and strange, paranormal aspects.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An amusing paranormal second chance at love romance

    Thirty-four year old Andie Miller plans to finally sever the ties to her former husband North. However, she is reminded how difficult ending their relationship truly is in spite of their divorce. Somehow he persuaded her to help him rectify the issues confronting his deceased cousin's two troubled children Carter and Alice though she has no legal or blood links to the kids.

    The children reside in a gothic style mausoleum with a live grouch of a housekeeper Mrs. Danvers and a horde of ghosts. Andie tries her best to help the depressed lonely youngsters, but Alice and Carter are difficult to reach. She attempts to persuade late Aunt May, but the spirit insists she is going to get it right the second time around. Finally recently dead Dennis and seemingly eternal haunts Miss J and Peter prefer to stay earth bound. The beleaguered ex wife believes life is harder now with her former in-laws, live and dead, than when it was when she was married to North.

    Maybe This Time is an amusing paranormal second chance at love romance in which readers will agree with Andie that the otherworldly asylum and a facility on this side too have let the crazies out. Fast-paced and action-packed with a story line seemingly about to go out of control, but never does. Readers will enjoy Jennifer Crusie's zany romantic romp as North wonders if he still has a ghost of a chance with the woman he loves.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Not the Norm...It's Better!

    Originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** Take Jennifer Crusie's trademark cast of quirky-but-realistic characters, mix in suspense and some paranormal activity and you have a whiz-bang book worth the six-year wait since her last solo effort.

    I'm a huge Jenny Crusie fangirl, so as much as I may have enjoyed her collaborative efforts, I've been anxious for her return to solo releases. While Maybe This Time is nothing like I expected, and is quite a bit different from the Crusie novels of old, I wasn't left wanting.

    North and Andie were divorced ten years ago, but now Andie's back in his life, demanding that he stop sending her alimony checks (that she's not cashing anyway) so she can move forward and marry someone else. North handles her announcement with a bit of shock and an offer: he'll pay her to take care of two kids he's inherited. All she has to do is settle them down and bring them home. The only catch? No governess has lasted very long, another person died after trying to remove the kids from their home and there are whispers of ... ghosts.

    Andie, determined but flexible Andie, needs the salary so she can enter her new marriage debt-free and can't see how it can be that hard to bring two kids back to Columbus. Besides, she doesn't believe in ghosts.

    I have to admit to going into this book thinking it was a regular romance, where the relationship between the hero and heroine was primary to the plot. I was wrong. At first, I was disappointed when Andie and North spent nearly no time together in this story (except occasionally on the phone, and frequently in their thoughts) for more than the first half of the book. I wish I'd gone into reading this without that assumption, because I would have been more excited about the book right off the bat instead of waiting and waiting and waiting for them to be together. Understand, I'm telling you this so you're prepared because it would be a shame for you not to enjoy this book to the fullest. Because the fact is, it's a hoot ... a shivery, don't read it after dark or you'll be looking over your shoulder at the slightest sound, mysterious kind of story that was thoroughly enjoyable.

    That's not to say there wasn't a romance here - but it really only takes place near the end. My advice is to enjoy the book for what it is and not get frustrated for what it isn't.

    I'm consistently amazed at how Ms. Crusie can take characters who should be utterly unbelievable and make them seem like they could be your neighbors or your friends. There's creepy Mrs. Crumb, adorable Southie, neurotic kids, Carter and Alice and more. By the time I was done reading this, I felt like I knew them all and I wanted to know what else happened to them. I was so completely invested in them, utterly involved in their lives I was sad and a little lonely when I finished the book.

    I really loved Andie best of all, though. She was so level-headed in the midst of chaos and took everything in stride (well, most everything anyway). She's a little loopy, but earnest and loving, and fairly open minded about things (must be her mom's influence!) and she wormed her way right into my heart. And it's not that North wasn't wonderful (if occasionally bemused), and he was the perfect foil for Andie, but I have to admit that Southie was my fave male character. I'm fairly certain I heard a rumor that Ms. Crusie is writing his story, and I can't wait to read it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MAYBE THIS TIME

    Heartwarming and chilling, the story is set in 1992, where Andromeda, (Andie), is a teacher and is sent by her ex-husband to help him with his 2 wards, 2 of his cousin's children who are only living with a housekeeper in an old castle-like house. The other nannies quit and North is hoping that Andie will get things straightened out so that he can get the kids moved away from that house. Andie wants to end that association before she agrees to marry Will, a local writer. Of course, Andie and her ex realize they both have strong feelings for each other, always a good sexual tension feature. They had only been married a year when Andie left the marriage because of her workaholic lawyer spouse, North. There is snappy, humorous dialogue, a bit of the paranormal world..or not.murders, a creepy housekeeper, fading children all add to the mystery. This will lift your spirits and make you smile! Lots of fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    One of her best though different from what you might expect.

    This book is difficult to put down once you begin reading it. If you are a Crusie fan, this one will delight you. It is well written and fast paced. However, it is quite different from Crusie's other books so be prepared. After the disappointment of her collaborations, this book is a welcome relief that she hasn't lost her skills for writing a fascinating story with wonderful characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I've read all of Cruise's books and loved most of them. I've been disappointed with a couple of the last ones, especially the collaborations. But this one is back to the Jennifer Cruise I love. Like Bet Me and Faking It, it's funny and has truly interesting characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    she's back!

    so glad to have a brand new jennifer crusie book! it has been six long years since her last solo novel...it was worth the wait! the ghost aspect was different...and you can't help but to fall in love with andie and north! so good that i did nothing else but read the entire book yesterday!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I had a lot of fun reading this book. It is hard to find books a

    I had a lot of fun reading this book. It is hard to find books about haunted houses that are interesting and not silly. I like the relationship between Andie and North--how they grew apart, grew up, and then found each other again. The characters are three dimensional, even the ghosts.
    There are some interesting twists in the plot. The writing flows well and is easy to read.
    I highly recommend this book for the summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Great book by a new author for me!

    I have never read any of Jennifer Cruise's books but I think I am a fan now. This was a great read! very entertaining, suspenseful, & romantic. I liked the 'ghost' twist! surprising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!  The love story was secondary to the

    I really enjoyed this book!  The love story was secondary to the plot.  Andie's interaction with the children and th
    ghosts was wonderful.  Little Alice will stick in my mind for a very long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    I loved this book!! Best story in a long time. A little bit of

    I loved this book!! Best story in a long time. A little bit of everything was in this novel. VERY pleased!! I was glued, and finished it in one day, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    exciting

    Great ghost story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Fun!

    Usually I would not choose to read a book like this but for some reason I did. I absolutely loved it!!! Could not put it down! Must read for a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Another great one by Ms. Crusie

    The book notes say it all. If you have enjoyed JC's other books, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great book!

    This is by far one if my most favorite books. It's also very different from her others. Definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    A WINNER

    AS ALWAYS I JUST LOVE THE WRITING STYLE OF CRUSIE...A GREAT READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Great Book

    Great dialogue throughout the entire book. Very well written and very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Absolutely awesome!

    I read an avg of 3 books a week and listen to another one on audio in the car and i have to say that this was one of the best romance novels i have ever read!! Made me an automatic Crusie fan. Plotting was perfect!! Great read and exciting to the very last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6