Customer Reviews for

The Maytrees

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine family redemption drama

    Just after WW II ends in Provincetown on Cape Cod, wannabe thirtyish poet Toby Maytree and college student Lou Bigelow meet. Though an author, Toby struggles to get his tongue straight as he is unable to put together two coherent thoughts let alone sentences. Still she senses something deep inside his soul they relish the dunes, fall in love and marry. A few years later they add a son Pete to their perfect family. However, their idyllic life together ends when a cheating Toby leaves his wife and son to go be with his lover in Maine. Two decades later, a tragedy brings Toby and Lou together for the first time since he left his family behind. They poorly coped with his desertion. Feelings between the pair remains strong, but love proved weak the first time around. The key to this fine family redemption drama is Annie Dillard avoids values pointing in order to make a ¿guilty¿ verdict re her flawed characters instead she leaves that to readers to decide who failed at relationships and why. No action, this is a purely character driven tale of paradise lost and paradise regained maybe as a wiser Toby, Lou and Pete finally understand life is a journey to death.----------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Love personified

    My sister sent this book to me as a 'book on Tape' ie., a CD. She knows me pretty well. Dilliard is a true artist. Maybe there are many people who prefer an uncomplicated love story, but LOVE , in it's truest sense is always very complicated. Expressing the union of love between people is one of the hardest writing tasks to perform with the beauty and detail that Dilliard has mastered. How else can one describe that moment of falling off to sleep with 'feet entangled'? It is a universal moment, all of us lucky enough, KNOW. Her detailed descriptions of every moment, 'as he walk up the dune...' Amazing, she could be a painter. Her description of Maytree's final hours ... well only those of us privileged enough to have been there...and able to convey the enormous meaning and experience of it...and our own shared mortality........ Dilliar is brilliant. I savored every moment. THANK YOU

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Deep and intimate yet vast

    Dillard captures the experience of being human and the sense of our place in the vast universe of stars and planets. Simultaneously, the characters experience the emotions and experiences of the smallness of being human. Her characters were lovely, real, and will be remembered as if they were my friends. Dillard's style will challenge you, but you will return for the tastes and exploration. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Great Stuff

    The best literature is challenging. You will need to take your time reading this, but at only 216 pages, there's more to savor and digest. You may need to look words up. Do not be afraid. This is a tender, wonderful account of love, told over many decades, with marvelous nuggets of truth and laugh-out-loud funny observations. Ms. Dillard's prose will make you think, and then think again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Maytrees

    This book reads as if Hemingway was the author . . . this a compliment to the current author. The plot is truthful to life in the situation that was written. It is amazing how little current mankind knows about true life until read a novel that throws it right in front of your face. Do we truely hate those that we marry and divorce? Not really, it is only the painful hurt that we must remove from our hearts and when we do there is a wonderful relationship that can return to our lives. This story tells us exactly how this life experience can become reality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Dillard's turn of phrase brings you back over and over, to see what she is saying, and how you could say it as well

    What other authors say on the back of the book sums up Dillard's book well. She is the master of saying much with little. Her characters are people we've seen, but perhaps not met. She writes about the people we think about as we sip our coffee and observe. It was a trip into my fantasy world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Good Story

    It was a good plot and interesting characters, but the writing was too flowery for my taste. I have a pretty good sized vocabulary and a BA in English ,and I looked up more words reading this book than I have anything since reading Chaucer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Disappointed

    I chose this book because I had heard great things about the author. Several articles, snippets of books, and other reviews led me to believe her works would be great to read. I found the style of writing hard to read. She writes very informally as if you are in conversation with the character's thoughts...not easy to follow for me. Maybe this is her usual style of writing and others like it. Although the characters were well developed I struggled to remember whose thoughts I was reading now. I only waded through 2/3 of the book and stopped. It took a twist that promised to be following the darker side of humanity and I decided not to take the time to finish the struggle of reading this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Not an enjoyable book

    This is not a book to enjoy - this is a book for poetry lovers or people who want to disect the meaning. I did not find it an escape. It was difficult to read and I di not understand a lot of what the author was trying to convey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    thanks for nothing for the cliff note version of the book harriet, now i don't have to read it. i give it 5 stars based on your revealing plotlines. you sure do get around here on the reviews and offer no subjective condsideration of the books you seemingly read. very suspicious!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is HORRIBLE. I dont know what type of audience she was writing to but I was not in it. I had to keep a dictionary by my bed just to get through the book. It was like I was reading a vocabulary section from the SAT. If I had written this story and turned it in for a grade, then I would have received and 'F'. No plot, no character development, etc...By the middle of the book, I didn't really care what happened to any of the characters. Not a summer read or a book club read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1