Customer Reviews for

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2706)

4 Star

(877)

3 Star

(327)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(149)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

458 out of 477 people found this review helpful.

If you liked The Hunger Games, read this!

I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview"...
I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview" of The Maze Runner on Barnes and Noble's website. There's something to be said for a book that I couldn't stay away from after the first sentence. I neglected my work and stared at my computer screen, reading. When I reached the end of the preview, I bought the ebook because I had to know what happened. It is a fast paced, action-packed adventure that completely sucks the reader in. From the very first sentence, I was simply dropped into the story; everything is from the main character's point of view. You only see and hear what he sees and hears. It was exciting, and I felt as if I was there.
It is true that the characters could have been more deeply developed; they were certainly lacking in personality depth. Also, The Maze Runner is quite violent in parts: there is death and insanity and truly terrifying monsters. It is part of a new genre of books, all exploring the possible futures of this world. It is not a light read; it will have you up at night. However, if you loved The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, this is a book that you will enjoy just as much. I definitely recommend it.

posted by Hanna_thereckless on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

How is this getting good reviews?

Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be...
Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be that dumb." But it was. I won't spoil it but the entire reason for this MASSIVE expenditure of resources is just pathetic and absolutely would not happen. They could have learned the same thing about the kids with ZERO effort or expense. The puzzle is awful, everyone admits the characters are shallow but somehow other people enjoyed the premise. I just don't get it. It was like Ender's game for people with a head injury.

The ending was a huge let down.

One last thing.
Armored slugs.
Not scary and not cool.

posted by EvilWeevil on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4214 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 211
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Can't get into it...

    I am pretty far into the book and I still don't want to read it, but it is a school assignment, so I have to. I think Thomas is really annoying and dull. I like most of the other characters... they all could be a little more developed. I think the author used the same things more than once in a chapter. Once it said his teeth found a home in my shoulder and a couple pages later, it said the arrow found a home in his cheek. Or something like that that. I thought it was really annoying. He did the same thing a couple different places. I don't understand why people compare it to The Hunger Games because although they might both be science fiction, The Hunger Games were amazing and I couldn't put it down and I don't want to even pick the Maze Runner.

    11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Like a rat sniffing cheese......

    Thomas wakes up in a lift with no other memory besides his first name. The lift deposits him in the Glade, a large courtyard surrounded by impossibly high stone walls. The Glade is populated by teenage boys in the same situation as him, they also have no memory. But they have made a life for themselves in this place, their only hope is trying to solve the maze that surrounds the walls. The Maze is a dangerous place, filled with terrifying half-machine/half-slug monsters that exist solely to sting the boys, thereby posioning them with a deadly toxin. The day after Thomas arrives in the Glade, something unexpected happens. A comatose girl is delivered into the maze, and she has a message: She's the last one. Ever.. The boys know everything is going to change, and Thomas just might have some answers.

    I am a little disappointed. With all the raving reviews and awesome premise, I expected it to be much better. It just wasn't that thrilling for me, and the plot wore thin. Most of the book was based of off someone conviently remembering stuff. And the action wasn't tense enough. I always knew Thomas was going to end up all right. I was especially disappointed in Thomas's first night in the maze. It had the opportunity to be absolutely terrifying, but by then all the terror of the Grievers had vanished, and the whole scene seemded to make up two hours at the most, and not an entire night.

    The ending was very good though, and very suspenseful. I was completely absorbed in those last few chapters, and even turned down ice cream in order to finish.

    The writing and characters were simple. The writing was typical actiony fare. Thomas was a bit of a Gary Stu, with no real faults. Chuck was great though.....I'm sad now.

    So anyway, it was good. Not great, but good. I am anxiously waiting for the sequel, and hope the books get better.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great series!!!!!

    I read this series after The Hunger Games, as it had a similar storyline. It was EXCELLENT! I would highly reccomend this book to teens and adults alike. It has a futuristic setting and characters that will blow your mind! I am 24 and this is a new favorite of mine.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Maze Runner

    It was a little hard to get into at first, but when I did I found it enjoyable. There were a few moments when I would wish it would just get to the point, and then moments when I wish it would've slowed down a bit and explained more. But other than that, I think this has promise to be a good series that will make a nice edition to my bookshelves, and I would definitely buy the next book. I almost screamed when I read the epilogue; I really want to know what happens next!! I give it four stars, because there a few things that couldve been done better, but I think it holds a lot of potential to grow :)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    I'm surprised that this was recommended for Hunger Games lovers

    I'm surprised that this was recommended for Hunger Games lovers and more surprised that it gets so many good reviews. The writing style is absolutely horrible. The story could be set up so much better. I felt like I was reading a book written for an 8 year old. The main character is no hero to the story as Harry is to HP, or as Katniss is to the Hunger Games. He's extremely naive, cowardly, and may I even say dumb! And that's not his fault! It's the author's! Needs much character and story development. I read through the whole book, and waited and waited for an amazing climax since this book had relatively a lot of fans....and never got it. I know my words are rather harsh but I hadn't been disappointed by a book so much in a long long time.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    EMMA ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) YOLO!!!!!!!!

    If you like The Hunger Games than you will love the Maze Runner!!!!!!!!!!! Its one of my favorite books and i recommend it to anyone over the age of 11.............im 12 years old and absolutely loved it then i made my mom read it and she loved it to......a book for all ages...........i couldnt put it down!!!!!!!!! :) AMAZING BOOK!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Very Good,but the rest of the series goes downhill.

    Ive read alot of the books in this new sub-genre of science fiction, so when i heard that this was "better than the hunger games" and "expanding the genre further" i was a bit skeptical. I took a chance with this one and i have to say that its very good. The plot follows a boy named thomas who wakes up in a mysterious place called the glade. He has no memory of his life before the maze or how he got there, all he can remeber is his name. There are many other boys there like him. They are all trying to try and escape the area surrounding the glade which is a gigantic maze. Just a day after thomas arrives in the glade a girl shows up. The first girl ever to appear in the glade. She bears with her news that her coming heralds the beginning of the end for the gladers. I wont spoil the ending but the gladers have to work together in order to escape the maze. Overall its a good and compelling read that wont let you put it down for a minute. However ive read the second book and im beginning to read the third. Theyre not as good as the first such as is with the majority of series. The book functions well as a stand-alone novel and id recommend it to anyone. Please give this excellent sci-fi novel a chance and give it a read. Happy reading!
    -Silente

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is better than the hunger games trilagey!!!! I loved this book..i had to read this book fir page turners(a book club)and i loved it... it took me only 3 daus to read i recamend this book for anyone who likes the hunger games....its better than tge hunger games!!!
    -A

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Poorly written

    The writing seemed very amateurish, and I couldn't get into the story. Poor dialogue, uneventful storyline, and boring characters. Like a version of Lord of the Flies gone terribly wrong.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Very Slow Start, But Overall Interesting

    I had a very hard time getting into this book. Overall, the book was intriguing due the mystery that surrounds the maze, but it's poorly written in my opinion. I'm 36, and I found the writing hard to follow, and this is supposedly a teen age group book, so I cannot imagine how hard it is for a teen since they typically lose interest when something is slow.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    The only reason why this book earned one star is because there w

    The only reason why this book earned one star is because there wasn't an option to give it zero. I read it after I finished re-reading Hunger Games, and it was TERRIBLE. So forced, the dialog was annoying, the slang was dumb and everything was obviously leading up to some twist that I didn't even care if I got to. I don't have very high reading standards but this book was the most disappointing that I had read in a long long time. Don't waste your money or the hours of your life it would take to read it

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    good

    sort of confusing at times

    5 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Subpar at best...

    I am not one to write reviews so I will keep it short - don't waste your time. Interesting plot (which was the only thing that kept me reading) but poorly executed IMO. I felt no true connections with the characters, especially to the protagonist, Thomas. The secondary character, Teresa, who was also the only female had nothing to offer except for being 'very pretty' and 'smart'. It's so sad to see a book with such a fascinating story be wasted because of poor writing. This book was recommended to me as a fan of the Hunger Games series however this book, in no way, should even be considered in the same realm. Very disappointed. Sigh.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    This would be great for younger teens but quite disappointing fo

    This would be great for younger teens but quite disappointing for adults who read YA novels. The ending is quite disappointing. It builds up to nothing. Do not invest your time into this series. It already looks as though the movie is completely different from the book. so perhaps the movie will be better. 

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Truly awful book! This was honestly one of the worst books I've

    Truly awful book!
    This was honestly one of the worst books I've ever had to slog through. The writing was repetitive and boring, and the plot "surprises" were all predictable. I can't believe anyone would compare this with the Hunger Games, which was exciting and well-written. I'm shocked at all of the good reviews.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Wow. I am unhappy with this outcome. James Dashner is usually a good writer. NEGATIVE 50000 STARS!

    I just finished reading this book, and i HATED it. There is too much detail, so you get lost, you never learn anything, and it has a laaaaaaaaaaaaame ending. DO NOT read this book. No matter what.

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Did you love the hunger games? You will love this book!

    This book is amazing any one who loved the Hunger Games will love the maze runner.
    A most read for all teens

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book was full of action and i just could not put it down!! I read it in one day and got the second one right away!! Definatly recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Not what I wanted

    I thought the book was hard to get hooked on. I love the Hunger Games so I decided to read this. Very dissapointed. I had high hopes. Read the sample before buying, if you aren't hooked then, you never will be.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Pbbbbhhhhh

    Why does everyone say its so freaking good?!!! It isnt even close to how good the hunger games are, so quit comparing them!! I hated this book!

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4214 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 211