Customer Reviews for

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2695)

4 Star

(874)

3 Star

(325)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(146)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

458 out of 477 people found this review helpful.

If you liked The Hunger Games, read this!

I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview"...
I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview" of The Maze Runner on Barnes and Noble's website. There's something to be said for a book that I couldn't stay away from after the first sentence. I neglected my work and stared at my computer screen, reading. When I reached the end of the preview, I bought the ebook because I had to know what happened. It is a fast paced, action-packed adventure that completely sucks the reader in. From the very first sentence, I was simply dropped into the story; everything is from the main character's point of view. You only see and hear what he sees and hears. It was exciting, and I felt as if I was there.
It is true that the characters could have been more deeply developed; they were certainly lacking in personality depth. Also, The Maze Runner is quite violent in parts: there is death and insanity and truly terrifying monsters. It is part of a new genre of books, all exploring the possible futures of this world. It is not a light read; it will have you up at night. However, if you loved The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, this is a book that you will enjoy just as much. I definitely recommend it.

posted by Hanna_thereckless on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

How is this getting good reviews?

Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be...
Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be that dumb." But it was. I won't spoil it but the entire reason for this MASSIVE expenditure of resources is just pathetic and absolutely would not happen. They could have learned the same thing about the kids with ZERO effort or expense. The puzzle is awful, everyone admits the characters are shallow but somehow other people enjoyed the premise. I just don't get it. It was like Ender's game for people with a head injury.

The ending was a huge let down.

One last thing.
Armored slugs.
Not scary and not cool.

posted by EvilWeevil on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 325 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Zander

    Chase!! Dont go

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2014

    Skip it if you are over 16

    The story was okay, though highly predictable. It seemed as though they wrote a screenplay and then did the novelization. I won't be continuing the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    It was oksy

    Some parts were a little dry and boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Nikkie says

    Its a good book. Taking me forever to read though. You really have to push through the book till you get anything good. Its slow going at first, more than you think, but it does get better. I was stuck for about a month on chapter 10 because it was so slow. So keep that in mind. Be a trooper and dig into the book. It does get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Good story but

    The premise and story are a great idea. But thomas is the most annoying lead character ever, getting angry every second acting like an arrogant jerk during others. He has no reason to care about him and is the real downfall of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Honest Reviews

    This is one of the books in wich you transport yourself into another world wich is cool and interesting and a great sci-fi book. At first I was like wow this is amazing great author, but when I finished the series I realized that it was just a waste of time. I did not learn anything from this book, sure it kept me interested and unbored for a couple of days, it made me sleep late at night because I wanted to know what happened next, but the thing is I couldve read REAL books, the ones that teach us something the ones that inspire us, the ones that when you finish those you know new things or you have changed. I am not saying the classical adventure novels are useless, they are a tough read and it helps our brain comprehend new words and make us smarter. So if you want get involved in another out of this world drama adventures of a post apocalypt world, go ahead and waste tose ten dollars. But I know better and I want to do something good with my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Meh- not terrible, not great.

    The book was "okay". I read it because I saw the commercial for the movie and I thought it looked interesting. The book was very simple and easy to read, almost too simple for me to enjoy. A lot of the themes and descriptors in the storyline were very repetetive, very basic and I didn't think the storyline was very complex. All in all, I did not love the book. I finished it because I almost always finish any book I start, but I really didn't find the actual writing of the book very complex nor intelligent. It felt like I was reading at an 8th grade level, with very basic vocabulary and sentence structure. I also was slightly disappointed with the actual turn of events as far as the storyline went. It was not very shocking, and I wasn't really attracted to the "cliffhangers". So, the book was just "meh" for me. I'm sure middle schoolers would love this book, however I did not find it to be super entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Entertaining, but Little Depth

    The Maze Runner is a fast-paced read with very cinematic writing, but it lacks emotional depth. Although the "surface level" many of the characters are kept at can be partially attributed to their unique situation as memory-wiped lab rats, there's still a deprivation of development. Most are given two or three staple traits and aren't seen in any other regard / ever growing or branching out past that in the story. Relationships are rushed and stated, rather than visibly developed on the page. It's hard to get very emotionally invested in such a cast, but the plot is at least compelling. If only to see if it will sort out sensibly in the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    The Maze Runner

    This book was not the best I have read by a long shot. It seemed all over the place... like my rough drafts... ideas going here and there and everywhere. It had a good story. A boy locked up, a girl he likes, he is the ending to something that is hopefully better.... kind of obvious. I think kids younger then 12 will enjoy. It just did not make me want to keep reading the series.... sorry I really did try to like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Interesting concept

    I liked this book, though the teen dystopian series is becoming a bit cliche. Over time, the series got a little tedious, which I didn't find with the Hunger Games. If you have extra time to read, this book should definitely go on your list. If you have a lot of other titles you're burning to read, I wouldn't bump one of those to read this instead. It is entertaining and moves quickly though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    READ PLEEEEEEEAAASSSEEE!!!!!!!!

    Can someone please lend me this book. My username is: audreyannav

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Not impressed

    This book may be similar to Divergent and Hunger Games but it's definitely not on the same level. I was kind of disappointed and not in a hurry to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Not my cup of tea.

    To be homest, this book IS good, but its just, whats the word, a bit overrated. I couldn't get in to the characters since I didn't really relate to any of their problems. I have seen this type of scenerio done before so now its just so darn predicible. If your'e in to this type of plot, buy it, I won't judge, I'll stick to watching Hetalia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Couldn't get into this

    Everyone said I would love this, but I could not get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Decent book

    I would give thos book 3.5 stars because at some points of the book the setting was unknown. And like some books, people died. I was beginning to like Alby but then the author had to make him suicide. Then Chuck dies. Come on Dashner! The only good thing was when Teresa and Thomas meet. We finally get some semi-answers. SPOILER ALERT:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||TERESA DIES IN THE THIRD BOOK AND NEWT DOES TOO. THE NEW TERESA IS THIS GIRL NAMED BRENDA. DASHNER DID NOT DESCRIBE BRENDA WELL. For the rest of the story, Brenda is a perfect character and she does everything right blah blah blah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Interesting

    Weird but good book. Took a long time to get to the good part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Interesting trilogy, different

    I felt that this was kind of a sci-fi type of book. I enjoyed it, but not as much as many other trilogies I have read. It is worth a read though if you have the time, but I didn't find myself consumed in the plot or needed to keep turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    The theme of "I don't know" is a litte annoy but good read

    The theme of "I don't know what's going on" or "I can't remember" was annoying. It wasn't exactly trilling me to continue reading either, but my will of always needing to complete what I start convince me to continue and I'm happy I did. However, I am only happy I did because it was a good lead and background to the second book, the Scorch Trial, which I surprisingly enjoyed more. Overall, of the three books, this book was my least favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Jj

    As a girl I think that he should write a version where they're all girls instead.

    Like I would totally read that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Fun book to read

    The book was entertaining but a little limited in scope. It is a great read for teens and young adults. I would definitely recommend this book as a fun book - engaging and suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 325 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17