Customer Reviews for

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4000 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2580)

4 Star

(847)

3 Star

(311)

2 Star

(129)

1 Star

(133)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

445 out of 463 people found this review helpful.

If you liked The Hunger Games, read this!

I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview"...
I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview" of The Maze Runner on Barnes and Noble's website. There's something to be said for a book that I couldn't stay away from after the first sentence. I neglected my work and stared at my computer screen, reading. When I reached the end of the preview, I bought the ebook because I had to know what happened. It is a fast paced, action-packed adventure that completely sucks the reader in. From the very first sentence, I was simply dropped into the story; everything is from the main character's point of view. You only see and hear what he sees and hears. It was exciting, and I felt as if I was there.
It is true that the characters could have been more deeply developed; they were certainly lacking in personality depth. Also, The Maze Runner is quite violent in parts: there is death and insanity and truly terrifying monsters. It is part of a new genre of books, all exploring the possible futures of this world. It is not a light read; it will have you up at night. However, if you loved The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, this is a book that you will enjoy just as much. I definitely recommend it.

posted by Hanna_thereckless on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

How is this getting good reviews?

Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be...
Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be that dumb." But it was. I won't spoil it but the entire reason for this MASSIVE expenditure of resources is just pathetic and absolutely would not happen. They could have learned the same thing about the kids with ZERO effort or expense. The puzzle is awful, everyone admits the characters are shallow but somehow other people enjoyed the premise. I just don't get it. It was like Ender's game for people with a head injury.

The ending was a huge let down.

One last thing.
Armored slugs.
Not scary and not cool.

posted by EvilWeevil on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 847 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    If you liked The Hunger Games, read this!

    I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview" of The Maze Runner on Barnes and Noble's website. There's something to be said for a book that I couldn't stay away from after the first sentence. I neglected my work and stared at my computer screen, reading. When I reached the end of the preview, I bought the ebook because I had to know what happened. It is a fast paced, action-packed adventure that completely sucks the reader in. From the very first sentence, I was simply dropped into the story; everything is from the main character's point of view. You only see and hear what he sees and hears. It was exciting, and I felt as if I was there.
    It is true that the characters could have been more deeply developed; they were certainly lacking in personality depth. Also, The Maze Runner is quite violent in parts: there is death and insanity and truly terrifying monsters. It is part of a new genre of books, all exploring the possible futures of this world. It is not a light read; it will have you up at night. However, if you loved The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, this is a book that you will enjoy just as much. I definitely recommend it.

    445 out of 463 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Elaborate Story of Mystery and Intrigue

    The Maze Runner is a sci-fi/dystopian novel at its best. It starts off with Thomas, a boy of about 16, waking up in a metal box with a bunch of teen boys, some older, some younger, staring at him. Thomas comes to learn that he has arrived in the Glade and he is now part of a small, self-contained community of boys. Each boy has his own job and title and for the past two years, the boys have been working to solve the puzzle of the Maze.

    Like most of the boys, Thomas is scared upon his arrival, but unlike everyone else, Thomas has a feeling of familiarity with the Glade. When a girl arrives the day after Thomas, it's clear that everything is changing and it seems like Thomas may play a part in that change.

    It took me some time to really get into The Maze Runner, but once I did, I was completely hooked. James Dashner is so descriptive and has created such an elaborate story that it is hard not to enjoy. The mystery of the Maze had me so intrigued that I needed to know more. The Gladers, the Maze, the Grievers, it's all so mysterious and unknown that I found myself reading more and more, in an attempt to solve the mystery.

    The story is incredibly well-crafted with likable characters and twists and turns galore. There were times when I was nearly screaming because I didn't want the characters to do something and other times I was on the edge of my seat gnawing on my fingernails in anticipation.

    One word that can perfectly describe this book is intense. The novel is intense in all respects. It can scare you death, have you laughing, and it even moved me to tears. The ending was entirely unexpected and the last 150 pages or so completely blew me away. The Maze Runner is pure genius and I'm now anxiously awaiting the second book in the series

    149 out of 164 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Like a rat sniffing cheese......

    Thomas wakes up in a lift with no other memory besides his first name. The lift deposits him in the Glade, a large courtyard surrounded by impossibly high stone walls. The Glade is populated by teenage boys in the same situation as him, they also have no memory. But they have made a life for themselves in this place, their only hope is trying to solve the maze that surrounds the walls. The Maze is a dangerous place, filled with terrifying half-machine/half-slug monsters that exist solely to sting the boys, thereby posioning them with a deadly toxin. The day after Thomas arrives in the Glade, something unexpected happens. A comatose girl is delivered into the maze, and she has a message: She's the last one. Ever.. The boys know everything is going to change, and Thomas just might have some answers.

    I am a little disappointed. With all the raving reviews and awesome premise, I expected it to be much better. It just wasn't that thrilling for me, and the plot wore thin. Most of the book was based of off someone conviently remembering stuff. And the action wasn't tense enough. I always knew Thomas was going to end up all right. I was especially disappointed in Thomas's first night in the maze. It had the opportunity to be absolutely terrifying, but by then all the terror of the Grievers had vanished, and the whole scene seemded to make up two hours at the most, and not an entire night.

    The ending was very good though, and very suspenseful. I was completely absorbed in those last few chapters, and even turned down ice cream in order to finish.

    The writing and characters were simple. The writing was typical actiony fare. Thomas was a bit of a Gary Stu, with no real faults. Chuck was great though.....I'm sad now.

    So anyway, it was good. Not great, but good. I am anxiously waiting for the sequel, and hope the books get better.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Maze Runner

    It was a little hard to get into at first, but when I did I found it enjoyable. There were a few moments when I would wish it would just get to the point, and then moments when I wish it would've slowed down a bit and explained more. But other than that, I think this has promise to be a good series that will make a nice edition to my bookshelves, and I would definitely buy the next book. I almost screamed when I read the epilogue; I really want to know what happens next!! I give it four stars, because there a few things that couldve been done better, but I think it holds a lot of potential to grow :)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    A great read!!

    The Maze Runner is unlike any book that I've read before. It took me almost forever to decide what to rate it, and once I did I had second thoughts. The Maze Runner took to almost page 200 to start getting good, which normally is WAY to long to wait. But I stuck with it, and I can most definitely say that it was a great decision. The ending was explosive, and the characters that I had previously found to be boring or shallow, became the most complex and interesting people- and also my favorite. Some of the twists it took I was expecting, but for the most part it was a shocking and riveting experience. I highly reccommend it to all age groups (except for 10 or younger). While a lot of people said it was extremely violent, I was surprised to find that it was no worse than the Hunger Games - so don't let this deter you. So overall I highly reccommend you read this book, and most of all, read to the very end before you put it down, because you won't regret it!





    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling

    This book was great. It has actually been a while since i read it, but i keep coming back to it. It is edgy and unforgettable.
    When i read, i tend skim. A majority of authors in this generation go on and on about useless details that never tie the story together in anyway. I can understand a book perfectly, even if i only have read two thirds of the story. This book was not one of those books. I read it thoroughly and enjoyed every sentence. It kept me thinking, and even when i wasn't reading it, i was thinking about Thomas. The whole story was amazing, and the plot was genius. It was beautiful written and Dashner's imagination never stops amazing me! I would recommend this book to anyone who wants the perfect amount of adventure, thrill, survival, and a little romance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Captivating

    This is a great book for anyone who like action and suspense. I loved this book i read it very fast. I recommend this for anyone who is interested. I would have given it 5 stars but some parts could be a little boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    People are thinking of this book to hard. Seriously it's a book

    People are thinking of this book to hard. Seriously it's a book some people will enjoy it others won't there's no reason to be harsh. Yeah i wish Thomas remembered more, but it doesn't happen get over it. With the death of some characters this book did really make me cry. Overall don't take it to serious after all the book is for kids. DON'T OVER THINK EVERYTHING!!!!!!!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Maze Runner is a read in an entire day sort of book. It's fa

    The Maze Runner is a read in an entire day sort of book. It's fast paced and never lets up. The continual questions kept me glued to the pages. What is going on here? My imagination ran wild with the possibilities and I was afraid that in the end I'd be disappointed, but surprisingly I wasn't. The conclusion actually made sense and didn't seem contrived just to explain the author's cool concept.

    I would have liked more character development, so that I could get to know the characters better and care about what happens to them more. (Though this is the sort of book I don't dare get attached to anyone going in.) I understand that it must have been hard for the writer to show characterization when none of the characters has a past. Yep, that's right none of the characters can remember anything before the maze.

    Thomas wakes up in an elevator box with no memory other than his name. He's greeted by other teenage boys in an area called the glade. The glade is surrounded by a massive maze that the boys are trying to solve to escape. Surprisingly for a group of kids they've established an organized society where everything works. I can't really say anything more about the premise without spoiling things. The whole point of the book is to keep reading to figure out the why behind the maze.

    The Maze Runner is a quick book. There are no slow spots with flowery descriptions here. Other than height, age, and shoe size all we know about the main character's appearance is he has brown hair. I like a bit more than that, but that's not the sort of book this is. Maze Runner's also light on romance, which is odd for a young adult book, but it worked. There wasn't time for romance. (Though there is more romance in the Scorch Trials.)

    The Maze Runner is almost an eight star book, but fell just short of great for me. I can't explain without minor spoilers, so skip the rest of this paragraph if you don't want spoilers of any sort. (It's not really a spoiler that characters die in a book like this, but I know how some people are about spoilers of any kind.) I have no problem with characters dying, but I didn't like the way a certain character died. It didn't feel necessary and it was too brutal for me. (Though it was tame compared to a death in the Death Cure. I just know I'm going to have nightmares about that.)

    The rest of the trilogy (spoiler free) I haven't been so disappointed in an author in a long time. These books had such potential! Most of the story is good, but the Scorch Trials and The Death Cure had some serious flaws. (In my opinion) They were too gruesome, (scary doesn't have to be gross) there was too much pointless action, (it got a bit much after a while) certain parts made no sense, (and I didn't like them) and the main character kept acting stupid. (After the Maze Runner I expected more out of him, he is supposed to be a genius after all.)

    So my recommendation is you should read the Maze Runner, it's a good, unique book, but skip the the Scorch Trials and The Death Cure. (Though I doubt I'd be able to follow my own advice. I just have a need to find out what happens.)

    The Maze Runner: 7/10 Stars
    The Scorch Trials: 5/10 Stars
    The Death Cure: 4/10 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Not what i expected.

    This book was not what I expected....which made it great. Usually their is a bit of predictabilty to these kind of books, but this one managed to suprise me. Can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    I enjoyed all 3 books and the prequel.

    I enjoyed all 3 books and the prequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Thomas wakes up in a box and the only thing he remembers is his

    Thomas wakes up in a box and the only thing he remembers is his name.  He finds himself in a world run by teenage boys who no little more about how they got there than Thomas.  The walls close at night and mechanical monsters try to kill those caught outside the walls.  Ever day the boys hope to survive by performing jobs within their community and trying to solve the riddle of the maze right outside their doors.  They simply want to go home, wherever that is.  Though Thomas can't remember his past, some boys find him vaguely familiar.  They do not remember the details, but simply know him as a threat.  When a the only girl ever to enter the maze comes up in the box shortly after Thomas and declares that things are about to change, the boys know that they must solve the maze soon or all perish.




    On the story...
    This is one of those stories that didn't sound like my kind of book.   I gave it a try because I running out of dystopian options on audio.  I was pleasantly surprised.  The book took a little while to get started and the writing wasn't especially exciting but the plot and characters were amazing.  The boys were well developed and I found myself attached to a few of them.  I was intrigued by the maze.  As I learned more about the boys' lives, I became even more fascinated by the entire premise.  Things are unveiled bit by bit with plenty of adventure in between.  I loved how each boy's personality showed through and I found favorites in Meinho, Newt, and Chuck.  I was so invested and wanted them to succeed.  It really drew me in.




    On the narrator...
    Mr. Deakins did a great job.  The voices were distinct and well done.




    Overall...
    Very intriguing story that kept me guessing from beginning to end.  Just when I thought I understood, the epilogue told me I didn't.  This is another example of a dystopian that doesn't look like the rest.  This is a different type of dystopian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Mysterious

    This book is really good but it gives you a lot of questions! There are two more books after this than a prequil. I am on the prequil an dI still have alot of question! Its a very interesting and amazing book though! I loved it :) You'll be wanting to read the rest!!!! It reminds me of the Hunger Games....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    This was an amazing book!!! I loved the characters and the susp

    This was an amazing book!!! I loved the characters and the suspence during the entire fight to get out of the maze. And at the end a great twist is added. I can't wait to read the Scorch Trails and see how the boys will survive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Great book!

    The maze runner was a great book! Very descriptive and interesting. It always had me thinking what was coming next. It kind of reminded me of the City of Ember because they were in a different world because of a plauge.

    The beginning was confusing and I found myself feeling frustrated like Thomas because nobody would tell him anything. Their slang was very unusual but I caught onto it.

    Great book I recommend this to boys and girls 12&up who like science fiction

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Maze Runner

    My teacher is reading Maze Runner, and I reslly want to finish it first. So far it is really super awesome, so I really want to get it. It is a lot like the Huger Games, the type of book, so if you read and liked the Hunger Games, you might like Maze Runner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    WORDY & VERY THOUGHT OF AND PLANNED

    The plot is well thought of and mapped very carefully. Although at times it was very wordy and almost had too many twists to fully comprehend. When reading this novel/series you'll find that as you read it becomes very easy to understand through the perspective, but when you look at it as a whole, it takes a while to understand.
    You will find out who is good and bad for the reasons given (you might have to infer as well). Personally, the characters are well thought of and also have meaning to most of their actions. You may find at times that they overlook things or they don't fully put things together as we might.
    So you know I talk about the series in total not just this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This is a great action book from beginning to end. Some weird twists and turns and a hook to keep you wanting to read more of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for People Who Like Hunger Games

    In my opinion, The Maze Runner is a thrilling story for teens about teens who live in an apocalyptical world where they live in a giant experiment. What I really enjoyed about this book was watching every character's emotional development through their ordeals. In trying to escape the maze, through perseverance and working together, the Gladers have a strong bond with each other--the kind that's created when people are thrown together in stressful situations. They go through many trials and face terrifying dangers both in the maze and outside of it. Also, James Dashner kept me engaged with his vivid plot line and relatable characters. One thing I didn't like about the book was that the beginning didn't really appeal to me except for after Theresa showed up. So, if you like the Hunger Games, you will enjoy this book as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Wow.

    Wow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 847 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43