BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3982 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2569)

4 Star

(841)

3 Star

(311)

2 Star

(129)

1 Star

(132)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

442 out of 460 people found this review helpful.

If you liked The Hunger Games, read this!

I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview"...
I absolutely loved The Maze Runner. I first heard about it through an internet ad. It asked, "Like the Hunger Games? Then you should read The Maze Runner." It drew my attention because The Hunger Games is one of my most favorite books. So I started reading the "preview" of The Maze Runner on Barnes and Noble's website. There's something to be said for a book that I couldn't stay away from after the first sentence. I neglected my work and stared at my computer screen, reading. When I reached the end of the preview, I bought the ebook because I had to know what happened. It is a fast paced, action-packed adventure that completely sucks the reader in. From the very first sentence, I was simply dropped into the story; everything is from the main character's point of view. You only see and hear what he sees and hears. It was exciting, and I felt as if I was there.
It is true that the characters could have been more deeply developed; they were certainly lacking in personality depth. Also, The Maze Runner is quite violent in parts: there is death and insanity and truly terrifying monsters. It is part of a new genre of books, all exploring the possible futures of this world. It is not a light read; it will have you up at night. However, if you loved The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, this is a book that you will enjoy just as much. I definitely recommend it.

posted by Hanna_thereckless on January 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

How is this getting good reviews?

Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be...
Wife and I both read it and both agreed it was horrible. It was a recommended read after Hunger Games. Compared to that wonderful series this was just awful. About 100 pages from the end I guessed what the end plot was and thought to my self "no, it couldn't possibly be that dumb." But it was. I won't spoil it but the entire reason for this MASSIVE expenditure of resources is just pathetic and absolutely would not happen. They could have learned the same thing about the kids with ZERO effort or expense. The puzzle is awful, everyone admits the characters are shallow but somehow other people enjoyed the premise. I just don't get it. It was like Ender's game for people with a head injury.

The ending was a huge let down.

One last thing.
Armored slugs.
Not scary and not cool.

posted by EvilWeevil on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2569 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 129
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Did you love the hunger games? You will love this book!

    This book is amazing any one who loved the Hunger Games will love the maze runner.
    A most read for all teens

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book was full of action and i just could not put it down!! I read it in one day and got the second one right away!! Definatly recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Amazing book! A Must Read!!

    This is a very fast moving book that i couldnt put down. It is such a fun read! Ive read it three times now :) I hope you choose to read this amazing, fun filled book :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Love it!!!!

    I love this book i am obsessed with it. I am reading the series for my third time! I love it!!!! It is such a good mystery and just leaves u wanting to read more!! If u like and want to read a good book read the maze runner series!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Awesome book!!!

    This book kept me reading tell the very end!!! Almost every single chapter ends with you wanting to read the next chapter!!! Not as good as hunger games but close. This book has some horror in it but a lot of action.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Outstanding!!!!

    Captivating page turner! I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Awesome!!! (spoiler alert)

    Anyone who says this book sucks is a pile of klunk! Im twelve but i read on a 12th grade reading level so younger kid books dont appeal me much. But then EVERYONE at my school was reading it so i said hey. Why not give it a shot? It was amazing. The only reason why thomas could slay the robot things is because of a. addrenaline and b. He used to be a part of it! Him and teresa knew each other and practiced talking in their heads before the maze. Its like riding a bike. You mever forget but it takes a second for the knowlege to set it. It does have twists and turns. Especially when gal stabbes chuck and he dies. It is alittle short. But you have to know te characters a bit first. Great oppening and the second book is even better! Both the first and the second got me staying up till two n the morning. And im really picky about books! Its slighty scifi and adventure and about the will to survive and frendship. Even my sixty year oldteacher loved it so i recomend it to yoou!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is amazing i couldnt stop reading it. Ever . Soo much better than the hunger games. They should of made this a movie instead. Omg I absolutley love this book. Great read for many ages !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I absolutely could not put this book down!!! Need to see a thera

    I absolutely could not put this book down!!! Need to see a therapist after the shocking ending. A must READ!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Nicely done

    I loved it. It made me wonder the outcome of the book as i fell asleep. It is very suspenseful and keeps you wanting more. I was hooked to this book. I read it anywhere i could. When i finished, i needed more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Non-Stop

    This book goes a mile a minute and manages to keep the reader guessing for the whole wild ride!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Loved it

    THIS BOOK WAS AWSOME RELY WANT TO READ SEQUELES! the maze runner got me from cover 2 cover It can be sad funny scare the crap(klunk) out of me , make me wann cry or even make me mad. One of my top 10 books i ever read! And I red hunger games series, cracker, harry potter and even the lightning thief series,! Yull find out that u SHANKS GOTTA READ THIS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Great book!

    The story had a wonderfully written plot and the author did a great job of creating characters with depth without giving away every secret for a sequal

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Excellent

    I did not even realize it was a teen book until I was done. Great read....I will be getting the rest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Amazing book

    Omgosh amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Love

    I love this series!!!! Cant wait for the next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    A Contender to The Hunger Games!

    This book was a great read. It was full of moments that kept the reader's eyes glued to the pages, trapt in the "Glade", until you found out if everything would be okay or not! The author has a way with his writing style to keep an good pace on his details, being sure not to leave to much out that would confuse anyone, but not spilling the beans on everything till the time was right, making the reader even more anxious to learn about the "Glade" and the "Maze" and the terrible creatures that await!
    The ending may seem to soon, but be sure to read the Epilogue and find out what really happens! Trust me, you'll immediately pre-order the second book, just to find out more on the strange occurances that I'd rather leave out, as to not spoil the book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    My son, 11 yrs, says it's the best book he has ever read.

    Exciting, a page turner

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Filled with Mystery and Suspense!

    The book "The Maze Runner," by James Dashner is the first installment in a planned trilogy. Filled with mystery and suspense, this book contains many surprising twists and turns and in some parts is a little scary, keeping the reader on the edge of their seat! With a unique storyline and plot, one-of-a-kind author James Dashner, who is also the creator of the "Jimmy Fincher" and "13th Reality" series, has written yet another fantastic book! Completely action-packed, "The Maze Runner" will definitely leave all readers wondering what will happen next and eagerly waiting for the release of book two, "The Scorch Trials."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Christiinaa

    Heyy (:

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2569 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 129