Customer Reviews for

The Maze of Bones (The 39 Clues Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 888 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(626)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

A book worth reading

When I first picked up this book I was a bit skeptical it sounded like every other book but I quickly learned that this was truely a unique read! The plot was full of twist and turns some were predictable but others took me by complete surprise, there was humor to light...
When I first picked up this book I was a bit skeptical it sounded like every other book but I quickly learned that this was truely a unique read! The plot was full of twist and turns some were predictable but others took me by complete surprise, there was humor to lighten up the story and amazing characters to help it along! I really enjoyed this book and I eagerly await the next one.

posted by romance-nut on November 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

Really made for very young readers, this book is simple and lightweight. Even if you like some youthful mystery/adventure 'like magic tree house only a tad older', this will feel poorly done. As a teacher, I can't recommend this book. Most other books in this genre are ...
Really made for very young readers, this book is simple and lightweight. Even if you like some youthful mystery/adventure 'like magic tree house only a tad older', this will feel poorly done. As a teacher, I can't recommend this book. Most other books in this genre are better written and more appropriate.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Terrible Terrible Terrible

    I only finished this book so I could tell people how shockingly horrible it was. Writing style is a random combination of narrative and dialogue, there is little continuity. The storyline is entirely contrived and copycatted, none of the characters are lovable, descriptions are randomly too much or too little. Worse, nothing is believable. Cliches abound. This storyline has been repeated enough we don't need another book of this sort. Let's not forget the appaling attempt at mystery too, which should get its own review. Don't waste your time.

    11 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Not recommended

    Riordan's other books were okay at times but this is really terrible. I totally disliked it and kept wondering what the heck the author was thinking. Nothing worthwhile here. Skip this one!

    10 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Bad!

    This book was so predictable you know exactly what is going to happen. I wanted to put this book down 5 min. after I picked it up, but I didnt I wanted to see how bad it ended! Come on Rick I know you could do better! I have read better from you!! Show me better!!

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    THE WORST

    I don't see how anyone could like it. It is terrible, the worst book I ever read. EVER. I hated the characters. I mean who talks or acts that way? No one I ever met or even on tv.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    Bad

    My bought this for me as I present I hated to tell her how bad it was so I pretended to like it. I hope she doesn't buy me the second one because it was hard enough to force myself through this one. Riordan is the worst writer I ever read. Skip this.

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Does not like

    Pie is good

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Rick has done better...

    I was very disappointed in this book. I didnt even finish the sample because i got lost and it was boring and random. Usually Rick's books pull me in right away but this book didnt do him much justice. I read the Red Pyramid series and The Lost Hero and they were fantastic. I really dont recommend this book to anybody. You could do better Rick...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Fucck

    FFFFuuucccck

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    anonymous

    never read it. my friend who LOVES to say banana is reading it. is it funny or good?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    The murder of Lemony Snicket- by Hope Lost

    Once upon a time, a shady author by the name of Lemony Snicket dominated children's litature with his brilliant word play and snarky sattires in A Series Of Unfortunate Events. The thirty nine clues brought the knife down on Mr. Snicket's work, with a series of short, tacky and akward writings by a number of current authors. In book one, two unpleasant siblings, Amy and Dan Cahill, will run away from their legal gardian, commit a number of crimes, and bump into vicious and dangerous relatives. Violent, poorly written, and traditional, this book series has, sadly, an appeal to elementary schoolers. Please read something else. Sincerly, Hope Lost

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Idont like it

    ITS SCARY

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    I do not recommend it a all.

    This book's plot and setting was not interesting nor good. I thought this book wasn't catching my eye at all. When I first saw it I was like oh let me read it but then i realized hey this book was horrible!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Testing

    &hearts &#9818 &#9817 &#9816 &#9815 &#9814

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Oooohoooooohohho

    Omg Nicos gsy! Oops sorry wrong book. ?.......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Board

    Want to chat anybody? Writergirl 'on Frozen result 1'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Is percy or carter in this book?

    HELP!!!!!!! HELP!!!!!!! HELP!!!!!!! HELP!!!!!!!!! HELP!!!!!!!! MEEE
    I NEED TO KNOW IF THERE IN IT SO I CAN PUT IT ON MY WISH LIST!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    What the#$%&

    This is not facebook people andif your some nerd that dosnt have facebook go chat on a book no one wants and if you want to write make sure your titles to:ross

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommended - my grandson's love it.

    I did not read this book, my 2 grandson's and adult son read it at night. Finding all the clues of course is a priority. It is helping my grandson who has a learning issue. He try's harder to learn all the words so he can also find the clues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Vvggggd

    Fcvgffffffffffffffffffffg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Is this book #1

    Or ls it another book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3