Customer Reviews for

The Maze of Bones (The 39 Clues Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 881 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(620)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

A book worth reading

When I first picked up this book I was a bit skeptical it sounded like every other book but I quickly learned that this was truely a unique read! The plot was full of twist and turns some were predictable but others took me by complete surprise, there was humor to light...
When I first picked up this book I was a bit skeptical it sounded like every other book but I quickly learned that this was truely a unique read! The plot was full of twist and turns some were predictable but others took me by complete surprise, there was humor to lighten up the story and amazing characters to help it along! I really enjoyed this book and I eagerly await the next one.

posted by romance-nut on November 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

Really made for very young readers, this book is simple and lightweight. Even if you like some youthful mystery/adventure 'like magic tree house only a tad older', this will feel poorly done. As a teacher, I can't recommend this book. Most other books in this genre are ...
Really made for very young readers, this book is simple and lightweight. Even if you like some youthful mystery/adventure 'like magic tree house only a tad older', this will feel poorly done. As a teacher, I can't recommend this book. Most other books in this genre are better written and more appropriate.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Good, but no Percy Jackson...

    I think these books are great if you want a quick, light book to read--but they definitely don't pack the same kind of punch that Riordan's other books do. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series are some of the funniest and most exciting adventure books for kids to read right now. So if you really want to see what this author can do, I suggest you go to those...

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    THE 39 CLUES SERIES: BOOKS 1-6 - MY BOOK REVIEW

    The 39 Clues series is perfect for children between the ages of 8 and 12. Personally, I enjoyed the series back when I was 12, seeing as it was a great combination of comedy, action, adventure, and a good old-fashioned history lesson. However, after looking through my collection of the first six books only a few days ago, I realized that the series was definitely perfect yard sale material. Make no mistake, the series is a great read for younger children and reluctant readers, yet teens will most likely find the series immature and far too predicable. See my ratings below for more information.

    Ratings:

    Children (ages 8-12): 71% ("Fresh")
    Teenagers (13 and up): 53% ("Rotten")

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Amazing news!

    To those who reads percy jackson and heroes of olympus i hav news. I looked up thalia in a dictionary and it says one of the three graces! There is another grace? If so Awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Questiin

    Wha are these books about????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Naijay

    So amaising!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Pretty good!

    This book was pretty good I have a way of telling you how I think of this book. I liked it because when I saw it I thought o man I have to read this book because my mom is making me its probly one of those boring mystery books where nothing happens. But to my shock I liked it a lot well atleast a lot better than other mystery books (i dont like mystery books).


    However i did not like it because it well it could have been written better I am 8 years old and I think this book is good for 9 to 11 year olds thats another thing why I dont like it because I like bigger age groups.



    Rating:72%

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Yyyyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeesssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book i am about to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Pretty good

    My friends go crazy over this series...
    Only read a couple pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Not his best work, but a good read as usual from Rick

    I was so bored with it, I did not finish. Definitely NOT his best work. Sorry to the fans, guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book was awesome!

    Dan and Amy go to their grandmother's funeral and they get a choice to own a million dollars or join the race for the 39 clues. Dan and Amy join the race and are on the run from their cousins the Kabras and the Holts who are stronger and richer than them.
    Dan and Amy go to their grandmother's funeral and get a choice to except one million dollars or join the chase for the 39 clues against their cousins the Kabras who are rich and the Holts who are stronger than them.
    I like this book because it was full of suspense and comedy. I think this book was very good because it has stuff in it that you can learn from and it is a good clean book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3