Customer Reviews for

McKettrick's Choice

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful love story

    All of the books in the McKettrick series are great, I can't wait till I get to the next one.... They make you laugh, they make you cry, they even make you want to fall in love with someone just like for example Holt...
    I hope that Linda will continue this series on and on with each generation to come.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Best in the series, loved it

    This book was my introduction to miller. I fell in love with the book and the author from page 1. I have read many books by this author, she has become a favorite of mine. This book was my favorite in the series and I continued the series to the very end. A must read, you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Holt and Lorelei relationship was heart rending and funny. He is stubbon and she is just as stubbon as he is. I have always enjoy Linda Lael Miller's books. I keep her books and reread them all the time. I am looking forward to any new books she has coming out. I would advice anyone to read this book it will make you sad and happy at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Very good

    Have enjoyed all of the McKettrick's books I have read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    First book I have read in the series and enjoyed it very much, i

    First book I have read in the series and enjoyed it very much, in fact
    it didn't take me long to finish it. Going to start with number one in
    the series. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Masterful Storyteller

    The McKettrick series is not the only series I have read from Linda L Miller, and they are all terrific. She combines humor and action with a thorough knowledge of human relationships - especially between two strong individuals. This story finally brings Holt into the family - he is no longer just related by blood but now by strong bonds as well, laced with admiration, committment and love. Don't miss this book. You'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Excellent book!!!!

    I really loved reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    recommend

    good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    highly recommended

    love the book and love the series, best to start at the beginning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Love the McKettricks

    I fell in love with Holt in "High Country Bride" and loved him through the other McKettick Cowboy series. He is the stubbornest of the four brothers and the last one to truly fall in love. Lorelei is a perfect match for Holt in being stubborn and proud. I love all LLM McKettrick books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Linda Lael Miller is known for writing heart-tugging, emotional Western romances, and with MCKETTRICK'S CHOICE, she delivers yet again. The MCKETTRICK BROTHERS TRILOGY began in 2002 with HIGH COUNTRY BRIDE, followed in 2003 with SHOTGUN BRIDE, and finished in 2004 with SECONDHAND BRIDE. The saga now takes a surprising turn in 2005 with MCKETTRICK'S CHOICE, the story of the oldest McKettrick brother, Holt, who was raised away from the iron fist of family patriarch, Angus, and the three brothers from the trilogy-Rafe, Kade, and Jeb. <BR/><BR/>Holt McKettrick spent a large part of his life as Holt Cavanagh, adopted son of John Cavanagh, a rancher with a spread outside of San Antonio, Texas. Now back in the McKettrick fold-with the tensions and egos that four competing males are bound to bring-Holt is in the process of marrying Miss Margaret Tarquin when a letter from Texas changes his plans. <BR/><BR/>The short note advises Holt that his adoptive father, John, is about to be driven from his land, and former Ranger buddy, Gabe Navarro, is to be hanged for murder and thievery. Holt, as a McKettrick and a Cavanagh, has no choice but to leave the Arizona Territory and return to Texas to set matters straight. <BR/><BR/>But upon arrival, mayhem awaits. People have been killed, lands have been burned, and one Miss Lorelie Fellows, who happens to own the land next to John Cavanagh's, is attempting to drive Holt insane. <BR/><BR/>MCKETTRICK'S CHOICE is Western historical romance at its best-lively characters, a wonderful story line, attention to historic detail, and Ms. Miller's personal brand of story-telling make this book a very enjoyable read. Mystery, suspense, passion, and family duty don't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    Linda Lael Miller is known for writing heart-tugging, emotional Western romances, and with MCKETTRICK'S CHOICE, she delivers yet again. The MCKETTRICK BROTHERS TRILOGY began in 2002 with HIGH COUNTRY BRIDE, followed in 2003 with SHOTGUN BRIDE, and finished in 2004 with SECONDHAND BRIDE. The saga now takes a surprising turn in 2005 with MCKETTRICK'S CHOICE, the story of the oldest McKettrick brother, Holt, who was raised away from the iron fist of family patriarch, Angus, and the three brothers from the trilogy-Rafe, Kade, and Jeb. Holt McKettrick spent a large part of his life as Holt Cavanagh, adopted son of John Cavanagh, a rancher with a spread outside of San Antonio, Texas. Now back in the McKettrick fold-with the tensions and egos that four competing males are bound to bring-Holt is in the process of marrying Miss Margaret Tarquin when a letter from Texas changes his plans. The short note advises Holt that his adoptive father, John, is about to be driven from his land, and former Ranger buddy, Gabe Navarro, is to be hanged for murder and thievery. Holt, as a McKettrick and a Cavanagh, has no choice but to leave the Arizona Territory and return to Texas to set matters straight. But upon arrival, mayhem awaits. People have been killed, lands have been burned, and one Miss Lorelie Fellows, who happens to own the land next to John Cavanagh's, is attempting to drive Holt insane. MCKETTRICK'S CHOICE is Western historical romance at its best-lively characters, a wonderful story line, attention to historic detail, and Ms. Miller's personal brand of story-telling make this book a very enjoyable read. Mystery, suspense, passion, and family duty don't disappoint in this hardcover release from one of the best of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    A great western/love story.

    This was my first book in Linda Lael Miller's 'McKettrick' series. I wasn't disappointed and enjoyed each page with anticipation of what was going to happen next. 'Choice' was totally enjoyable and I'm sure this won't be the only one of the series books that I'll be reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Western Lovestory

    I enjoyed this book very much along with the other 3 books of the McKettrick clan. I was very sorry when I finished the book because I did not have another one to read. Ms. Miller keeps her readers looking towards what is going to happen next. I also liked they way she made all of the women strong and not some woosie little girl. I only wish that there was another sequel to read next. Will have to wait and see if there will be another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific western romance

    In 1888 on the ranch of his biological father in the Arizona Territory, Holt McKettrick is waiting for the preacher to arrive to marry him to Margaret when a visitor from his home state of Texas arrives with a note that he carried from friend Frank Corrales. Apparently the man who raised him John Cavanaugh is being dispossessed from his land and his best friend Gabe is going to be hung as a murdering horse thief. He informs his bride to be that they will not marry at least that day, leaves his daughter with her grandfather, and rushes back to Texas to try to save the day. --- In San Antonio, Judge Fellows is exasperated with his daughter Lorelei who refuses to wed her fiancé Creighton Banning. Instead as Holt arrives in town, she burns her wedding dress and flees to the dilapidated ranch she inherited from her late mother. Her neighbor Holt helps her and soon they fall in love though her father convicted Gabe and her influential former fiancé has made the bid for John¿s land. --- The follow up to the McKettrick bride trilogy is filled with suspense and action, but belongs to a pair of rowdies who do not believe in love until the emotion slaps each of them in the heart. The story line is fast-paced, but also provides a deep look at late nineteenth century Texas through the colorful cast. Linda Lael Miller provides a terrific western romance that embellishes why this is one of the sub-genre¿s better miniseries in the last few years.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4