Customer Reviews for

McKettricks of Texas: Garrett

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mckettricks of Texas: Garrett

I had a wonderful time savoring this story.

Garrett was an interesting hero, though he was a bit naive thinking the best of people he admired and not seeing their foibles. However, none of us are omnipotent and he has a good heart. It was enlightening to see how hi...
I had a wonderful time savoring this story.

Garrett was an interesting hero, though he was a bit naive thinking the best of people he admired and not seeing their foibles. However, none of us are omnipotent and he has a good heart. It was enlightening to see how his eyes were opened and how he responded to the different situations one they were.

Our heroine Julie although she was attracted to Garrett was deliberate in her choice in pursuing a relationship with him. She is thinking of two things: She has a child to consider and he probably will be moving on. Is it enough to just live in the moment?

The story was just the right mix of family interactions, romance and a little bit of danger and intrigue.

posted by hcbm on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could Have Been Better

This was an interesting read for me because I did not care for the lead female character Julie. I cannot in good conscience call her the heroine. I found her annoying, a worry wart, and over protective of her child. One minute she's prim and proper the next her inner sl...
This was an interesting read for me because I did not care for the lead female character Julie. I cannot in good conscience call her the heroine. I found her annoying, a worry wart, and over protective of her child. One minute she's prim and proper the next her inner slut erupts, which came across as bi-polar to me. I could not figure out why Garrett would be interested in her, looks aside.

I did enjoy the family theme and the concept of the McKettricks. Since this is the first book in this series I have read my curisoity about the family demands I give another in the series a try. Hopefully I won't be disappointed as I was with this book.

posted by RaeRS on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Mckettricks of Texas: Garrett

    I had a wonderful time savoring this story.

    Garrett was an interesting hero, though he was a bit naive thinking the best of people he admired and not seeing their foibles. However, none of us are omnipotent and he has a good heart. It was enlightening to see how his eyes were opened and how he responded to the different situations one they were.

    Our heroine Julie although she was attracted to Garrett was deliberate in her choice in pursuing a relationship with him. She is thinking of two things: She has a child to consider and he probably will be moving on. Is it enough to just live in the moment?

    The story was just the right mix of family interactions, romance and a little bit of danger and intrigue.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Could Have Been Better

    This was an interesting read for me because I did not care for the lead female character Julie. I cannot in good conscience call her the heroine. I found her annoying, a worry wart, and over protective of her child. One minute she's prim and proper the next her inner slut erupts, which came across as bi-polar to me. I could not figure out why Garrett would be interested in her, looks aside.

    I did enjoy the family theme and the concept of the McKettricks. Since this is the first book in this series I have read my curisoity about the family demands I give another in the series a try. Hopefully I won't be disappointed as I was with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Good Story, But. . . .

    Others have described the story, so I won't repeat previous reviews. One reviewer did mention inconsistency with the brothers/sisters ages. For some reason when I read books inconsistencies really annoy me, and makes me wonder where is the editor? Besides this one, in another part of the story, the sisters are headed out for a day of wedding dress shopping. The whole family sits down to a huge breakfast before leaving. Two or so pages later it's mentioned that the sisters had planned to stop for breakfast on the road, and then do. Later in the book Libby invites Julie to a barbeque because Tate defrosted a lot of steak and she made a huge amount of potato salad. Several pages later (same day), they are all gathered at the Silver Spur for a chicken and mashed potato dinner cooked by the housekeeper.

    Misspellings, inconsistencies, different spellings of a character's name, these things distract from the story. At least for me anyway.

    Otherwise, it was a good story, a bit predictable, and as another reviewer mentioned, it took a while for the relationship to heat up.

    And for the reviewer who asked how a book can be reviewed before it's been released -- Harriet Klausner is a well know book critic. I'm sure she (and others) get their copies before the general public do.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I just love the McKettricks

    Linda Lael Miller has kept me entertained again, the story kinda follows the rest of the McKetrick stories but I never tire of them I hate waiting for the next two to follow I'm ready Now.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fine ranch contemporary

    As Garrett McKettrick leaves Austin for his family spread the Silver Spur in Blue River, Texas, he knows his aspirations have been shattered to the bone marrow. His hero Senator Morgan Cox is embroiled in a nasty scandal that has nuked Garrett's beliefs and political dreams.

    He arrives to chaos as the family plans for Tate's wedding and someone is rustling their herd leaving cattle dead. However that is not what causes the chaos inside of Garrett's heart. High School teacher Julie Remington, her five years old son Calvin and his three legged dog Harry are staying at the ranch for her sibling's marriage to Tate. Garrett wants her and likes the young boy while the free spirit that Julie filed away to raise her offspring as a single mom (with sisters) surfaces at a time when Calvin's biological father Gordon Pruett arrives wanting to be part of the lad's life.

    The fascination behind the middle brother's tale is that most of the story line focuses on Julie with her fears of what Gordon wants and her sadness over bright student Rachel needing a job. Rachel's dad Mr. Strivens in one sentence adds realism about college for the impoverished families in hard times. Although the romance between Tate and Julie seem more off page than on, the McKettrick fans will enjoy this fine ranch contemporary and look forward to the next sibling's story.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Review

    How does one write a review about a book that has not been released yet?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    Humdrum

    Ooh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2015

    To Minkit

    It is fair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2015

    Mintkit people get off the ratings page.  Not fair to the rest o

    Mintkit people get off the ratings page.  Not fair to the rest of us.  BN once again you do not do anything!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Shadowwing

    SUPERB!!! I ABSOLUTLY HATE MINTKIT!!!!!! And you seem to be hinting that something bad will happen. Dundundunnnnnnn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Dawn&star

    Oh no! Mintkit! Go to Winterberry! This is not going to end well, is it? But still, it is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Portal ✧

    OMGOSHNONONONO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    TMS

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Violet

    Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Monkey King ♔

    Soo Cool!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Mintcloud's Shadow ~ Chapter 5

    Only the slight breeze that whistled through the drafts of the Warriors' Den distured the silence. Tabbypelt had his tail curled around Mintkit like a snake; except it was a warm, comforting squeeze, not one a foul reptile would use to choke its prey. One simple question lingered in her mind- *Why /does/ Flowerkit hate me? I've only been living for maybe a moon, her even less. What have I done wrong?* <br> The next few minutes were filled with thoughts and theories brewing like a medicine in the back of Mintkit's brain. But none made sense. Winterberry stalked in the almost-empty den as quiet as a dead mouse. Only when she cleared her throat to speak did Mintkit notice her mother was there. <br> "As expected," she began with a sigh, sounding as downcast as the weather outside, "Lightstar didn't like the news. He called for your apprenticeship ceremony to be delayed." Mintkit sighed inwardly. She knew it was coming. <br> "I need some alone time," was all she said before running out of the den wordlessly, ignoring the glances her parents exchanged. <p> She scanned the clearing with wide, minty green eyes. <br> *Definately not the Nursery while Flowerkit, Featherkit, and Ashkit are still there... I just came from the Warriors' Den. The Apprentices' Den? Nah, the 'Paws are just about to get back from training. The Elders' Den is occupied by an always-grumpy Jumpflare, and of course not Lightstar's den.* Her stare shifted to the tunnel at the back of camp and almost gagged at the thought. *I guess the Dirtplace is the only place to go...* Making sure no cat was already in there, she hesitantly made her way over to the stench-ridden Dirtplace. Mintkit stood by the entrence, bracing herself. *1... 2... 3...* She trotted all the way in, trying to block out the nose-killing scents. Mintkit finally made her way to the back corner; that section seemed to be the main culprit of the smell, but there it was dim and quiet. <p> Completely quiet. <p> She felt like she should do something. Cry, maybe. Brainstorm unlikely ideas about why Flowerkit would've framed her. Throw a hissy fit, like a senseless kit. But she just took in the peacefullness, the silence. It felt good to get away from the busy camp. <p> A few more minutes of bliss. Until Mintkit heard Winterberry call her name. <p> She abruptly stood up, but banged her head on the dirt roof. Wincing, she squinted her eyes so the few sprinks of falling earth wouldn't get in her eyes, and cotinued on her way out. But Mintkit was soon to stop in her tracks. Falling earth. She padded back to where she had hit her head and pawed at the roof. Sure enough, it was then weak enough so that more and more earth came raining down. <br> *Wouldn't outside be a nice place to explore?* The thought drove her on, until a beam of light shone overhead. She drove her muddy paws throught it and made the hole bigger and bigger, until a cat the size of her could get through. Squeezing her small body through the hole, Mintkit ignored Winterberry's calls, which were growing deeper with anxiety, until she was all the way out. <br> Mintkit was greeted with trees. <br> Streams. <br> Scents of prey. <br> Plants. <br> And she knew she was officially outside of camp. <p> (Thanks for all the encouraging comments! Be sure to keep checking the the Novellas at 'superstar'!) <p> -&#1071|Reflections&#9830

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Garrett Keneth Larsons bio

    Name: last i checked it was Garrett Kenneth Larson <p> age: 16 <p> parantage: Sunan Larson and good 'ol Posiden. <p> looks: well, i have long legs, normal size arms, im skinny, i have brown eyes and brown hair that sticks up. I have a lot of freckles and a scar accross my right eye, and yes, i wear glasses. <p> clothing: jeans, Jimmie Johnson t-shirt, grey hoodie. I wear blue running shoes <p> wepons: i got a pocket knife with a magic blade <p> friends: alot, alot of my friends have left rp, my current ones are: setenity (i think she left) mariam (got groundrd) calyspo, percus, kenny, trinity, emma, sam + more <p> status: why do you need to know :p <p> any thing else you wanna know you may ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    loved this series.

    I read all of her Nook books and thought they were all good. Love how the series includes updates and the people from the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10