Customer Reviews for

McKettricks of Texas: Garrett

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mckettricks of Texas: Garrett

I had a wonderful time savoring this story.

Garrett was an interesting hero, though he was a bit naive thinking the best of people he admired and not seeing their foibles. However, none of us are omnipotent and he has a good heart. It was enlightening to see how hi...
I had a wonderful time savoring this story.

Garrett was an interesting hero, though he was a bit naive thinking the best of people he admired and not seeing their foibles. However, none of us are omnipotent and he has a good heart. It was enlightening to see how his eyes were opened and how he responded to the different situations one they were.

Our heroine Julie although she was attracted to Garrett was deliberate in her choice in pursuing a relationship with him. She is thinking of two things: She has a child to consider and he probably will be moving on. Is it enough to just live in the moment?

The story was just the right mix of family interactions, romance and a little bit of danger and intrigue.

posted by hcbm on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could Have Been Better

This was an interesting read for me because I did not care for the lead female character Julie. I cannot in good conscience call her the heroine. I found her annoying, a worry wart, and over protective of her child. One minute she's prim and proper the next her inner sl...
This was an interesting read for me because I did not care for the lead female character Julie. I cannot in good conscience call her the heroine. I found her annoying, a worry wart, and over protective of her child. One minute she's prim and proper the next her inner slut erupts, which came across as bi-polar to me. I could not figure out why Garrett would be interested in her, looks aside.

I did enjoy the family theme and the concept of the McKettricks. Since this is the first book in this series I have read my curisoity about the family demands I give another in the series a try. Hopefully I won't be disappointed as I was with this book.

posted by RaeRS on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Mckettricks of Texas: Garrett

    I had a wonderful time savoring this story.

    Garrett was an interesting hero, though he was a bit naive thinking the best of people he admired and not seeing their foibles. However, none of us are omnipotent and he has a good heart. It was enlightening to see how his eyes were opened and how he responded to the different situations one they were.

    Our heroine Julie although she was attracted to Garrett was deliberate in her choice in pursuing a relationship with him. She is thinking of two things: She has a child to consider and he probably will be moving on. Is it enough to just live in the moment?

    The story was just the right mix of family interactions, romance and a little bit of danger and intrigue.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Could Have Been Better

    This was an interesting read for me because I did not care for the lead female character Julie. I cannot in good conscience call her the heroine. I found her annoying, a worry wart, and over protective of her child. One minute she's prim and proper the next her inner slut erupts, which came across as bi-polar to me. I could not figure out why Garrett would be interested in her, looks aside.

    I did enjoy the family theme and the concept of the McKettricks. Since this is the first book in this series I have read my curisoity about the family demands I give another in the series a try. Hopefully I won't be disappointed as I was with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Good Story, But. . . .

    Others have described the story, so I won't repeat previous reviews. One reviewer did mention inconsistency with the brothers/sisters ages. For some reason when I read books inconsistencies really annoy me, and makes me wonder where is the editor? Besides this one, in another part of the story, the sisters are headed out for a day of wedding dress shopping. The whole family sits down to a huge breakfast before leaving. Two or so pages later it's mentioned that the sisters had planned to stop for breakfast on the road, and then do. Later in the book Libby invites Julie to a barbeque because Tate defrosted a lot of steak and she made a huge amount of potato salad. Several pages later (same day), they are all gathered at the Silver Spur for a chicken and mashed potato dinner cooked by the housekeeper.

    Misspellings, inconsistencies, different spellings of a character's name, these things distract from the story. At least for me anyway.

    Otherwise, it was a good story, a bit predictable, and as another reviewer mentioned, it took a while for the relationship to heat up.

    And for the reviewer who asked how a book can be reviewed before it's been released -- Harriet Klausner is a well know book critic. I'm sure she (and others) get their copies before the general public do.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I just love the McKettricks

    Linda Lael Miller has kept me entertained again, the story kinda follows the rest of the McKetrick stories but I never tire of them I hate waiting for the next two to follow I'm ready Now.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fine ranch contemporary

    As Garrett McKettrick leaves Austin for his family spread the Silver Spur in Blue River, Texas, he knows his aspirations have been shattered to the bone marrow. His hero Senator Morgan Cox is embroiled in a nasty scandal that has nuked Garrett's beliefs and political dreams.

    He arrives to chaos as the family plans for Tate's wedding and someone is rustling their herd leaving cattle dead. However that is not what causes the chaos inside of Garrett's heart. High School teacher Julie Remington, her five years old son Calvin and his three legged dog Harry are staying at the ranch for her sibling's marriage to Tate. Garrett wants her and likes the young boy while the free spirit that Julie filed away to raise her offspring as a single mom (with sisters) surfaces at a time when Calvin's biological father Gordon Pruett arrives wanting to be part of the lad's life.

    The fascination behind the middle brother's tale is that most of the story line focuses on Julie with her fears of what Gordon wants and her sadness over bright student Rachel needing a job. Rachel's dad Mr. Strivens in one sentence adds realism about college for the impoverished families in hard times. Although the romance between Tate and Julie seem more off page than on, the McKettrick fans will enjoy this fine ranch contemporary and look forward to the next sibling's story.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Review

    How does one write a review about a book that has not been released yet?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Garrett Keneth Larsons bio

    Name: last i checked it was Garrett Kenneth Larson <p> age: 16 <p> parantage: Sunan Larson and good 'ol Posiden. <p> looks: well, i have long legs, normal size arms, im skinny, i have brown eyes and brown hair that sticks up. I have a lot of freckles and a scar accross my right eye, and yes, i wear glasses. <p> clothing: jeans, Jimmie Johnson t-shirt, grey hoodie. I wear blue running shoes <p> wepons: i got a pocket knife with a magic blade <p> friends: alot, alot of my friends have left rp, my current ones are: setenity (i think she left) mariam (got groundrd) calyspo, percus, kenny, trinity, emma, sam + more <p> status: why do you need to know :p <p> any thing else you wanna know you may ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    loved this series.

    I read all of her Nook books and thought they were all good. Love how the series includes updates and the people from the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just keeps gettin better!

    This book gives defintion to the phrase " ALL AMERICAN COWBOY!" Garrett is a man who holds on to his values, and his manners that were taught to him by his parents. He is that man with that tough exterior, but is all heart and soul on the inside. Julie is a women who works hard to be a wonderful mother and teacher. Not to mention she tends to be the level headed of all the three sisters. I love her son Calvin. The story of how they all come together is surely one to remeber. So sit back, relax, and get lost in the wonderful world of the McKettrick brothers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great easy read!

    I love that she included the characters from the first book and didn't leave you hanging with them. I can't wait to read the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT

    amazing thats all i have to say im on to the next book now AUSTIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great series

    Great read for a triliogy. Restores my faith in love. Mushy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not great.

    3 1/2 stars

    This is the second in the McKettricks of Texas series. Garrett is the middle child with aspirations of being a politician and maybe even president. When his mentor, and the man he has idolized for years, becomes involved in a major scandal, Garrett takes off for the Silver Spur to figure things out.
    Julie Remington is the middle sister. She's always been the free-spirit and fun one. Now that she has been raising her 5-year-old son, Calvin, she is a little more subdued because of her concern for him.
    When Julie and Garrett begin to share time together, they find that even though they are very different, they do have some things in common that bring them together.

    I was only so-so on this book. I liked it well enough, but I didn't find myself really feeling the building of the relationship between Garrett and Julie. It focused a lot on Julie and not much on Garrett. What was focused on Garrett didn't seem to have enough depth. The time they spent together really didn't seem to have much depth. I was hoping for a little more romance and connection with them.

    I'm also a stickler for consistency. In Tate's book, specific ages and age differences were never mentioned for the siblings. In this book, it was noted that each set of siblings are 1 year apart and they are the same ages (28, 29, 30). This does not work with one statement in Tate's book about Libby & Tate's age differences, "When Libby was fifteen and Tate was seventeen." They could not be 2 years apart at any time--I could see 16 & 17, but not 15 & 17. Just a minor editing miss.

    It is not necessary to have read Tate's story, but it will add more to the story if you have read it. There is more lead-in to the next book about Austin and Paige. I have to admit that I am most interested in their story and hope that it lives up to the build up in the first two books.

    I received this book from netgalley.com.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9