Customer Reviews for

Me Before You: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 596 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(423)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 596 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 30
  • Posted February 24, 2015

    Since I finished reading this book I haven't been able to pick a

    Since I finished reading this book I haven't been able to pick another one for a long time....it stayed with me day and night. Capturing story, well written and delivering lots of life messages. Please give it a try, you will or won't regret it !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Loved this book!

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2015

    An educational love story.

    This book manages to educate the reader on the everyday struggles for those living with disabilities while concurrently telling a love story. It reveals the emotions, frustrations, and sometimes difficult choices for those who love someone with a disability. Eye opening read for those who are able-bodied and the small things that are taken for granted on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    Hauntingly beautiful

    A singular love story, perhaps the most unique and poignant i have ever read. The characters are so believable and so unforgettable it's hard to remember that they live only within this brilliant work of fiction. I will be carrying their story within me for a very long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    Me Before You

    Jojo Moyes has amazed me again - I loved reading this story, even though it brought me to tears (some sad and some happy). I had a hard time believing a few parts and the ending was a little too predictable, otherwise it would have been a 5 star read. The story line was just wonderful though. And I thought it was smart to have a few chapters in a different character's point of view to help add to the story. Overall a great book that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    Rose

    Very sad, but interesting! Pattenpaw died so young. I loved it. Please use quotation marks, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Shadowiing

    Needs quote marks. It was hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Mistkit

    Try to add quotation marks plese!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2015

    Charectwr

    Yellowgaze she is mostly dusty brown but as you look closer at her head its golden. She is very kind, even when being teased, and was a med cat and died of old age. Hope you use her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2015

    Star Gazzer &starf

    Hey no prob!! And im so glad you made this Chap!!! &hearts it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    Pattenfur's Faith Chapter 2

    1 review but I feel like writing it anyway!! Thank you Star Gazzer! Charcter apps are on now!
    Pattenpaw woke up in a strange place. Where am I? Pattenpaw yelled. Pattenpaw, sorry but you are in StarClan now Longholly couldn't save you. The strange cat mewed. Who are you? Pattenpaw asked. I am your real mother. The cat explained. I am Blueflower and I am happy to be with you now but didn't want you to die so soon. Blueflower meowed. Pattenpaw ran up to her mother crying. It's okay Pattenpaw, I know Bearpaw and Larchpaw will miss you. She meowed grooming her fur. Can I meet some cats please!! Meowed Pattenpaw. This is Gray wing. Mewed Blueflower. Two words? Why? Asked Pattenpaw. I am menny years old... Replied Gray wing. Blueflower who is this? Se asked. This is one of my kits. Blueflower replied. Pattenfur shook her long fuzzy brown fur, almost the feeling of patten. This Dawnmoon when you die as an apprentice some cat needs to mentor you, so Dawnmoon will mentor you. Purred Blueflower. Hello young one, we'll start training soon. Mewed Dawnmoon. Who's leader of this place? Asked Pattenpaw. No one, we all do what the Silverpelt tells us to do so I guess th leader is Silverpelt. Meowed Dawnmoon. Pattenpaw we have to teach you how to enter dreams, an important thing StarClan cats have to do. I'm eager to learn!! Pattenpa mewed. Dawnmoon taught her how to do it, she wanted to test it but she had to wait till a prophecy came. Shw fell asleep in her moss bed dreaming of how her littermates are gonna grow up. Thanks for reading!! Charcter apps are on!! Star Gazzer thanks again! Enjoy my book! ~Star &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Very good book

    I couldn't put it down. I really liked how it wasn't one of those sappy ending, it was true and real and heartbreaking. You won't regret reading this, promise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the most heart clenching books I have ever read

    This was one of the most heart clenching books I have ever read in my life. I was litterally crying the last twenty pages of this book. Its an absolute page turner. You wont be able to put it down until you finally have no chooice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2015

    I really loved this book, not your typical "Love story"

    I really loved this book, not your typical "Love story". I didn't want it to be over, and along with everyone else who has read it, I too found myself crying. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    This is a must read.

    I found this to hold my attention from beginning to the very end. What a story and I have recommended to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I have had this on my TBR list for awhile now and I am not even

    I have had this on my TBR list for awhile now and I am not even sure why I decided to read it now but OMG I have just been through an emotional, heart-wrenching, tearful, agonizing reading experience.

    Even though as I read the story, I knew the ending that was coming but in my heart and soul I just didn't want it to be so. Had I known the ending for sure before I read the book, I am not sure I would have read it.

    My heart still hurts. It was such an emotional story and written in such a way that you had to keep reading until the very end. There are so many things at play throughout the book that your feelings and emotions get tossed and turned so that you aren't really sure how you feel...but you do FEEL DEEPLY.

    The heaviness in my heart won't be leaving anytime soon, this book will stay with me for quite awhile as I ponder the words I just read. Know that your personal values and feelings will come into play throughout this book but don't miss out on it because of them.

    Where there was sadness in the story, you are left with a lesson of hope.

    “You only get one life. It's actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

    “Push yourself. Don't Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    We learned in the old Disney classic, ¿Bambi¿, that ¿if you can¿

    We learned in the old Disney classic, “Bambi“, that “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” Good lesson, Thumper. And, I am tempted to stop there. But, as much as my feelings about this book are complicated, there is some good to say. So, in a break from tradition, I’m going to give it stars based on its components.

    But first, a summary. Will Traynor is a successful business man who becomes a quadriplegic after being struck by a motorbike. Two years later, his mother hires Louisa Clark, a waitress who is looking for work after her restaurant closes. Louisa is meant to keep him company, but their time together blossoms into a romance.

    That’s pretty much all the book jacket tells you. In fact, there is a much more compelling element to the book, a race-against-the-clock component that keeps the pages turning that they completely ignore. I have to wonder if that’s intentional, because the true storyline of this book is highly controversial and inflames a lot of opinions.

    2 Stars – Cover art – Ok, I know that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but I’ve been avoiding Jojo Moyes books just because I really don’t like the plain colors and the scroll-like text. It doesn’t tell me anything about the book, or draw me in. The only reason I bought the book is because it had been such a bestseller, and I couldn’t resist seeing what I was missing. I will boost it from one to two stars because in this paperback edition, at least, the feel of the book cover is delightful.

    4 Stars – Page-turning quality – Well, I read it in just over 24 hours, and it really kept my interest. I learned a lot about quadriplegics, what the dangers are to them, and what the little irritations in life can be. (How people look at them, where a wheelchair can and cannot go, etc.) This alone was worth the read.

    4 Stars – Contrasts – Louisa is caregiving Will, while dating a man who is obsessed with extreme running. Will once traveled the world and now sees his opportunities limited, while Louisa has never been anywhere and has a future of possibilities before her.

    3 Stars – Points of View – The author begins to give an insight into the family members’ feelings about Will’s condition and his plans, but doesn’t flesh it out. While the majority of the point of view is that of Louisa, she sprinkles in others haphazardly. I think this could have been better accomplished by either committing to one POV, or by exploring the others that she introduces in more depth.

    1 Star – The ending – Well, you’ll just have to read it for yourself. Any more would be a spoiler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Twist on Pygmalion? Twist on Pygmalion?

    This is a good read, clever combination of humor, sadness and incite. Docked 1 star as ending overly romanticised, won't explain or it spoils the book for the new reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2014

    Best book I have read since My Sister's Keeper. I am sobbing, b

    Best book I have read since My Sister's Keeper. I am sobbing, but also uplifted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Wonderful

    One of the best books that I have read for a long while It is different it would be a great book for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 596 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 30