Customer Reviews for

Me, Him, Them, and It

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hmm... I really had trouble rating this book. It wasn't that it

    Hmm... I really had trouble rating this book. It wasn't that it was poorly written because it's not but I just wasn't a fan of the main character. I found her to be spoiled and extremely childish over everything. Which may have been the idea since she is only a teen but I would hope most 16 yr olds know that having unprotected sex NUMEROUS times will eventually result in a pregnancy. I was hoping that as the story progressed that Evelyn would grow and mature as a person but apparently she just spiraled down and got worse.

    The story pretty much consists of Evie deciding should I or shouldn't I. Should she abort the baby or shouldn't she? If she doesn't abort, should she keep the baby or give it up for adoption? She never makes up her mind until the very last possible second. Looking back, maybe the author wrote the character like that because she didn't want to seem "pro" anything when it came to teen pregnancy. Either way, I found the wishy washy thoughts of a spoiled (borderline stupid) girl a bit tiresome. I wish something had come of the book by the end but alas I didn't feel sorry for her, for her actions, or for the decisions she made in the end.

    The one good thing that can be taken away from this book is the consequences of having sex, when you are not prepared to start a family. She made some poor choices both before conception and after that not only affected her and the baby but the father, his family and Evie's family as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    4/5 stars

    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    I have thid I have this in hardback...

    At thw end it is very depressing. I threw the book across the room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Evelyn is your typical good student and conflicted teen, who is

    Evelyn is your typical good student and conflicted teen, who is falling for the guy she is just having casual sex with and doing everything under the sun to tick off her parents, whose father is cheating on her mother and whose mother is definitely not mother material. When she decides to tell Todd her feelings are more than friendly, she gets more than a life altering shock when she finds out she is pregnant. Even worse, Todd wants nothing to do with her or a baby. With parents dealing with their own drama she can’t turn too for help, a baby daddy who has left the picture and her best friend totally irked at her, her only hope is her loving aunt who has her own adopted children. Can she help Evelyn make the right choices she won’t regret the rest of her life? What about Todd? Will her best friend come back around?
    “Well, adoption is … like being an anonymous kidney donor. I take something out of my body and just give it away. Why would I do that? I always thought those anonymous donor people were creeps. Not just creeps, lonely creeps.”
    This was a powerfully written book hitting on topics that teenagers are faced with every day. From parental problems, to those lingering fights between you and your BFF, you always wonder how much more you can take before hitting your breaking point and this book shows us to keep reaching out to those who offer to help, even when we think we have hit bottom. A must read for all teenagers.
    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review* 
    *You can view the original review at Musing with Crayolakym and San Francisco & Sacramento City Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    I was so excited to read this one.  And it wasn¿t that I was dis

    I was so excited to read this one.  And it wasn’t that I was disappointed to read it, I just don’t know that it totally hit everything that I was hoping for, or that it could have done. But I do think it shows the emotional roller coaster that teenage pregnancy can put you on.  Evelyn faced a lot of choices, and finally chose to move in with her aunt for the duration of the pregnancy until the baby could be adopted. Teenage pregnancy is such a touchy, crazy topic and I do think that Carter handled the pregnancy part of the novel really well.




    I just felt the overall tone of the book in places was a little rough and unpolished. I didn’t feel like I connected with Evelyn like I hoped that I would. I wanted to feel sympathy for her, or some sort of emotion and it just wasn’t there.




    However, I did like a lot of the book and the overall story was great, which is why I gave it such a high rating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    I know the author!

    Ms.Carter is my school librarian... I haven't read the book yet though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. I was a bit skeptic

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. I was a bit skeptical at first since I don't typically read this genre; however, I'm so glad I did. I thought the book was AMAZING! I seldom get emotional when I read books; however, as the story progressed I cried and cried. I also cried for about 20 minutes after the book. I think this is a great read for adults as well as parents with teenage children. It's a great way to have a family discussion about teenage pregnancy and the choices you make. Even though I was never a teenage mom I was able to relate to the main character. I've recommended this book to my friends for book club! This book is fantastic and a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

          Me, Him, Them and It takes a realistic and deeply emotiona

          Me, Him, Them and It takes a realistic and deeply emotional look at teenage pregnancy with a fresh narrator and Caela Carter makes the story her own not like reading the same old story again. 
         I connected with Evelyn, the main character, because I can relate and see myself in her. She isn't quite like any other protagonist that I can remember reading about in that she is quiet, and it is hard for her to open up, while I wouldn't quite call it shy. I've read shy and I can sort of relate with that, but Evelyn is different and different is good to me. I guess the best way I can explain it is that she has a hard time saying the truth and of her feelings to others, and when she finally talks, what comes out isn't the truth. 
        Me, Him, Them and It also showcased all different kinds of family and how love can be shown. There is the traditional mother and father, though both are disconnected and although they love Evelyn, her mom just doesn't talk much either, and her dad has made some mistakes and can't see how to get past them. Then there is her aunt Linda and her wife/partner Nora, who I might add are two of my favorite characters, maybe even more so than Evelyn. I love their dynamic and how at first glance you wouldn't think they would work but they really are the ones that get through to Evelyn. Their little girls Cecelia and Tammy are black while Linda is chinese and Nora is white, and it doesn't matter in the slightest to them, they just love each other. Tammy and Cecelia just bring the story to a whole other level, and I loved every scene they were in and what they taught Evelyn about herself, family and love. 
        I will say though, that there is one particular decision that Evelyn makes while I fully support the action, I can't say that I agree with her motivations at that time and how the decision came to pass... If that makes any sense. I really don't want to spoil the story, but I couldn't review without mentioning that. I think that it can send the wrong message about that decision and that is the last thing that I would want. 
        So, that said, I really enjoyed Me, Him, Them and It. The pacing was wonderful, it kept me engaged and the emotions are really what drove this book. I loved watching Evelyn grow and learn about herself and life. 
        Bottom line: Emotionally driven story about one girl coming face to face with teenage pregnancy and making the hardest decisions of her life while learning to love herself and learning the ways her family loves her. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    4.5 stars! Every teenage girl and every parent of a teenage

    4.5 stars!





    Every teenage girl and every parent of a teenage girl should read this book.  It's raw, it's harsh, but it's reality.  It packs a hard punch right to the abdomen (no pun intended) and really makes you think.




    Evelyn is sixteen.  Evelyn is a junior on the track to being valedictorian in her class, with dreams of going to an Ivy League school.  Evelyn has a tough life at home with her non-speaking parents.  Evelyn is depressed.  Evelyn is pregnant.  Crap.  Now what?  Evelyn is faced with a huge burden, major decisions, and parents who are of no help at all.  No matter how hard she tries, she's unable to bring herself to tell her BFF of her predicament.  She doesn't know who to turn to, or what to do next.




    Evelyn is asked over and over again by the counselor at Planned Parenthood the same questions: Will you have this baby?  Will you have an abortion?  If you have the baby, will you give it up for adoption or care for it as a teen mother?  If you decide to parent this child, where will you live?  How will you support it financially?  But Evelyn doesn't have the answers.  She has no idea what to do.  She's lost and insecure.  Evelyn needs help.




    Me, Him, Them and It is a stark look at the life of a pregnant teenager, the roller coaster ride that consumes her mind, and the emotional toll it takes on her and everyone in her life.  The thoughts that run through her head.  The questions being asked of her.  The strength it must take to put your own dreams and desires on hold long enough to consider the life of the being growing inside of you.  I think teenage girls and mothers will definitely benefit from reading this story.  I'd have to say it's the best teenage pregnancy book I've read thus far.  I'm neither a teenager nor a parent of one, but I really enjoyed this book.  It was REAL, and that says a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1