Customer Reviews for

Me Talk Pretty One Day

Average Rating 4
( 560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I actually hurt myself laughing at this book

I laughed till I cried at his earlier books, but--I swear I'm not making this up--I laughed so hard I almost threw up when I was reading Me Talk Pretty One Day. I was home alone and couldn't wait for my husband to come home so I could read parts of it to him.

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compila

In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compilation of his essays about many different subjects and topics each chapter is different. He starts off the book by talking about his childhood lisp and how he wants to name his guitar a boys name. All of his ...
In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compilation of his essays about many different subjects and topics each chapter is different. He starts off the book by talking about his childhood lisp and how he wants to name his guitar a boys name. All of his chapters just get stranger after that, especially the Big Boy chapter I honestly did not understand the point of that essay. I particularly did not like this book because I just wish it would all go together instead of being jumbled around. The humor was different unlike anything that I have read before. This is my first book from David and it will be my last. I do not like the style that he writes in, and I am sure if any of his books are like this one then I will not recommend them to anyone. Some people may like this style of writing and this type of humor but I did not like it. If this book was not required for my class I probably would have walked passed it a million times in the book store not even looking down at it. However, now that I have read the book and tried to understand what he was saying exactly I probably will never read this book again. One thing I wish the book had more of was a purpose and a flow. If this was one whole story, like most books are, I probably would have enjoyed it more, but since it was scattered and all the chapters were different I just got lost and confused. I would not recommend this book to anyone unless I think they might like a book like this or have that sense of humor that Sedaris has. 

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Don't waste your time.

    From the first page, I did not like this book. I forced myself to finish it. I was expecting humor, I did not find any. I found a boring, self absorbed man who whined his way through this horrid book. Please, I beg you, do not waste your time or money.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Terrible book

    I saw this book featured in a list of the funniest books of all time so I looked forward to reading it.
    Sadly, I was terribly disappointed. The main drawback of the book is not its pointless narrative, nor its non-linear succession of irrelevant events, but namely the fact that the narrator is downright detestable. Throughout the entire book, he exhibits not one redeemable quality. His contempt and misanthropy are not the interesting personality traits of a genius but rather the resentment-filled sad ramblings of a painfully mediocre idiot.
    The most promising aspect of the book -the narrator's homosexuality- is awfully downplayed. There's not a hint of erotism, which is a shame. If there were, at least there would be something remarkable about this waste of time called Me Talk Pretty One Day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Well, this was mandatory Common Core reading for my 15 year old

    Well, this was mandatory Common Core reading for my 15 year old in High School.
    The administrators are pushing this Common Core "non-fiction" reading.
    The author tells about how almost everyone he knows has been involved in a "threesome."
    Very strange man. He goes to France just to watch movies because Americans are so loud.
    He doesn't sight see, just goes to watch movies. He's very anti-social and strange.
     I would give it a zero if it were possible. If this constitutes non-fiction reading. It's a waste of time.
    Let's go back to the classics where they actually learn how to think. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Zippy zebra

    This is the worst book I have ever read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I was told this book was hilarious and I would enjoy it. However

    I was told this book was hilarious and I would enjoy it. However I can honestly say I do not understand Sedaris' humor but then again humor is hard to convey some times. I kept reading only because I expected the book to get better although for me that never happened. I wish I could have understood it the way some other readers found it but sadly I lack his humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Don't bother

    I started reading this for my book club and kept wondering what was the point. This guy's life story is pretty boring although you can tell that he thinks it is riveting. He lost me at the poop. I really don't find anyone's bowel movement all that fascinating, even my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    This book is pure trash

    This is a hopeless attempt at humor.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    I must have a bad taste of humor because I'm reading peoples rev

    I must have a bad taste of humor because I'm reading peoples reviews on how much they love this book, while I'm sitting here like, “how?!" He has a creative mind though. A lot of imaginations in his stories make you think real hard about what the heck he is talking about. This book basically explains the events that he holds close to him. A lot of these events would include him having a lisp as a child, having a little brother who swears left and right, his sexuality, his partner Hugh, drugs and school, his move to France, etc. This book has a lot of disturbing and immature scenes as well. One example that could describe disturbing and immature would be when he was at a party and he had to use the restroom and someone left him a clogged toilet. You would think as a grown man he would have asked for a plunger. But no, instead he uses his hands to scoop out the feces because he is scared that people will judge him for clogging the toilet. If you like to read authors past events in a book, then this is the book for you. There was no moral to this book. There was a lot of dry humor and a good hand full of funny content, but that is probably just me. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Stunck

    THIS BOOK SUCKED

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Hated this book

    Don't know why I kept reading or what it is everyone likes about this. Definitely my last with this author!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Really?

    I finished it as quickly as I could just to be done with it. Just not my kind of read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    don't waste your $$

    I thought this was a waste of money and my time. Couldn't even finish it. Where's the funny?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Okay if you like a nasty edge to your humor

    First Sedaris book I have read. It will likely be the last. Sure I laughed some, but not really that much. He has a nasty side that is hard to ignore. I found his ripping into his mother, father, sister, etc. both immature and boorish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Yes - and you still need to work on that talking pretty one day

    don't waste your $$ on this book. If it was supposed to be humorous I never thought it was. It was stupid, boring and seemed like it was written from a total loosers prespective. If that was to be the point of the story, then WOW - really boring.

    By the way this is the 1st bad review I have ever written. I could barely finish it but forced myself to - scanning through the end to the last chapter just to get it finished.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    Don't buy this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was a waste of my time and my book clubs time. If you are looking for a good laugh this is not it. Wasn't funny in the slightest. It was a sad, pathetic, obnoxious, waste of paper and binding. David Sedaris should not be allowed to write, it was that bad. An entire chapter on poop???!!!! If the stories he tells are truthfully based on his life experiences, this book is a tragedy!!!!!!! I'm not a fan of shows like Jerry Springer but if you are then maybe this book is for you. If you enjoy watching other peoples misery and stupidity then this book is for you!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    horrible don't even bother

    As a speech pathologist I found this book to be absolute trash. As a regular person I found this book to be nothing but a waste of my time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    One of the worst

    The only funny parts of this book was the description of the speech teacher and when the child attempts to have a conversation without using s's. I totally wasted my time on this book. It is stupid, irrelevant and who cares about this stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2