Customer Reviews for

Me Talk Pretty One Day

Average Rating 4
( 568 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I actually hurt myself laughing at this book

I laughed till I cried at his earlier books, but--I swear I'm not making this up--I laughed so hard I almost threw up when I was reading Me Talk Pretty One Day. I was home alone and couldn't wait for my husband to come home so I could read parts of it to him.

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compila

In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compilation of his essays about many different subjects and topics each chapter is different. He starts off the book by talking about his childhood lisp and how he wants to name his guitar a boys name. All of his ...
In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compilation of his essays about many different subjects and topics each chapter is different. He starts off the book by talking about his childhood lisp and how he wants to name his guitar a boys name. All of his chapters just get stranger after that, especially the Big Boy chapter I honestly did not understand the point of that essay. I particularly did not like this book because I just wish it would all go together instead of being jumbled around. The humor was different unlike anything that I have read before. This is my first book from David and it will be my last. I do not like the style that he writes in, and I am sure if any of his books are like this one then I will not recommend them to anyone. Some people may like this style of writing and this type of humor but I did not like it. If this book was not required for my class I probably would have walked passed it a million times in the book store not even looking down at it. However, now that I have read the book and tried to understand what he was saying exactly I probably will never read this book again. One thing I wish the book had more of was a purpose and a flow. If this was one whole story, like most books are, I probably would have enjoyed it more, but since it was scattered and all the chapters were different I just got lost and confused. I would not recommend this book to anyone unless I think they might like a book like this or have that sense of humor that Sedaris has. 

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny but not for kids

    I love listening to David Sedaris. His stories are always hilarious, often touching and frequently completely inappropriate for children.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    ¿If you aren't cute, you may as well be clever.¿  Well David Sed

    “If you aren't cute, you may as well be clever.”  Well David Sedaris is certainly clever and never more so than in Me Talk Pretty One Day. A friend gave it to me when I was down and I recommend anyone to give it to a friend that needs cheering up. It helped me so much. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    In this book Sedaris tells his life story and the things that ha

    In this book Sedaris tells his life story and the things that happen to him throughout his life. When I first started to read this book I enjoyed it, and I liked to hear about how Sedaris was able to find ways to work around his speech impediment when he was a child. In one of the chapters his dad forced him to play an instrument that he had no interest in. I was able to relate to him in this chapter because when I was a child I was forced to play a sport that I had absolutely had no interest in but my parents wanted me to play. One of the chapters that disturbed me the most was when he was at a friend’s house and he walked into the bathroom after someone had left poop in the toilet. He felt that someone would think it was him so he tried to flush it, but then it started to overflow and how he made it stop you can read if you want. The majority of the content in this book I would say is rated R because has quite a bit of foul language, drugs and dirty humor. If you have a dirty mind or are eager for a twisted and sick read then I encourage you to read it, but if you’re like me and aren’t into twisted humor then this isn’t the book for you. Although, I didn’t really agree with what was being said at times during this book, I found it hard to put down. The book is very interesting because he doesn’t live a normal life, it’s actually very far from it. I would recommend this book because of how off the wall it is and funny, but some parts my stomach was too weak to handle. Although, I can’t said that I hated this book because the adventures he went through and how his life actually turns out is very interesting and a bit comical at moments.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Still...

    Makes me laugh. He's funny and a good writer.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2015

    Of the three David Sedaris books that I¿ve read, this one is my

    Of the three David Sedaris books that I’ve read, this one is my least favorite. Of course, that’s like saying, of the three pieces of chocolate I’ve chosen from this gourmet assortment, this is the one I enjoyed the least. In other words, even when he’s not at his best, he’s still pretty darn good.

    There were just a few “laugh out loud moments” in this one—considering the sometimes dark turn taken by some of the pieces in this collection (e.g., Sedaris’ crystal meth addiction), that’s not unexpected. Sedaris’ fans will encounter the usual sources of Sedaris’ wit here—his family (especially his father), his lack of initiative, his befuddlement at the ignorance of simple folk, etc. He also recounts his move to France, which provides most of the laughs in this volume, particularly in the second half of the book.

    This merely above-average effort from Sedaris is certainly good enough to convince me that I should continue reading his subsequent volumes. Few people are as funny as David Sedaris, even when he’s not at the top of his game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    I love Sedaris' Humor but not everyone gets him

    Sedaris has a way with words that has made him popular with fans of NPR and sophisticated prose. As I found out recently when my book club read this book (me for the second time), he is not uncontroversial. "It's not that he's gay, it's that he is not respectful to his family," explained one member who differed from another critic who felt that Sedaris used too much profanity. For me, Sedaris writes straight from his heart, often on edge between insightful glee and profound sadness.
    He adds a touch of unassimilated immigrant humor to add piquancy to the
    dish, and we feel like his best confidante.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Good Read

    I love David Sedaris. I find his books so entertaining. I found myself laughing out loud on the plane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Hysterical & undoubtedly witty.

    Hysterical & undoubtedly witty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    This is the first David Sedaris book I've read; my thoughts of M

    This is the first David Sedaris book I've read; my thoughts of Me Talk Pretty One Day were interesting. I have never read a book like this before in my life. Sedaris is a talented writer; he has good sentence structure and uses creative analogies to bring across his humor. Although I am impressed by his ability to be funny in writing, I thought some part of the book was out of place. In the beginning, this was a guy who tried to construct a vocabulary without using the letter "s" so that he could mask his lisp. As a child, he hilariously tells us, his midget guitar teacher had a voice like a recording played back too fast and he taught his students to love their guitars by suggesting they imagine them as a "stacked" woman. David Sedaris takes his personal experiences and compiles them into a hilarious novel. E ach story is about something noteworthy that has taken place. The chapter begins on page 142, where David Sedaris writes about his dislike for computers, and all modern technology. The following story tells about how he met his partner and about his new home France. After getting together with his partner Hugh, Sedaris moves to France with Hugh, who lives there most of year. Mostly everything Sedaris does revolve around France and Hugh throughout the rest of the story. Some of these things include Sedaris trying to learn French, and Sedaris's relationship with his friends and family. The next story is titled Jesus Shaves. This deals with Sedaris's opinions on religion. He questions why things such as why a rabbit was chosen to be the symbol of Easter. The following two chapters deal with his troubles of learning to speak French. One struggle was his inability of learning the correct verb endings. When he would purchase groceries he would always buy more than necessary in order to hide his embarrassment of not being able to understand the plurals of French words. The pages of 138-200 deal with his struggles. David Sedaris trawls through his life and up-bringing to deliver hilarious observations and stories, describing failures, foibles and more failures in minute detail. He has an eye for the little things, the tiny events and ironies that make up this cruel world, and a knack of abstracting ad absurdity. He paints a very self-deprecating, lovingly shambolic picture of himself through his writings, and it's the real identification with his character that causes you to laugh when he laughs and laugh when he cries. My favorite story is called "Big Boy" and details his attempts to use the bathroom at a garden party. David tells about his experiences in France and of his family, where my favorite essay comes into mind. He tells about his lovely brother in the story titled You Can't Kill the Rooster. Me talk pretty one day actually pretty easy to read. I liked how Sedaris did not use big fancy words to impress the reader with a view. Even though his stories can get very strange, Sedaris does a very good job in painting a picture in readers' minds of what is going on in his life. The part of the book I enjoyed most was his childhood life. His odd interpretation of the world was very interesting and also hilarious. I recommend this book to anyone who is open minded about life. This book is amusing and makes you appreciate YOUR LIFE! When you read this book, you just compare your life with Sedaris's and you will thank God you're not David Sedaris Me Talk Pretty One Day is highly recommend for those who need a good laugh and want the pleasure of knee-slapping humor and somewhat appalling stories that you could never believe to be true. If you want to do yourself a favor by adding some laughter into your life, pick up a copy of Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris. Overall the book leaves me not with a better understanding of the author, and seeing his point of view. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    My name is Hagar Assi  David Sedaris¿s memoir was quite an



    My name is Hagar Assi 

    David Sedaris’s memoir was quite an interesting peice to read. The delivery was outstanding and especially the process of self development we saw from the main character. The narriator did an excellent job of expressing to the reader their feelings and emotions. Through each phase in Davids life, the reader was able to feel Davids emotions and thoughts as he pushed through his struggles as a gay man living in an American society. His self discovery becomes quite obvious from the beginning when the narriator expresses his odd taste in interests. To the typical american society we find it very odd  that a young boy would not find interest in sports or “manly activities”. After the reader is exposed to these thoughts, they are able to see David’s self inquiry a lot clearer.
    As for plot structure, the same applies. Each place we see david in through out this book is very well developed and offers us a visual of what his life might be like. Each stage in his life is very evident almost like they are steps in a staircase. He starts off as a young boy in North Carolina, forced to tak speech classes,  and guitar lessons. Then he is moved onto a new stage in his life where he now is a teacher and must deal with the students he does not like. Next he moves to New York and attempts to tackle a life that he might have a future in. With no luck, he advances himself to France where he begins to find his true self and a comfortable habitat. 
    Next we have character building, the main character is very well developed for the reader but as for the other characters, not so much. To me it does not seem like such a dilemma because, the only character we actually read about is David. We do not need that much character development for anyone else. David on the other hand shows great character development for the narrator. We watch him transform from a young boy to a man living in france over a time period of only 20 years. Amazing! 
    I personally enjoyed reading this memoir very much. I have learned how to visually entertain my reader with details that would make the reader believe they were there watching my story like a movie. I like how in most memoirs the author is able to paint an eloquent picture with his brush of what the scene may look like through words. Hopefully in my writing I can do the same, by expressing what I see through the words. As for character development, I learned about taking my time to show each phase in a characters life. At the end of the day there should be no questions or concerns left about how the character survived through the story.  I definitely believe this book should be offered again because it was a very humorous and descriptive memoir. It had great details, an interesting story and just enough humor to make the author laugh but not believe it was over done! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Entertaining read

    This book was entertaining and in general kept me aspiring to turn the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    don't buy a nook if you intend to leave america

    can't read the books i've bought because i'm not in the states.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Clever, relatable, and very funny

    David Sedaris has become one of our era's most beloved essayists since the publication of his first collection, Barrel Fever, in 1994. His books are no strangers on the bestseller lists and many of his essays have become staples in writing classes. In short, Sedaris' humor and wit have epitomized what modern short works require to appeal to the masses. And yet, Sedaris would probably be the last to say he's a literary genius and the first to question the sanity of his cult following. Sedaris's secret weapon is his penchant for self-deprecation, which creates a bond absent in the works of preachy, overconfident writers.

    Me Talk Pretty One Day was Sedaris's first true break into the writing world back in 2000. In this collection of short stories about his childhood and his years living in France, Sedaris addresses such topics as speech therapy, modern "art", pets, foreign languages, and technology. The most impressive part of the collection is Sedaris's ability to put himself in his childhood mindset as well as tap into his thoughts as an adult without disrupting the flow of the narratives. The essays all come together to create one book with a cohesive voice. From "Giant Dreams, Midget Abilities" (in which a young David is forced to take guitar lessons from a midget when all he really wants to do is sing jingles) to "Picka Pocketoni" (in which an adult Sedaris muses over an American couple who assume he is French and thus hold nothing back as they talk about him in English), readers are guaranteed a healthy dose of laughs and "I know what you mean" moments.

    Take the essay "Today's Special." Sedaris laments the loss of simplicity in America's favorite past time: eating. Anyone who has ever looked at a menu and wondered whether it is in a foreign language or not will empathize with Sedaris and his wish that restaurants would Keep It Simple, Stupid. "I'd order the skirt steak with a medley of suffocated peaches," Sedaris writes, "but I'm put off by the aspirin sauce. The sea scallops look good until I'm told they're served in a broth of malt liquor and mummified litchi nuts." He ends the piece by praising the hot dog - "so simple and timeless, I can recognize it, immediately, as food."

    "Twelve Moments in the Life of an Artist" is a perfect example of Sedaris's willingness to make fun of himself and also make a point. Sedaris gives readers a timeline of his dabbles in the art world (and the drug world) while questioning what some people call "art" today. "This was the art world I'd been dreaming of, where God-given talent was considered an unfair advantage and a cold-blooded stare merited more praise than the ability to render human flesh," Sedaris muses.

    Me Talk Pretty One Day is funny and thought-provoking from beginning to end. If you're in search of a good laugh or an interesting perspective on the little things in life, Sedaris can offer you both and more.

    Check out more reviews on Baltimore Read's blog on wordpress!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Great read

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    My first David Sedaris

    A hilarious read. Very personal and brutally honest at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do you want to laugh?

    Each chapter is a story of a segment of David's dysfunctional family life. There are 'laugh out loud' incidents that are priceless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Sedaris never fails to entertain.

    I picked up Sedaris on the advice of my roommate, and his suggestion has been greatly appreciated. Sedaris has a way of telling a story that makes it seem like you w,are part of it. His matter-of-fact humorous tone makes every page enjoyable. These vignettes are sure to please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    A Funny Look On One Man's Life!

    This book was a fantastic read! David Sedaris never fails to meet my expectations! This book of his is a collage of short stories from his life. The first story is about how he has to meet with a speech therapist at school. He must learn how to say his "s" correctly, hence the title "Me Talk Pretty One Day" not to mention one of the stories is called this as well. Every one of his stories is unique in their own way. He talks about everything from learning guitar from a midget to an annoying visit when his close friend decides to bring a companion to New York and so much more. You get a deep and intimate look at his struggles and successes while growing up. The stories give you a deep and personal look at his controlling dad, easy going mother, and unique siblings. It is hard to believe that everything mentioned in this book did indeed occur, but if it all did he had one funny and interesting upbringing that will keep you laughing from the minute you pick it up to long after you're finished. The fact that David Sedaris can openly write about his life intending people to laugh at it makes you appreciate this book even more. This is a great change from all the books depicting a perfect life with a perfect upbringing, when then fact is rarely anyone has a so called "perfect" life. From this book you see that not everyone has a great life but more has an interesting life, and that that's okay especially when you can laugh at it. So if you are looking for a change and just want a good read that will make you laugh a ton and give you different view on life then this is the book for you! It is perfect for a rainy day and I am recommending it to all my friends! Especially if you love to listen to NPR then you will have as deep of a respect for this book as I did. So get out of the norm and give this book a try, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    A friend recommended Me Talk Pretty One Day to me years ago, and while I may never have picked it up if he hadn't, I think his recommendation ruined it a little for me. I had very, very high expectations, and though I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, I didn't find it nearly as hilarious as my friend did. Part of the problem may also have been that the second half of the book focuses entirely on David Sedaris' time living in France. He has some very funny stories to tell, but many of them rely on the old American Abroad stereotype---much cringing at loud tourists, clinging to the sound of English, etc. I much preferred the stories in the first half of the book, when I had absolutely no idea what strange, absurd things I might read next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for the bus

    ...especially if you want a seat by yourself. I laugh like a deranged person every time I read this. I especially love his experience with French lessons!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8