Customer Reviews for

Me Talk Pretty One Day

Average Rating 4
( 565 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(293)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I actually hurt myself laughing at this book

I laughed till I cried at his earlier books, but--I swear I'm not making this up--I laughed so hard I almost threw up when I was reading Me Talk Pretty One Day. I was home alone and couldn't wait for my husband to come home so I could read parts of it to him.

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compila

In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compilation of his essays about many different subjects and topics each chapter is different. He starts off the book by talking about his childhood lisp and how he wants to name his guitar a boys name. All of his ...
In the book Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris is a compilation of his essays about many different subjects and topics each chapter is different. He starts off the book by talking about his childhood lisp and how he wants to name his guitar a boys name. All of his chapters just get stranger after that, especially the Big Boy chapter I honestly did not understand the point of that essay. I particularly did not like this book because I just wish it would all go together instead of being jumbled around. The humor was different unlike anything that I have read before. This is my first book from David and it will be my last. I do not like the style that he writes in, and I am sure if any of his books are like this one then I will not recommend them to anyone. Some people may like this style of writing and this type of humor but I did not like it. If this book was not required for my class I probably would have walked passed it a million times in the book store not even looking down at it. However, now that I have read the book and tried to understand what he was saying exactly I probably will never read this book again. One thing I wish the book had more of was a purpose and a flow. If this was one whole story, like most books are, I probably would have enjoyed it more, but since it was scattered and all the chapters were different I just got lost and confused. I would not recommend this book to anyone unless I think they might like a book like this or have that sense of humor that Sedaris has. 

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    I actually hurt myself laughing at this book

    I laughed till I cried at his earlier books, but--I swear I'm not making this up--I laughed so hard I almost threw up when I was reading Me Talk Pretty One Day. I was home alone and couldn't wait for my husband to come home so I could read parts of it to him.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    Laughing Out Loud!!!

    Sedaris lands a firm whack to the funny bone! The next thing you know you're laughing out loud....and explaining yourself to people who've noticed.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    You Too Will Like The Sandwich

    Mr. Sedaris is a genuine wit. He can combine fast pace narrative style with his own brand of keen insight.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2000

    a real slayer

    it just keeps on giving. you will find yourself chuckling in the shower, and insisting that people allow you to read passages aloud to them. ruins you for other reading even days after you are done with it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    Fun! Fun! Fun! And More!

    While perusing the shelves in a neighborhood independent bookstore one evening, this book caught my eye -- the idea of nonfiction essays and the France connection -- and Sedaris' name was familiar from NPR. I picked it up and thoroughly enjoyed the wacky and honest insights page by page by page. It was a smooth enjoyable read from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Fantastic

    Just shut up, stop looking at the reviews and read the darn book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    David Sedaris captures his sister brilliantly in this book: ¿Amy

    David Sedaris captures his sister brilliantly in this book: “Amy adored both the new look and the new person it allowed her to be. Following the photo shoot, she wore her bruises to the dry cleaner and the grocery store. Most people nervously looked away, but on the rare occasions someone would ask what happened, my sister would smile as brightly as possible, saying, 'I'm in love. Can you believe it? I'm finally, totally in love, and I feel great.” A fabulous read, though I think his sister is funnier than he is. What a great family to have two such brilliant artists.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Chanell

    This books that David wrote are very amusing and enthusiastic. My 13 year old daughter is now inspired by him to be author

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    he DOES talk pretty!

    Ahhhhh David Sedaris... How is it that a gay man from North Carolina can so vividly paint a portrait of my own straight, female and extraordinarily midwestern childhood... I believe David Sedaris could convince me of the heretofore unheralded beauty of yard art. He's so astoundingly precise with language and persuasion, he could easily convince me to fill a bathtub full of dirt and plant plastic daisies and pink flamingos in it! READ THIS BOOK...laugh out loud...sigh a sweet, long-winded sigh, and revel in this man's vision of the world...truly an island unto itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    My favorite author after reading this book! Loved it.

    My favorite author after reading this book! Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Funny, brilliant

    David Sedaris never disappoints. This book is everything you'd expect from his writing: laugh-out-loud hilarious, uncomfortable, unexpected, poignant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Maybe its just not the one

    Sometimes you cant even understand books but its possible to if you just put your self in hi shoes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Author David Sedaris of "Me Talk Pretty One Day" write

    Author David Sedaris of "Me Talk Pretty One Day" writes a wickedly weird and intoxicating book. This book is based on the life David has lead and the many unbelievable stories he has to share. Sedaris opens up about his life as a homosexual and and a recovering drug abuser. If you think you have heard just about anything, think again because Sedaris' humor is unlike any other and he uses his life experiences to produce humor. The book begins discussing David's childhood and when he realized that he was a homosexual. Throughout the book it progresses from his childhood to his adult life. Most of his adult life speaks of his drug use and the time he had spent in Paris, France with his boyfriend Hugh. In all honesty I would 100% recommend this book to anyone who enjoys laughter mixed with a little bit of weird. This book kept me reading and reading. It was truly hard for me to put the book down. So my advise to you is to go out and read Sedaris' book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great read

    Funny.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Perfect for people w/ quirky & black senses of humor!

    This book is hysterical and I enjoyed every minute of my reading it! I laughed out loud a lot while reading this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Laugh your socks off!

    This book will make you wet yourself laughing. I hope you don't dislodge a lung reading this. Too dam funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Fabulous!

    Having lived as a misplaced Midwesterner in NC, I couldn't help but love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Engagingly dysfunctional

    Wiling away at lesser comedic commentary can be drabbling and stagnant. This read is a must for anyone seeking commencement and peace in their eternal struggle to solidate their personal endevors and defeats. Not a novel worth guidelining, definately a novel worth engaging in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Favorite part...

    Was the tiolet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Personal fave

    Very funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15