Customer Reviews for

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very Humorous! Laugh Out Loud Funny!

Don't start this book with any expectations and you'll thoroughly enjoy it. The language is vulgar, but not too terribly distracting, since you're reading from first person perspective. I found myself laughing out loud when reading this book. I was reading quotes and pa...
Don't start this book with any expectations and you'll thoroughly enjoy it. The language is vulgar, but not too terribly distracting, since you're reading from first person perspective. I found myself laughing out loud when reading this book. I was reading quotes and passages to anyone who would listen. Although this book has a character that has Leukemia, this is not the main story line. It's more a story about a boy's journey in discovering himself during his senior year. I did tear up at the end, but I cry watching Hallmark commercials. I enjoyed Greg's character, and yes you wanted to smack him around a couple of times, but guess what...that's what helped build his character's story. Was it profound? No. Was is didactic? No. What is WAS...was wonderful! Could this book have been better? Sure...but I think I like the fact that it wasn't very heavy-handed. Take a chance and read this book. As a mom, I wouldn't let my young teen kids read this, but definitely I would let my older teens read it.

posted by ReadMe11 on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Review from MajiBookshelf Blog

I was really excited to start Me & Early & The Dying Girl, as I heard great reviews for it. The synopsis was very intriguing as well, and I honestly just love sad endings. As I started reading the book, it was apparent that the book was going to be a funny one. I liked ...
I was really excited to start Me & Early & The Dying Girl, as I heard great reviews for it. The synopsis was very intriguing as well, and I honestly just love sad endings. As I started reading the book, it was apparent that the book was going to be a funny one. I liked Jesse's writing style, he made the characters sound so real. Greg, the main protagonist, was really funny at first. His points of view, and how he sees things was just very different than any other character I read about.
After reading more, I got a bit annoyed. The amount of swear words in the book was uncountable. I really don't mind if it was once or twice, but it was up to five times in every single page. I mean, come on, use some decent words. His friend Earl was really annoying as well. His thoughts and the way he thought about things was just disgusting to me.
Rachel was probably the only normal character in the book. She wasn't naggy or annoying either. She got Leukemia, and was fine with it. I honestly didn't cry in this book, even though I do know some people actually did. I just felt like the whole story was too laid back and random to be taken seriously. I guess some people would actually enjoy this book, but it just wasn't all that for me.

posted by majibookshelf on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Humorous! Laugh Out Loud Funny!

    Don't start this book with any expectations and you'll thoroughly enjoy it. The language is vulgar, but not too terribly distracting, since you're reading from first person perspective. I found myself laughing out loud when reading this book. I was reading quotes and passages to anyone who would listen. Although this book has a character that has Leukemia, this is not the main story line. It's more a story about a boy's journey in discovering himself during his senior year. I did tear up at the end, but I cry watching Hallmark commercials. I enjoyed Greg's character, and yes you wanted to smack him around a couple of times, but guess what...that's what helped build his character's story. Was it profound? No. Was is didactic? No. What is WAS...was wonderful! Could this book have been better? Sure...but I think I like the fact that it wasn't very heavy-handed. Take a chance and read this book. As a mom, I wouldn't let my young teen kids read this, but definitely I would let my older teens read it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from MajiBookshelf Blog

    I was really excited to start Me & Early & The Dying Girl, as I heard great reviews for it. The synopsis was very intriguing as well, and I honestly just love sad endings. As I started reading the book, it was apparent that the book was going to be a funny one. I liked Jesse's writing style, he made the characters sound so real. Greg, the main protagonist, was really funny at first. His points of view, and how he sees things was just very different than any other character I read about.
    After reading more, I got a bit annoyed. The amount of swear words in the book was uncountable. I really don't mind if it was once or twice, but it was up to five times in every single page. I mean, come on, use some decent words. His friend Earl was really annoying as well. His thoughts and the way he thought about things was just disgusting to me.
    Rachel was probably the only normal character in the book. She wasn't naggy or annoying either. She got Leukemia, and was fine with it. I honestly didn't cry in this book, even though I do know some people actually did. I just felt like the whole story was too laid back and random to be taken seriously. I guess some people would actually enjoy this book, but it just wasn't all that for me.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    R

    Curses more than Ron Weasly but an awesome book!!!!!! XD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Be very careful who you suggest this book to. It is filled with

    Be very careful who you suggest this book to. It is filled with the F word and potty talk and gross comments about female body parts - you name it. Definitely geared for the junior high crowd, but so crass I sure wouldn't put it in their hands. Yes, it was laugh out loud funny - but only if you like toilet humor. The characters were so real I thought I was listening to conversations in the hall of my high school. But very very crude language. Makes me sad for young adult literature.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    For the most part this book was quite interesting and comical bu

    For the most part this book was quite interesting and comical but as I neared the end of the story I quickly realized the book's lack of substance. The story started off with a slow start and carried on with a weak plot line where nothing really happens.I finnished what I thought was going to be an ok book feeling unchanged after reading it. Jesse Andrews created some interesting and unique characters but failed to do much with them. Rachel (the dying girl ) was practically the reason for the story yet she barley had a personality or impact on the other characters. Had the potential to be a great story but failed to incorporate character growth and good material

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    A very quick read. I am usually not the type to read a book in o

    A very quick read. I am usually not the type to read a book in one sitting but I finished this one in a matter of hours. After finishing it, I felt nothing. No affinity to the characters or the book itself. I appreciate the honesty of the main character but that's about it. There was no moral to the story, no emotions I felt, and not a strong plot. 
     I'm not saying they had to fall in love and have an epic romance but the ending seemed unfinished and nothing was resolved.  Was not a huge fan. Slightly humorous at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    I've recommended this book to all my friends who love John Green

    I've recommended this book to all my friends who love John Green (Which is alot!). An amazing book in the "cancer genre." 
    If you love TFIOS, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    It seemed like most books I read this summer had someone dying.

    It seemed like most books I read this summer had someone dying. This is the funniest one. No a lot to not like about Jesse Andrews' writing. He knows when to keep it light, and when to take it serious. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    a must read

    a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    This is a GREAT book!

    Definetly read it! I would not recomend it for >13 because on 1 page the f word was said almost 20 times. I was reading this in class and laughing almost every page. Its a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I did like this book

    I did like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    One of the worst books I ever read. There wasn't really even a p

    One of the worst books I ever read. There wasn't really even a plot. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Wonderful and captivating!

    A beautiful adventure of love, acceptance, and how far you have to go to realize the true meaning of peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    HILARIOUS!

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I don't read a lot of comedy books. I mean, some of the novels

    I don't read a lot of comedy books. I mean, some of the novels that I've read have been funny, but comedy has not been their primary objective. I wasn't really quite sure of what to expect when I started. To my surprise Me and Earl and the Dying Girl was quite funny while still a bit sad at the same time.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.Comedy:
    I have to say that some of the comedy in this book is a tad innappropriate. When I read jokes like that, I was worried that the whole book would only be funny because of those kind of jokes. I found, though, that there were other kinds of humour. The main character, Greg, was particularly funny. His dialogue added to the whole thing and made the situations seem crazier and the people just hilarious. I did find myself laughing outloud at some of the jokes that were made as I was reading it. I think that there's different kinds of humour for everyone.

    2.Characters:

    The main characters in this book are really fleshed out. A couple pages are dedicated to most of the main characters when they first appear, and again, Greg's commentaries are really funny. Each characters has a reason for acting the way they do. We get to know their little quirks and flaws, and we know their past. You can definetly tell how the past affected each one to make them into the person they were. I was really impressed how a comedic book was able to make such fairly complex characters.

    This book was actually a lot better than I was anticipating. The dialogue was funny, the situations were funny, the whole book was funny! While I will admit that some parts of the book just seemed kind of unnecessary, it was pretty good overall. I definitely reccomend this to anyone who really likes comedy books, or is just looking for something a bit different.

    ARC received from Manda Group for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Hysterical

    OK, well being a kid everything is funny to me. I just started the book and read the authors note and he spoke about stupid one line description and with the following paragraph started with Barf! (meaning that he hated that crap) I recommend this book to everybody. Timeto read something different than Fifty Shades of Grey!!!!! LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I thought this book was going to be a heart-warming tear-jerker.

    I thought this book was going to be a heart-warming tear-jerker. I was wrong. Let me start by saying, if you don't want to read a book full of cursing and crude sexual references, then this isn't the book for you.


    Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a hilarious book about an awkward teenage boy named Greg and the things he deals with in his life, including disease and death. He is the boy at school who is friends with everyone - he has the whole "school hierarchy system" worked out. First day back to school of his senior year, his mum tells him that his ex-girlfriend Rachel, from Hebrew school, has got a rare form of leukemia - and he has to be friends with her. This starts an awkward friendship between the two.


    This book isn't really about death. It isn't overly about Greg dealing with death. It doesn't really have a plot line - which is a refreshing change. Although, Greg's wisecracks and self-deprecation did get slightly tiresome, the way it's written, with bullet points and film script conversations makes for a fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2