Customer Reviews for

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very Humorous! Laugh Out Loud Funny!

Don't start this book with any expectations and you'll thoroughly enjoy it. The language is vulgar, but not too terribly distracting, since you're reading from first person perspective. I found myself laughing out loud when reading this book. I was reading quotes and pa...
Don't start this book with any expectations and you'll thoroughly enjoy it. The language is vulgar, but not too terribly distracting, since you're reading from first person perspective. I found myself laughing out loud when reading this book. I was reading quotes and passages to anyone who would listen. Although this book has a character that has Leukemia, this is not the main story line. It's more a story about a boy's journey in discovering himself during his senior year. I did tear up at the end, but I cry watching Hallmark commercials. I enjoyed Greg's character, and yes you wanted to smack him around a couple of times, but guess what...that's what helped build his character's story. Was it profound? No. Was is didactic? No. What is WAS...was wonderful! Could this book have been better? Sure...but I think I like the fact that it wasn't very heavy-handed. Take a chance and read this book. As a mom, I wouldn't let my young teen kids read this, but definitely I would let my older teens read it.

posted by ReadMe11 on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Review from MajiBookshelf Blog

I was really excited to start Me & Early & The Dying Girl, as I heard great reviews for it. The synopsis was very intriguing as well, and I honestly just love sad endings. As I started reading the book, it was apparent that the book was going to be a funny one. I liked ...
I was really excited to start Me & Early & The Dying Girl, as I heard great reviews for it. The synopsis was very intriguing as well, and I honestly just love sad endings. As I started reading the book, it was apparent that the book was going to be a funny one. I liked Jesse's writing style, he made the characters sound so real. Greg, the main protagonist, was really funny at first. His points of view, and how he sees things was just very different than any other character I read about.
After reading more, I got a bit annoyed. The amount of swear words in the book was uncountable. I really don't mind if it was once or twice, but it was up to five times in every single page. I mean, come on, use some decent words. His friend Earl was really annoying as well. His thoughts and the way he thought about things was just disgusting to me.
Rachel was probably the only normal character in the book. She wasn't naggy or annoying either. She got Leukemia, and was fine with it. I honestly didn't cry in this book, even though I do know some people actually did. I just felt like the whole story was too laid back and random to be taken seriously. I guess some people would actually enjoy this book, but it just wasn't all that for me.

posted by majibookshelf on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Humorous! Laugh Out Loud Funny!

    Don't start this book with any expectations and you'll thoroughly enjoy it. The language is vulgar, but not too terribly distracting, since you're reading from first person perspective. I found myself laughing out loud when reading this book. I was reading quotes and passages to anyone who would listen. Although this book has a character that has Leukemia, this is not the main story line. It's more a story about a boy's journey in discovering himself during his senior year. I did tear up at the end, but I cry watching Hallmark commercials. I enjoyed Greg's character, and yes you wanted to smack him around a couple of times, but guess what...that's what helped build his character's story. Was it profound? No. Was is didactic? No. What is WAS...was wonderful! Could this book have been better? Sure...but I think I like the fact that it wasn't very heavy-handed. Take a chance and read this book. As a mom, I wouldn't let my young teen kids read this, but definitely I would let my older teens read it.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2015

    As a high school English/Creative Writing teacher, I read many y

    As a high school English/Creative Writing teacher, I read many young adult books that my students have suggested or even simply mentioned in class. It just so happens this is one title my students had yet to mention.
    Upon the recommendation of the bookseller at BN, I decided to purchase it in the hopes that I would be able to share it with my students.
    Unfortunately, while the premise of the novel is amusing and the characters are mostly likeable, I found some of the content to be more adult in nature than I would feel comfortable with in regard to my students. Granted, they've all probably read, said,seen, etc., words or phrases like this before but I feel recommending this book as their English teacher would be rather inappropriate. Having said that, it was quite an entertaining read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from MajiBookshelf Blog

    I was really excited to start Me & Early & The Dying Girl, as I heard great reviews for it. The synopsis was very intriguing as well, and I honestly just love sad endings. As I started reading the book, it was apparent that the book was going to be a funny one. I liked Jesse's writing style, he made the characters sound so real. Greg, the main protagonist, was really funny at first. His points of view, and how he sees things was just very different than any other character I read about.
    After reading more, I got a bit annoyed. The amount of swear words in the book was uncountable. I really don't mind if it was once or twice, but it was up to five times in every single page. I mean, come on, use some decent words. His friend Earl was really annoying as well. His thoughts and the way he thought about things was just disgusting to me.
    Rachel was probably the only normal character in the book. She wasn't naggy or annoying either. She got Leukemia, and was fine with it. I honestly didn't cry in this book, even though I do know some people actually did. I just felt like the whole story was too laid back and random to be taken seriously. I guess some people would actually enjoy this book, but it just wasn't all that for me.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2015

    Light hearted and hilarious

    Light hearted and hilarious

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    jdjrihroinr98q98wry9vtvru34u

    jdjrihroinr98q98wry9vtvru34u

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    R

    Curses more than Ron Weasly but an awesome book!!!!!! XD

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Be very careful who you suggest this book to. It is filled with

    Be very careful who you suggest this book to. It is filled with the F word and potty talk and gross comments about female body parts - you name it. Definitely geared for the junior high crowd, but so crass I sure wouldn't put it in their hands. Yes, it was laugh out loud funny - but only if you like toilet humor. The characters were so real I thought I was listening to conversations in the hall of my high school. But very very crude language. Makes me sad for young adult literature.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2015

    With no expectations of this book, I picked it up at Powell's a

    With no expectations of this book, I picked it up at Powell's a few weeks ago and was blown away. This book is incredibly hilarious and moving. Greg Gaines is a character that has almost every thought imaginable and never ceases to surprise me. The way Jesse Andrews tells this tale is exceptional. The movie script formatting to the book gives it an extra flair and sets it apart from other novels of this caliber. I highly recommend this book and am beyond excited for the movie this summer. If you haven't read this, you need to. It is simply beautiful. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2015

    i like the viedo  it was gud and touchin'

    i like the viedo
     it was gud and touchin'

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2015

    In the beginning of the book theres a character name greg and he

    In the beginning of the book theres a character name greg and he has 1 friend. The main characters are Greg Gaines, Earl Jackson, Rachel. Greg is shy and only has 1 best friend and that is earl. they were friends since childhood. earl is smart but he smokes a lot. Rachel is smart and nerdy but she has Leukemia. the main conflict is when Rachel gets cancer.  Greg and Rachel become friends and they start hanging everywhere and people get to think the wrong idea.            
      I liked the plot and the characters and it was easy and funny cause it had a lot of teenage things.   one example is when Greg and Rachel's friends start laughing because Greg made fun of somebody.  another example is when Greg is at Rachel's house and he starts talking doing a pillow. the final example is when greg and earl are hanging out and earl starts to smoke.  the only thing i dont like is he uses the same words over an over.  i would recommend this book  for teenagers and older because he talks about sex, drugs, and bad language  but its funny and easy to read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    For the most part this book was quite interesting and comical bu

    For the most part this book was quite interesting and comical but as I neared the end of the story I quickly realized the book's lack of substance. The story started off with a slow start and carried on with a weak plot line where nothing really happens.I finnished what I thought was going to be an ok book feeling unchanged after reading it. Jesse Andrews created some interesting and unique characters but failed to do much with them. Rachel (the dying girl ) was practically the reason for the story yet she barley had a personality or impact on the other characters. Had the potential to be a great story but failed to incorporate character growth and good material

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    A very quick read. I am usually not the type to read a book in o

    A very quick read. I am usually not the type to read a book in one sitting but I finished this one in a matter of hours. After finishing it, I felt nothing. No affinity to the characters or the book itself. I appreciate the honesty of the main character but that's about it. There was no moral to the story, no emotions I felt, and not a strong plot. 
     I'm not saying they had to fall in love and have an epic romance but the ending seemed unfinished and nothing was resolved.  Was not a huge fan. Slightly humorous at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    I've recommended this book to all my friends who love John Green

    I've recommended this book to all my friends who love John Green (Which is alot!). An amazing book in the "cancer genre." 
    If you love TFIOS, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    It seemed like most books I read this summer had someone dying.

    It seemed like most books I read this summer had someone dying. This is the funniest one. No a lot to not like about Jesse Andrews' writing. He knows when to keep it light, and when to take it serious. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    a must read

    a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    This is a GREAT book!

    Definetly read it! I would not recomend it for >13 because on 1 page the f word was said almost 20 times. I was reading this in class and laughing almost every page. Its a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I did like this book

    I did like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    One of the worst books I ever read. There wasn't really even a p

    One of the worst books I ever read. There wasn't really even a plot. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Wonderful and captivating!

    A beautiful adventure of love, acceptance, and how far you have to go to realize the true meaning of peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    HILARIOUS!

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2