Customer Reviews for

Me of Little Faith

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    You can hear him shouting in print. You really can.

    I am a fan of Lewis Black, so I expected to like this book, and I do. But if you aren't a fan of Lewis Black, if you are very religious, and/or if you are easily offended, don't buy the book because you probably won't like it. I would say that the level of writing was not consistent (in that some parts were really funny, some not so funny), but overall I thought it was an enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    A Little More Tame than His Last Book

    I found this book to be a lot more calm than Lewis' last book which at times I could almost hear him going through his hilarious rants. This book doesn't seem to have those rants and at times seems to be actually philosophic. I like Lewis' description of how he is always a Jewish person underneath regardless of what his religious beliefs become. Lewis also has a lot of interesting takes on other religions and a few chapters on people he doesn't like (ex. the current president) talking to G-d. The one thing I could have done without and the reason I didn't give the book a full five stars is the play that he includes in the back of the book. It was like he said 'I have this thing lying around and I'll just throw it into the end of this book.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    WOW...another hit book from comedian Lewis Black. If you love his comedy you will love this book. Although the book does get harsh from time to time the book is very entertaining.Black spares no one in this rants regarding almost every religion on the planet. Even Black states in the preface that if you're REALLY religious..STAY AWAY from this book. A MUST OWN for all lewis black fans

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    The genius of a demented man!

    Lewis Black is definitely demented- in a genius like way. His intelligent ascerbic look at the world's religions is hilariously spot-on! His view is stated, emphatically, as his own- but a view shared by many I believe. It is not easy to make people laugh about religious suicide bombers or Charismatic prophets, but Black manages to do both with ease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Thank you, Lewis!

    I blew thru this book in about three days, laughing almost all the way thru it. I also realized that religion is at the core of why the Lewis Black we know and love is who he is. His extremely intelligent and darkly hilarious take on the sham that is organized religion spares no one. I also never knew that Lewis had the life experiences that he did before breaking into comedy. The Library of COngress data in the front of the book calls the category 'religious biography', and I never thought I would read anything filed under that. It's spectacular. Well done, except for the horrid play at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lewis Black couldn't explain the differences between Christmas a

    Lewis Black couldn't explain the differences between Christmas and Hanukkah any better than this!

    Lewis Black's explanations of why Christmas is so great compared to Hanukkah and why Christians are so obsessed with the holiday are simply brilliantly discussed here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    funny and thought provoking

    Lewis Black will get you thinking. He's funny, but more than that, he'll get you re-thinking many of the things you thought you believe in. This book won't shake your deep-seated beliefs, but it will make you think harder about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    'Me of Little Faith"

    A funny book, if you don't take religion too seriously. Just love his sense of humor. A real good chuckle, sometimes a laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Fun But Forgettable

    Anecdotal and amusing, but not outstanding in any way. I do like that more books are outing organized religion for the fallacy that it is -- and doing so in a humorous, if condescending, way makes the jagged little pill easier to swallow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Funnier than he is in person!

    My daughter aspires to do stand-up comedy. She has a couple of Lewis Black CDs and has let me read her copy of this book. We laughed so hard that we cried, when we read it! I saw L.B. in Las Vegas on my 50th birthday. His performance was a let-down. Get the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    A Fun summer read!

    No one does Lewis Black like Lewis Black! Very funny and entertaining - a must read for George Carlin fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Ok Read

    Bit boring at times with too much ranting. His Nothings Sacred book was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    Me of Little Faith

    I think Lewis Black has had an interesting life. I am I guess agnostic so I took his take on religion as comic. He does a good job of explaining how personal religion is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    Love L.B., but wish this was better

    I read, loved, and laughed hard with his first book. This book does have a couple of laughs here and there but for the most part does not touch your funny bone at all. I'm a big fan of L.B. and will read any other book he puts out. Maybe I expected it to be funnier that it was intended, if so that's my fault. There was nothing in this book that offended me either. I enjoyed some of his stories, just wish it was funnier, that's all. If you want to find out for yourself, just wait for the softcover before you buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3