Customer Reviews for

The Meaning of Night: A Confession

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The Meaning of Night offers readers an in depth personal view on a wide range of characters possessing strong unique personalities. Michael Cox delivers the full spectrum of human emotion, as well as the extreme moral dilemmas that one can face when living as a charact...
The Meaning of Night offers readers an in depth personal view on a wide range of characters possessing strong unique personalities. Michael Cox delivers the full spectrum of human emotion, as well as the extreme moral dilemmas that one can face when living as a character betrayed by a fate beyond his control. I can promise you will be hooked from the start and come away with an increased knowledge of the most intense character traits that we all can have the potential of acquiring.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Too Boring to Finish

I keep trying to pick it back up and read it but I just can't.

posted by Midella_Langford on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Meaning of Night offers readers an in depth personal view on a wide range of characters possessing strong unique personalities. Michael Cox delivers the full spectrum of human emotion, as well as the extreme moral dilemmas that one can face when living as a character betrayed by a fate beyond his control. I can promise you will be hooked from the start and come away with an increased knowledge of the most intense character traits that we all can have the potential of acquiring.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Read

    I loved this book!!! It's rare to find a book that does it all. It was extremely satisfying as a thriller, as literature, as a historical novel, and as a dark comedy. It dumbfounds me when others say it was too long. When a book is great, why would you ever want it to end?

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel

    Michael Cox is, in my opinion, a terrific story teller, I could not put the book down. My only disappointment was that it had to end, I wanted more.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Triumph and Tragedy

    Edward Glyver is the definition of a tragic hero--smart, cunning, attractive, passionate, vengeful, secret. He is the man with a past shrouded in darkness darker than night itself; his quest to uncover Pilate's question is one that not only transports us into Victorian England but puts on a moral play for all sinners and saints to contemplate. With a colorful cast of characters that, by the end of the book, you will feel as if they were old friends or enemies The Meaning of Night charms us and captivates us. It strings us along vital piece to vital piece always wanting more until the book finalizes itself in a awe-inspiring, page turning climax of deceit, downfall, and danger. This is a must read for any lover of thrill, mystery, murder, or good literature--this is sure to become a classic!
    Michael Cox does a brilliant job of sewing fact and fiction, history and fantasy, truth and light into his freshman novel--The Meaning of Night. It will leave you with the question, Pilate's Question. Make sure you read every inch of text on the book, they can only give you a more vivid image or greater insight into the world of our hero(?) and they only provide a more mysterious and mystical sense to the book that is sure to please. A definite favourite!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent story with descriptive details

    Michael Cox has written a brilliant novel. Very descriptive, a vast array of emotions thoroughly displayed, and a plot that is very captivating (as well as believable). He captures the settings of each location immaculately, and personifies each character with splendid realism. Although this is written as fiction, it would not strike me odd were it to be true. <BR/><BR/>My only criticisms are: there are few "true" surprises throughout the story and there are two or three chapters that I was unengaged in. However, neither of these critiques are strong enough to lower the book's rating to four stars. It truly is a wonderfully written novel, and I am eager to read the sequel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!

    This book had it all!! Deceit, betrayal, hearts broken and love too. If your looking for a big juicy book that has everything then THE MEANING OF NIGHT is it!!! i couldn't put it down. A victorian mystery that's laced with fiction and facts. Curl up for the night and indulge, be prepared to be transported back in time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a high five for this victorian thriller

    'After killing the red-haired man, I took myself off to Quinn's for an oyster supper.' Who could stop reading after such an opening sentence? Cox's monumental novel is subtitled 'A Confession,' could it be that is taken care of on page 1? Not quite. 'The Meaning Of Night' is a labyrinthian journey through mid 19th century England, from the dank brothel lined streets of London to the elegance of Evenwood, a luxurious country home. The story is told ala Dickens, rich with Victorian language and copious footnotes. Our narrator is Edward Glyver who well remembers that the first word he ever heard used to describe him was 'resourceful.' He is that and more. As a youngster he was the victim of a plot executed by Phoebus Rainsford Daunt, a fellow schoolboy. Edward was dismissed and sent home. However, we're reminded that 'revenge has a long memory ' in this case, some two decades. As the tale evolves, both Edward and Phoebus are rivals again. Following the death of Edward's mother he has reason to believe that his parentage is not what he thought it to be. Lord Tansor, master of Evenwood, is childless and has yet to choose an heir. Could that heir be Edward? This is a prize that Phoebus also pursues - not with honor we might add as he's both poet and shyster. Lord Tansor's cousin, the mysterious and beautiful Emily Carteret, is also a prize that both men would win. 'The Meaning of Night' is a weighty read (700 pages) and a virtuoso accomplishment by the author. Those who appreciate Victorian thrillers will find pleasure in every sentence. Highly recommended. - Gail Cooke

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Long but great book.

    After reading the first page, I found it impossible not to buy the book. At certain points, the building was a bit slow but I tend to enjoy that elaborate detail. I wouldn't so much suggest this book for the light reader, but definitely for those who have an interest in this type of literature.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I ever read!

    I just finished reading it; this was one of the best books I have ever read. Complex characters, great story line, unpredicatable, I could not put it down. I was dissapointed however to find out that this is the only book the author has ever written. Would definitely like to read more of his work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Enjoyable read, looking forward to reading sequel

    Could have possibly been shorter, but was a good story. I had trouble putting it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Completely Engrossing

    I chanced upon this book and I highly recommend this to all readers. It is so fascinating and I was sorry when I came to complete this thoroughly compelling read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Perfect!

    Kudos to Michael Cox! A master of his craft. I am only halfway through the book and I'm captivated and intrigued. The style of writing is impeccable. I can't wait to find out what happens at the end, although I'm in no hurry because the book is that good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    What a book!

    If you have read this, I would also suggest listening to the audio book. It is absolutely captivating! I even had to sit in my car a couple of times to see how things would turn out. If Mr. Cox has a sequel to this I really can't wait.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A real page turner

    In 1854 London, Edward Glyver knows he needs to train before he conducts his assassination of Phoebus Daunt, the man who destroyed his life starting with the humiliation of being ejected from school to where he is at now, as a loser in a law factotum. To insure success, Edward kills the red-haired stranger before dining on oyster and pondering how easy the homicide was.----------------- However, his moment of euphoria turns ugly when he thinks of what Daunt has done to him and that he recently learned of his rightful inheritance stolen from him. He feels strongly that once Daunt is dead, he will gain all that he deserves starting with his inheritance, societal accolades and the lovely Emily Carteret. Yet somehow someone has seen his rehearsal. E.G. knows he must dispose of this insidious individual trying to take the little he owns and slowing down his quest to murder his real adversary.--------------------- This is a fascinating ¿confession¿ told for the most part by the seemingly deranged E.G. The story line grips the audience from the onset when the lead character nonchalantly confesses that he has just killed a man for purposes of practice so that the reader senses of how insane E.G. really isis. The story line never falters until the anticipated confrontation that will turn readers into fans of Michael Cox. Readers who want something different in their historical thrillers will need to read Mr. Cox¿s eerie ¿biographical¿ Victorian first hand account of a maniac on the loose in London.----------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Absolutely wonderful.....

    I could not put this book down. I went to the beach on vacation and opened the book and sat there for two days reading it. The story was great, the deceit done to Mr. Glyver was awful, I wanted to get into the book and take care of Mr. Daunt myself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    great great read

    This is an absolutley fantastic book. I can't wait for the sequel. Great character development.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Loved Listening to this Book

    I listened to this book on CD and it was phenominal. It transported me back to the Victorian time along with the narrator and I anxiously lived his tale along with him. Well-written and worth the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Great read!

    Nicely written, great character development and love the old feel that it gives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Fantastic read

    What an entertaing read. Outstanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very cool

    Reading about the devotion of the factory worker!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4