Customer Reviews for

Meant to Be

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great stay up all night read

Meant to Be by Tiffany King

Krista Miller has a hard time controlling her emotions. Sometimes they get so strong they make her sick. She's also had a hard time adapting to social situations. Her only comfort is her dream - a boy that visits her every night. This star...
Meant to Be by Tiffany King

Krista Miller has a hard time controlling her emotions. Sometimes they get so strong they make her sick. She's also had a hard time adapting to social situations. Her only comfort is her dream - a boy that visits her every night. This started when she was a child and he has aged as she does.

Her emotions are tested when she moves to California and to a new private school. She thought private schools would be better, but she finds out kids are the same everywhere. Then she meets her dream boy.

She discovers some amazing things and a few amazing friends and literally has to fight for her life on several occasions but through it all her dream boy is there with her.

I met Tiffany on Twitter (@authortiffany) and we chat now and again. She expressed interest in my stories, which naturally made me inclined to read hers - especially since she is essentially writing an urban fantasy. I'm really glad I got this book for my Kindle. I read it in one sitting, staying up until about four in the morning to get it done. The story itself is extremely compelling, the characters are well written and developed and I constantly wanted to know what happened next. The mystery of what Krista and her new friends were was well developed and well presented, revealing enough to keep the reader satisfied as the story progressed, but not so much that you figured out what was coming.

Tiffany's writing style is engaging and fast paced. There were a few editorial issues but honestly, the last NYT #1 bestseller ebook I read had some typos too - it wasn't a major detriment.

I'm looking forward to more in this series.

posted by Firewolf on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I want to start off by saying I love Tiffany King, but this book

I want to start off by saying I love Tiffany King, but this book didn't do it for me. It started off strong with a great concept. Krista sees the same boy in her dreams every night. She’s in love with the boy in her dreams even though she’s never seen his face.

After s...
I want to start off by saying I love Tiffany King, but this book didn't do it for me. It started off strong with a great concept. Krista sees the same boy in her dreams every night. She’s in love with the boy in her dreams even though she’s never seen his face.

After she and her mom move to Santa Cruz (one of my favorite cities in California, by the way), those dreams change and become darker and leave her feeling empty.

It went off the rails, for me about midway through. It got to a point where I felt there was far more telling than showing and the scenes felt choppy and didn’t transition well. And even though it’s the first book in a series, I felt like there were too many loose ends. I'm okay with some, I get that, but I felt like it ended too abruptly.

I also didn't feel the connection between Krista and Mark the same way I did with her main characters in other books, particularly Unlikely Allies. Krista and Mark's relationship felt forced.

Plot:
The concept is really good and unique, but I don't know that it was executed as well as some of her other books. The book actually started off strong, but the middle sagged and the climax wandered.

Characters: 
I felt the characters were the weakest aspect of the book. I don't like Krista at all and I'm having a hard time understanding who Mark is. And Krista has just discovered Shawn is likely her brother, but she doesn't develop any kind of a real relationship with him, even though she's an only child. That didn't ring true to me. I liked Sam and Shawn though. They were far more interesting and maybe this would have been better told through their points of view.

Bottom Line: 
I'm not sure I'd recommend this one. I'm usually quick to recommend Tiffany King’s books, but I don't think this is one of them. That said, I will probably read the rest of the series. If this was one of Ms. King’s early works, then it’s likely the next books will be better. And it certainly won't stop me from reading her newest books.

posted by THHernandez on March 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    I want to start off by saying I love Tiffany King, but this book

    I want to start off by saying I love Tiffany King, but this book didn't do it for me. It started off strong with a great concept. Krista sees the same boy in her dreams every night. She’s in love with the boy in her dreams even though she’s never seen his face.

    After she and her mom move to Santa Cruz (one of my favorite cities in California, by the way), those dreams change and become darker and leave her feeling empty.

    It went off the rails, for me about midway through. It got to a point where I felt there was far more telling than showing and the scenes felt choppy and didn’t transition well. And even though it’s the first book in a series, I felt like there were too many loose ends. I'm okay with some, I get that, but I felt like it ended too abruptly.

    I also didn't feel the connection between Krista and Mark the same way I did with her main characters in other books, particularly Unlikely Allies. Krista and Mark's relationship felt forced.

    Plot:
    The concept is really good and unique, but I don't know that it was executed as well as some of her other books. The book actually started off strong, but the middle sagged and the climax wandered.

    Characters: 
    I felt the characters were the weakest aspect of the book. I don't like Krista at all and I'm having a hard time understanding who Mark is. And Krista has just discovered Shawn is likely her brother, but she doesn't develop any kind of a real relationship with him, even though she's an only child. That didn't ring true to me. I liked Sam and Shawn though. They were far more interesting and maybe this would have been better told through their points of view.

    Bottom Line: 
    I'm not sure I'd recommend this one. I'm usually quick to recommend Tiffany King’s books, but I don't think this is one of them. That said, I will probably read the rest of the series. If this was one of Ms. King’s early works, then it’s likely the next books will be better. And it certainly won't stop me from reading her newest books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book was ok. It had the potential to be really good. I'm tr

    This book was ok. It had the potential to be really good. I'm trying to decide if I will get the other two books and finish the series. I hate not knowing how something ends, but not sure the end will be worth my time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Very Surprising

    First of all, don't let star ratings fool you. There is a lot to love about this book. At first, I was afraid this was going to fall under what I refer to as "Twilight Syndrome." You know, imperfect girl meets perfect guy of her dreams who then exhibits bizarre almost stalkerish behavior that is passed off as "romantic." I'm clearly not a fan of that. This book turned out to be much more though. Once I had finished, I was left with the urge to start again from the beginning, as I was seeing everything in a new light. The plot was very interesting, and there were plenty of surprises until the end.

    That being said, there were a few technical issues. For some reason the formatting was kind of weird on my e-reader. There were be breaks in paragraphs in random places. It was especially bothersome when there were breaks in the dialogue. Sometimes I'd have to read it a few times to see who was speaking via context clues. I'm not sure what the issue was really. Also, there were some grammatical issues. This may not be a problem for some people, but it tends to pull me out of the narrative. That's more of a personal issue though.

    The pacing in the beginning felt a bit slow, but any shortcomings were made up for in the last 40 pages or so. It felt like that's where the story really became fully realized, and it was a fantastic ending. Not only did the story feel original, but it left me wanting more. I really was on the edge of my seat, and I would love to know what happens next.

    I would recommend this book for sure. It starts out as one thing, but turns into another book entirely by the end. The romance aspect that I felt was overdone in the beginning made perfect sense in the end. I will definitely look for the authors next book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    A very interesting story.  To feel the way Krista has her whole

    A very interesting story.  To feel the way Krista has her whole life is hard enough but trying to hide it makes it that much harder.  Love the way the “soulmate” aspect takes a twist.  Intrigue, love, action, and so much more will keep you turning the pages.  This book gets a recommendation from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Ok

    They don't even act like boyfriend and girlfriend, they don't kiss a lot. They don't really have any passion for each other

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Unique story, but had trouble connecting with the characters

    To be completely honest, I didn't connect well with the characters in this book. I wanted to, but I ended up just kind of feeling indifferent to them. Usually I have a lot to say about the characters, but I don't really in this case. Krista is sort of a loner due to her extreme and intense emotions; being close to other people means being subjected to their emotions as well. The only time she really seems happy is during her nightly dream of this guy that may or may not exist. She considers herself as somewhat of a freak, at least until she meets Sam. Sam and Krista turn out to have a lot in common, more than just their taste in movies or music. Where Krista is more serious, Sam is more bubbly and outgoing, so they kind of even each other out. Mark is like the ideal boyfriend; cute, smart, funny, and fiercely loyal and protective of the one he loves. We get a little bit of background on all of the characters, but not enough in my opinion to really connect and sympathize with them.
    I loved the story line, the idea of dreaming of a guy your whole life and then finally meeting him one day. A soul mate. There's just something really appealing about the idea of soul mates, it's just really romantic. As much as I felt kind of so-so about the majority of the book, the ending was pretty intense and I enjoyed it. The writing didn't flow well for me, I had trouble picking it up again after I put it down. I didn't feel drawn into the world the author created; it just wasn't described well enough for my taste. Some books are overly descriptive which is insanely annoying to me, but so to is being not descriptive enough about the characters and the world around them. Also, sometimes Krista would flash back to another time in her life and usually it was in the middle of a conversation; by the time the flashback had ended I totally forgot what in the world was happening present day. Mostly I'm just disappointed that I couldn't connect with the characters; that can make or break a book for me. The dialogue to me was a bit awkward and corny at times. It didn't affect the whole book, there were just times where it made me cringe a bit.
    I didn't love this book, it was just ok. I liked the overall storyline, but the middle of the book moved kind of slow and I wasn't able to connect with the characters as much as I wanted to. After the ending though, I'll definitely be reading the next installment in the series to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1