BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Meant to Be

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great stay up all night read

Meant to Be by Tiffany King

Krista Miller has a hard time controlling her emotions. Sometimes they get so strong they make her sick. She's also had a hard time adapting to social situations. Her only comfort is her dream - a boy that visits her every night. This star...
Meant to Be by Tiffany King

Krista Miller has a hard time controlling her emotions. Sometimes they get so strong they make her sick. She's also had a hard time adapting to social situations. Her only comfort is her dream - a boy that visits her every night. This started when she was a child and he has aged as she does.

Her emotions are tested when she moves to California and to a new private school. She thought private schools would be better, but she finds out kids are the same everywhere. Then she meets her dream boy.

She discovers some amazing things and a few amazing friends and literally has to fight for her life on several occasions but through it all her dream boy is there with her.

I met Tiffany on Twitter (@authortiffany) and we chat now and again. She expressed interest in my stories, which naturally made me inclined to read hers - especially since she is essentially writing an urban fantasy. I'm really glad I got this book for my Kindle. I read it in one sitting, staying up until about four in the morning to get it done. The story itself is extremely compelling, the characters are well written and developed and I constantly wanted to know what happened next. The mystery of what Krista and her new friends were was well developed and well presented, revealing enough to keep the reader satisfied as the story progressed, but not so much that you figured out what was coming.

Tiffany's writing style is engaging and fast paced. There were a few editorial issues but honestly, the last NYT #1 bestseller ebook I read had some typos too - it wasn't a major detriment.

I'm looking forward to more in this series.

posted by Firewolf on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Surprising

First of all, don't let star ratings fool you. There is a lot to love about this book. At first, I was afraid this was going to fall under what I refer to as "Twilight Syndrome." You know, imperfect girl meets perfect guy of her dreams who then exhibits bizarre almost s...
First of all, don't let star ratings fool you. There is a lot to love about this book. At first, I was afraid this was going to fall under what I refer to as "Twilight Syndrome." You know, imperfect girl meets perfect guy of her dreams who then exhibits bizarre almost stalkerish behavior that is passed off as "romantic." I'm clearly not a fan of that. This book turned out to be much more though. Once I had finished, I was left with the urge to start again from the beginning, as I was seeing everything in a new light. The plot was very interesting, and there were plenty of surprises until the end.

That being said, there were a few technical issues. For some reason the formatting was kind of weird on my e-reader. There were be breaks in paragraphs in random places. It was especially bothersome when there were breaks in the dialogue. Sometimes I'd have to read it a few times to see who was speaking via context clues. I'm not sure what the issue was really. Also, there were some grammatical issues. This may not be a problem for some people, but it tends to pull me out of the narrative. That's more of a personal issue though.

The pacing in the beginning felt a bit slow, but any shortcomings were made up for in the last 40 pages or so. It felt like that's where the story really became fully realized, and it was a fantastic ending. Not only did the story feel original, but it left me wanting more. I really was on the edge of my seat, and I would love to know what happens next.

I would recommend this book for sure. It starts out as one thing, but turns into another book entirely by the end. The romance aspect that I felt was overdone in the beginning made perfect sense in the end. I will definitely look for the authors next book

posted by l_manning on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Meant to Be has the most beautiful fantasy romance. I would love to meet the guy of my dreams lol. I love it when a book is full of heart-throbbing romance. Tiffany King's story garbed me at the beginning and didn't let me go. I wanted to keep on reading about Krista and Mark even after I read the last page. Mark and Krista are definitely soul mates. They are meant to be, and the strong, twisty story plot is amazing. Krista and Mark are trying to find each in hopes of finely being together, and if they're separated, their hearts are totally broken. That is true love to me-one heart, one mind, one body-you can't live without the other one because together they are a whole. Oh yeah, that's romance! Krista met Sam. It's Krista's first best friend relationship. Sam helps krista to understand her relationship with Mark. Sam also has a soul mate Shawn, and these two couples have a purpose for being drawn to each other . I enjoyed reading this book and. I'm glad Ms. King shared her story with me. I so admire indie authors because without them, I would not be able to read a lot of awesome books. Meant to be is another fantastic indie book. It definitely a must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    MEANT TO BE is meant to be read!

    The first word that comes to mind as I sit to write this is Spellbinding. MEANT TO BE by Tiffany King grabs you with its opening line and doesn't let go until the last page - and then it leaves you wanting more. It's one of those books I read in a day simply because I couldn't put it down (going to work was very hard since it couldn't come with me). The prose is beautiful.

    How many of us can meet our dream guy - the one who's there every night when we close our eyes? King does a superb job of weaving the mystery of the dream guy and Krista's connection to her new friends with the romantic notion that some dreams do come true - and some guys can walk out of our dreams and into our World History classrooms.

    I have to say 3/4 of the way through is the point of no return. The twist and betrayal that happened had me reeling until the end. I love the mystery, the mysticism the use of the idea of twins and the shock about one of the characters (as it relates to the betrayal). I can't wait for the next book to come out!

    Anyone who loves sweet romance and doesn't mind a little paranormal and mystery will LOVE this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Solid Debut

    Meant To Be by Tiffany King is one of those novels that will captivated you and leave you wanting more. I found myself laughing at one moment and crying at the next. When Krista and Mark felt anger, so did I. The way that the story flows makes it impossible for you not to become attached to what the characters are doing and feeling.

    I must say that Tiffany is one of my dearest friends and that I read her book without thinking of it as "my friends novel." I wanted to read it as any reader would and experience it in that same way. What I found was that I fell instantly in love with Meant To Be in a way that I hadn't expected.

    The mystery that was established from the very beginning kept me guessing up until the answer was revealed. The bonds between Krista, Mark, Sam, and Shawn made me think of my husband my own friends. Everything about Meant To Be was more than I had hoped that it would be. I even find myself a little sad that our time together is now over. (That's a not so subtle hint for you to write book 2 Tiff ASAP! LOL)

    Here is Meant To Be in Tiffany's own words:
    Krista Miller feels like she has lived her entire life in a glass box with her every emotion on display. She can't help feeling like a defect as her sensitivities have made her socially inept and without any real friends; the one exception being the boy that visits her each night in her dreams. Krista's emotions are put to the test when a move to California triggers a devastating change to her fantasy world. The nightly comfort that the boy provides has now become a recurring nightmare as he is taken from her by an unseen force. Struggling to appear normal, Krista enrolls in a new school and finds it to be nothing like she thought. Her new life is sent spiraling out of control from a strange connection with a boy, Mark, who claims to know all her secrets. As Krista begins to explore the emotions that Mark evokes in her, secrets from their past about their shared connection threatens to separate them just when they have found each other.

    What it all comes down to is that Meant To Be is a must read for any of you sappy romance lovers who also likes a tinge of mystery and adventure! I give it a solid A!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    A great stay up all night read

    Meant to Be by Tiffany King

    Krista Miller has a hard time controlling her emotions. Sometimes they get so strong they make her sick. She's also had a hard time adapting to social situations. Her only comfort is her dream - a boy that visits her every night. This started when she was a child and he has aged as she does.

    Her emotions are tested when she moves to California and to a new private school. She thought private schools would be better, but she finds out kids are the same everywhere. Then she meets her dream boy.

    She discovers some amazing things and a few amazing friends and literally has to fight for her life on several occasions but through it all her dream boy is there with her.

    I met Tiffany on Twitter (@authortiffany) and we chat now and again. She expressed interest in my stories, which naturally made me inclined to read hers - especially since she is essentially writing an urban fantasy. I'm really glad I got this book for my Kindle. I read it in one sitting, staying up until about four in the morning to get it done. The story itself is extremely compelling, the characters are well written and developed and I constantly wanted to know what happened next. The mystery of what Krista and her new friends were was well developed and well presented, revealing enough to keep the reader satisfied as the story progressed, but not so much that you figured out what was coming.

    Tiffany's writing style is engaging and fast paced. There were a few editorial issues but honestly, the last NYT #1 bestseller ebook I read had some typos too - it wasn't a major detriment.

    I'm looking forward to more in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Debut!

    Krista is not your average teenage girl. She is exceptionally intelligent and can feel the emotions of those around her. The ability to feel these emotions make everyday life very difficult for her. She is unable to even read a sad story with out the emotion consuming her for days at a time. At times these feelings are so intense they make her become extremely ill. On top of that every night for her whole life she has dreamt of the same boy, on the same beach. She feels so connected to him and has yet to see his face. She feels a strong pull to Santa Cruz and, after her father dies, her mother decides that they will move there to start over after losing him. Here she finally meets people she can relate to and be friends with. This is something that she has never had the capability of doing. Her life feels like it's making a turn for the better, especially when she finds out that these new friends seem to be able to relate to her more than she could have ever dreamed. These four friends will need each other more than they could ever have imagined. This is a fantastic debut novel. The story line was amazing and very original. The detail was superb. I was easily able to picture every scene that I was in. I have never read anything quite like it. It was an extremely quick and enjoyable read. I also love that she left it open for a sequel! Yay! I love sequels! I highly recommend that you pick this one up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This paranormal coming of age novel blew my mind.

    What if you had the same dream every night for as long as you can remember? And what if you suddenly ran into the boy from your dreams? Krista did just that. Plus friends at her new school seem to have a connection to the emotional sensitivity she has had her whole life. Together they try to unravel the mystery of who they really are.

    Wow. Just, wow. This paranormal coming of age novel by debut author Tiffany King blew my mind. King's natural grace and ease with YA prose will take her far. I felt immediately welcomed into the story and at home with the heroine's world. Her concerns and mysteries immediately became mine as I easily lost myself in the pages. Perfect for teen readers or adult lovers of YA or paranormal books. I enthusiastically await more from Tiffany King.

    Conclusion:
    If you get a change to read Meant to Be, I highly recommend picking it up. Take a chance on this debut indie author. Intriguing and full of energy, Meant to Be is a page-turner. You will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    A Fun and Surprising Book

    Meant to Be was a very fun to read book. I loved the characters and the way that they connected with each other. The surprise twist at the end kept me up at night, simply because I could not put it down until I found out what was happening. I highly recommend Meant to Be for anyone looking for a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    A thrilling ride you won't be able to put down!

    Beautifully written with characters that grab you from beginning to end. This is a must read for any age! By far one of the best books i've read in a long time! The heroine Krista is genuine and captivating and Mark the hero is the perfect counterpart for her. And as much as I like Twighlight I was immensely relieved that this was not another Bella and Edward knock off, if anything it is their equal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Loved it

    Great book grabs u from the first page. And the way Krista has too hide something from her kom not telling wat. Romance,action, and awsomeness. I realy recremend this book. :) .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Loved!!

    Very sweet,just enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Tiffany King is a brilliant author with amazing detail! I was ho

    Tiffany King is a brilliant author with amazing detail! I was hooked from the first paragraph to the first book of the Saving Angels series. Tiffany King's 'Meant To Be' is a story of celestial beings born as humans to be guides and protectors to save the forgotten souls of the world from being lost forever to evil. This is a story of a life of heartache, death, discovering friendships, finding lost family and not to mention, finding the man of her dreams. So, if you're looking for an exciting, adventurous and love filled book that will consume you, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great Ending-Great Paranormal Read

    Meant to Be was an interesting read. There is a soulmate thread to the romance that makes Meant to Be passionate story. Krista moves to Santa Cruz after her Mom decides they need a new start after the death of her adoptive Dad. One of the most interesting things is that Krista knows she was adopted after being abandoned at a rest stop at the age of 2. She also has and oversensitivity to others emotions and often gets sick from being overwhelmed. On the first day of class in her new private school, Krista meets a teaching intern who is literally the man of her dreams. Mark immediately recognizes her and tries to meet her but Krista is spooked until the following night where Mark reveals his face to her in the dream.
    Sam is Krista's first real friend and feels the energy from Krista. They are drawn together and find they suffer the same emotional turmoil. Sam has been dating Shawn who is like Mark and the four of them share so many similarities that they start investigating to find out the common thread. The couples share dreams that all take place on the beach outside of the Santa Cruz Boardwalk.
    Most of the first half of the book was about the couples finding each and their relationships and doubts. Many theories are posed about all the similarities and paranormal aspects of the quartet. The only thing that annoyed me a little was I felt the couples showed off PDA in juvenille ways sometimes but it is YA. The second half of the book was non-stop action. Just as Krista is finding out about her mother who was seriously injured in a hit and run accident, She and Mark are kidnapped from the hospital parking lot. They are taking to a lab facility and experimented on by some people who want to make Mark stronger and Krista weaker. The truth behind all the mysteries were shocking and totally unique. I was really glad I stuck with it because the ending makes the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Great Concept

    I devoured this novel in less than four hours. The first chapter was a little slow and confusing, but hang on, because the story picks up and runs away with your emotions by the end of chapter two. And then ending? *sigh*

    If you are looking for a great new author, with a new concept, I can't recommend this book enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    AMAZING Read! Read it NOW!

    This was a phenomenal novel! I am always extremely impressed when authors come up with a completely original idea and make it come alive on the page, and King is a superb writer that does just that. Krista and Mark are beautiful characters that I want to meet in person-I want them to be real; their caring personalities and wonderful abilities make me wish we could be friends. King has written their dispositions and life events so convincingly that I truly feel like I know them.

    This novel was a rollercoaster ride for me; the sensations I felt as I read were extremely real: anger, gratitude, sadness, anxiety. I felt it all and, on more than one occasion, I actually yelled at the characters, as if they could hear me... I could see it all in my mind's eye, and that, for me, is what really makes a book phenomenal. I felt like I became one with Krista, feeling her pain, her confusion, her anger, and it amazes me that I felt so strongly throughout the entire novel, especially as one of Krista's abilities is her strong sense of emotions-I really connected with her on that point as I read, which is a testament to King's sheer writing capabilities. I admit that some of the characters really upset me, such as Matt, and even Krista's mother, and on more than one occasion I wanted to punch them in the face (professional, I know). But, King has created these characters to evoke this exact emotion, and as King was able to induce these feeling in me, as the reader, I know that she is destined for great things as an author!

    The suspense in the novel kept me on edge as I read, and King creates some wonderfully romantic moments, as well as some nail biting moments in which my anxiety for the characters was overwhelming. I absolutely cannot wait for the sequel, which is actually set to come out soon (YES!). I am truly in love with this novel and highly suggest that everyone reads it, sooner rather than later. You will not be disappointed! Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1