Customer Reviews for

The Measure of a Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful, Funny, and full of thought provoking plot.

    In an attempt to review this book, I am a little bit at a loss for words. For those of you who know the other books that I read, recommend and love, I can tell you that the humor is something similar to that found in novels of my beloved favorite author Mary Connealy. The drama is amazing and the characters rip out your heart.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Easily, this novel is powerful, funny, and full of thought-provoking plot. Throughout the entire story, I felt like I was right there along with our protagonist. In so many of the situations, while she worked to finding a solution to a current dilemma, I would have just sat down and cried. Through these three hundred pages, author Deeanne Gist has really woven together a story that makes you think about what you do in your own walk with Christ and realize the bits and pieces that might need a little more tweaking and a bit more Bible Devotion.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>There are people who will not appreciate this book because it may make them uncomfortable. But it does it in a way that is really attempting to show what is the purpose behind our God breathed lives and I praise this book fully for what it is capable as accomplishing as a tool for good.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this book to young women and older women alike. Especially those entering the romantic scene. For younger girls however, I would not say to avoid the book, but to read it and be able to discuss it with a mother, sister, or older friend.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>The writing is incredible and will leaving you thirsting for more. At one point I had to put down the book while I was highly frustrated with a few particular characters and then I found myself irritated with my husband because of misplaced anger. A book that can lead on into my own life is obviously powerful enough to make me think.*grin*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    4 1/2 Stars!  I really enjoyed this book.  There were times I la

    4 1/2 Stars!  I really enjoyed this book.  There were times I laughed out loud at the banter between Johnnie and Rachel.  There is heartbreak among the trials and tribulations of living in San Fransisco in the mid 1800's but also dreams realized.  The character development is fantastic and I felt as if I knew them.  It is easy to imagine that these characters truly existed in this time and place in history.  An especially great read for anyone that loves historical fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    I have read five of this author's books and I am very pleased wi

    I have read five of this author's books and I am very pleased with her style: Lots of humor, lots of realistic romance (yes, we Christian woman who love God do actually have the same feelings and yearnings) and lots of accurate history. As far as I am concerned, that is a win...win...win.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful historical with lots of grit!

    I'm completely envious of the author's liberties in writing fiction. I loved her first book A Bride Most Begrudging , but in some ways I think I like this book even more. Not necessarily because it's more interesting. I think Bride takes first place in that regard. However, to me The Measure of a Lady stands out because of the underlying message. While Lady had some less than stellar moments, overall I found it quite enthralling. I enjoyed the subtle undertones (and sometimes not-so-subtle) of self-righteous thinking, and how the author made the scenarios quite exceptional and thought-provoking. The author beautifully illustrated how fallout can occur when appearances take precedence over people and relationships. I enjoyed how the author laid out the issues and debated them within the context of the gold rush in 19th-century San Francisco. I also enjoyed Rachel's moral dilemmas. To serve or not to serve...and just how should a Christian serve? How does a lady determine when to avoid any appearance of evil, and when to not even eat with sinners--and then on the flip side...When to reach out to the fallen in love and genuine concern with the hopes of blessing any of those who will listen. And what about forgiveness? For me this story was much more than a romance (though I do adore how Gist shows the honest thoughts of virile men--something often sorely lacking in most Christian fiction.) Oh, and to my relief the heroine had a desperate attraction/strong feelings for the hero. Thank you Deeanne for showing that women have feelings and drives as well--that it's not just a masculine trait. That poor heroine Rachel had read that women generally didn't have sexual feelings for men and if they did there was something wrong with them. How sad, yet pervasive was that teaching in the 1800s. Oh, and the scene at the beach! What a sizzler. I loved Rachel's epiphany and I thought the ending was beautiful. I really enjoyed the story and highly recommend it for readers who want a story with an inspirational message but that isn't so sterile that it seems unrealistically pure. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great read!

    I loved this book! The story was captivating. It taught a wonderful lesson on the importance of not judging others, but loving people even when they make bad choices. Johnnie's love for Rachel was so tender and sweet. It was truly a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Awesome book!

    At first I didn't think I would get into this book. The place, setting, and time period were very different from my normal reads. However, I completely fell in love with the book! I loved the love story and how the author developed each character, I truly felt as if i were there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Cant put it down

    I have read this book about five times and it new gets boring. Great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    DeeAnne Gist is a genious

    All of her books are great! American historical ficton in different time periods. Cant go wrong with Dee!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    So good

    This was the first book i read by this author and i really enjoyed it, so worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great book..

    Great story with a lesson to learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Beautiful read!

    wonderful plot and amazing character action. Eloquent with a rich Christian spin. Beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Measure Of A Lady By Deeanne Gist

    Stranded in a burgeoning San Francisco in the spring of 1849 after losing their father at sea to Cholera, Rachel Van Buren and her two young siblings are thrust into the midst of a Godless society. The city touting a "gold rush" that beckoned to countless fortune seekers, including their well-intentioned father, is nothing but a muddy village of tents and framed structures. With no ships leaving the coast, no home and no income, it is up to Rachel to protect her family from this hedonistic city overflowing with lost souls and failed dreams.

    The Measure Of A Lady is a poignant novel filled with honesty and revelation. Life is difficult no matter who you are or what your circumstances. God does not promise a perfect life free from trials, tests and temptations to those who believe. Yet Rachel preservers with integrity, piety and finally humility as she becomes the woman God made her to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Measure of a Lady - Great book!

    This was a great read. I love this author! I have read everyone one of her books and have been passing them on.
    I only read christian novels and this author is my new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    Loved this book

    I am not an avid reader. I am a 55 yr.old male. I read very deliberately. My wife is an avid reader. I gave this to her after I finished and she read it in two days. This is the first book we have read by Ms. Gist. The characters were very beleiveable. You quickly were involved with their dilemma and stayed that way until you have to find out how eveything turns out. I am convinced this book would make a great Hallmark movie w/Ann Hathaway as Rachel'the sunbonnet' and main character. We will have to try more of her books now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was really good. It has just the right amount of romance and comedy. Johnnie and Rachel are so cute! I recommend this book. Its a fast, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Another great Deanne Gist read!

    In Measure of a Lady, talented Christy winner, Deanne Gist has created another delightful story filled with realistic characters that have human flaws and human feelings. You'll find yourself caught up in the historical tidbits of Gold Rush San Francisco. The often-humorous dilemmas of Rachel van Buren as she struggles to remain a lady and a good example to her orphaned siblings in the midst of a savagely unladylike society are both realistic and relatable. Ms Gist has once again combined the faith elements and real human emotions in an authentic historical plot with grace and style. If you read A Bridge Most Begrudging, you'll love Measure of a Lady. It's filled with fascinating history, unique characters, and well-developed romance too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Glued to my hands

    Of course with every good page turner I kept getting interupted and was forced to put it done to go do something my parents wanted me to do. This book was totally awesome and I just loved it, everything! The time period, the colorful descriptions, and the anoying younger sister! I can totally relate. Anyway I totally recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    AWESOME!

    I loved this book so much! I read the Bride Most Begrudging and that book became my most favorite book ever! I couldn't believe that Deeanne Gist would be capable of writing a book just as good as her first one! I was wrong! not only was The Measure of a Lady AWESOME! it was, in my opinion, better than The Bride Most Begrudging! I love both of them a lot! They kept you on the edge of your seat! In my opinion there are different qualities that make up a good book, one of them is that it has to get you frustrated with someone or something in it at least once! I was frustrated about Crocker in this story! But it turned out great and I loved every minute of it! I would definitely say this was an awesome book and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Interesting, compelling, heart-warming read

    Set in the California Gold Rush, this 24-karat keeper presents fascinating history, unique characters, a well-developed romance and a hard-to-put-down read. Added to all this is a book that transcends other Christian romances and puts the ¿inspiration¿ in inspirational. It¿s no wonder the talented Ms. Gist is the Christy winner. Those lamenting the retirement of beloved Lavyrle Spencer would do well to become acquainted with Gist¿s books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3