BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Measure of a Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Interesting, compelling, heart-warming read

    Set in the California Gold Rush, this 24-karat keeper presents fascinating history, unique characters, a well-developed romance and a hard-to-put-down read. Added to all this is a book that transcends other Christian romances and puts the ¿inspiration¿ in inspirational. It¿s no wonder the talented Ms. Gist is the Christy winner. Those lamenting the retirement of beloved Lavyrle Spencer would do well to become acquainted with Gist¿s books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    What a Great Read

    I was totally transported back to Gold Rush-era San Francisco by Ms. Gist's second novel. I loved the historical detail, especially the many humorous touches, and I found Rachel's dilemma -- how to remain a lady and good example to her orphaned siblings -- in a savagely unladylike society -- very relatable and realistic. Her struggles and temptations rang true, and the story kept me turning pages well into the night. Though I don't normally read inspirational fiction, the faith elements seemed organic to the characters, not forced, and I highly recommend the book to anyone who enjoys historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    A Must Read

    I loved this book. I thoroughly enjoyed every page of it and found the characters believable, if not all likable, and the story very well written. I couldn't put it down and read most of it in one sitting. At first the main character, Rachel, was stiff and unrelenting but as the story progressed, I realized how difficult it must be to maintain a proper image in those morally depraved times without being a 'holier than thou' type of person. I did understand her struggle to uphold her standards and yet find a balance of compassion toward others. Her journey to her own self-awarness was an inspiring realization that we all have the same weaknessess, as much as we hate admitting it. It's how we deal with that truth that matters. I'm also glad the author didn't skirt around many of the issues which aren't always pleasant for a Christian writer to address. Gist touches on many of the 'hot buttons' in a tactful yet unapolagetic manner which I found refreshing. There was plenty of romance and humor to be had but the story remained realistic too. We need more books like this, which make us think about deep issues, but also touch our hearts as well. Bravo to the author for her lovely piece of writing! I can't wait to read her next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    I love this woman's books!

    I simply cant wait til the next one comes out! I've read both of her books and have fallen in love with her writing! Being a christian writer, she isnt afraid to touch on a few subjects that some are a little leary to touch on. Such as lust...even before marriage. Hey, it happens! I like that she can pull the entire book around at the end to make you think, hey, God would want us to learn a lesson from that! She truely is blessed with a gift of writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fine mid nineteenth century romance

    In 1849 San Francisco the unexpected death of her father leaves Rachel van Buren to care for her two younger siblings. She finds a shanty owned by saloonkeeper Johnnie Parker so that her family has some shelter, but Rachel has few prospects to find work to put food on the table. ------------- Though Johnny is attracted to the outspoken prim and proper Rachel, he wishes she would leave town as she is bad for his business. Instead she lectures him for his sins especially encouraging the miners and others to drink excessively and his use of fallen women in his saloon to lure the drunks back in. However, as they begin to fall in love, the sinner and the pious ¿preacher¿ must find a path to God together if they are to share anything lasting.-------------- THE MEASURE OF A LADY is a fascinating historical romance with a Guys and Dolls relationship between the lead couple. Deeanne Gist provides a vivid look at San Francisco just prior to the gold rush as Rachel¿s descriptions are priceless starting with her opening observation about an impassable make that ¿jackassible¿ street. Though she can become too morally righteous and opinionated, the opposites attract pairing make for a fine mid nineteenth century romance that sub-genre fans will enjoy.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Some things never change.

    When Rachel Van Buren arrives in San Francisco, 1849, she is greeted by a tent city with thousands of unwashed, cigar smoking, gambling, and whiskey soaked men infected with gold fever. She was the only 'sunbonnet', the term used to describe respectable women, and it was up to her to teach the New Jersey morals instilled by her mother to her younger brother and sister. Through hard work, she supplies a home for them and maintains her standards. However, she begins to understand they too rigid for a boom town. Through prayer and Christian compassion, she learns the true measure of a lady. Some things never change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3