Customer Reviews for

The Measure of a Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Measure Of A Lady By Deeanne Gist

    Stranded in a burgeoning San Francisco in the spring of 1849 after losing their father at sea to Cholera, Rachel Van Buren and her two young siblings are thrust into the midst of a Godless society. The city touting a "gold rush" that beckoned to countless fortune seekers, including their well-intentioned father, is nothing but a muddy village of tents and framed structures. With no ships leaving the coast, no home and no income, it is up to Rachel to protect her family from this hedonistic city overflowing with lost souls and failed dreams.

    The Measure Of A Lady is a poignant novel filled with honesty and revelation. Life is difficult no matter who you are or what your circumstances. God does not promise a perfect life free from trials, tests and temptations to those who believe. Yet Rachel preservers with integrity, piety and finally humility as she becomes the woman God made her to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Measure of a Lady - Great book!

    This was a great read. I love this author! I have read everyone one of her books and have been passing them on.
    I only read christian novels and this author is my new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    Loved this book

    I am not an avid reader. I am a 55 yr.old male. I read very deliberately. My wife is an avid reader. I gave this to her after I finished and she read it in two days. This is the first book we have read by Ms. Gist. The characters were very beleiveable. You quickly were involved with their dilemma and stayed that way until you have to find out how eveything turns out. I am convinced this book would make a great Hallmark movie w/Ann Hathaway as Rachel'the sunbonnet' and main character. We will have to try more of her books now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was really good. It has just the right amount of romance and comedy. Johnnie and Rachel are so cute! I recommend this book. Its a fast, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Another great Deanne Gist read!

    In Measure of a Lady, talented Christy winner, Deanne Gist has created another delightful story filled with realistic characters that have human flaws and human feelings. You'll find yourself caught up in the historical tidbits of Gold Rush San Francisco. The often-humorous dilemmas of Rachel van Buren as she struggles to remain a lady and a good example to her orphaned siblings in the midst of a savagely unladylike society are both realistic and relatable. Ms Gist has once again combined the faith elements and real human emotions in an authentic historical plot with grace and style. If you read A Bridge Most Begrudging, you'll love Measure of a Lady. It's filled with fascinating history, unique characters, and well-developed romance too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    A Flop!

    I loved the first book by Deeanne Gist, but a Measure of a Lady left me bored, angry, frustrated and diappointed. It was hard to imagine that Rachel was the only 'women' in all of San Fran. I did love the history, but I can say that I wont pick up another book by this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Glued to my hands

    Of course with every good page turner I kept getting interupted and was forced to put it done to go do something my parents wanted me to do. This book was totally awesome and I just loved it, everything! The time period, the colorful descriptions, and the anoying younger sister! I can totally relate. Anyway I totally recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    AWESOME!

    I loved this book so much! I read the Bride Most Begrudging and that book became my most favorite book ever! I couldn't believe that Deeanne Gist would be capable of writing a book just as good as her first one! I was wrong! not only was The Measure of a Lady AWESOME! it was, in my opinion, better than The Bride Most Begrudging! I love both of them a lot! They kept you on the edge of your seat! In my opinion there are different qualities that make up a good book, one of them is that it has to get you frustrated with someone or something in it at least once! I was frustrated about Crocker in this story! But it turned out great and I loved every minute of it! I would definitely say this was an awesome book and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Interesting, compelling, heart-warming read

    Set in the California Gold Rush, this 24-karat keeper presents fascinating history, unique characters, a well-developed romance and a hard-to-put-down read. Added to all this is a book that transcends other Christian romances and puts the ¿inspiration¿ in inspirational. It¿s no wonder the talented Ms. Gist is the Christy winner. Those lamenting the retirement of beloved Lavyrle Spencer would do well to become acquainted with Gist¿s books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    A Weak Effort, A Reused Premise

    I excitedly picked up this book recently, mainly because the back intrigued me and for the most part I have been disapointed with inspirational fiction. Once again I was let down. The story itself was too drawn out, and weakly threaded. In the author's note, the author revealed she'd only one year to finish this book unlike three for her previous one. I have not read her first book yet, and if it's anything like this one I probably will not. I think this lady needs more time to develop characters we haven't already seen a million times and who aren't so flat and without faults. Rachel and Johnnie have been seen before in different settings and of course lead to the right way home. I think the best part of her book was more in the story of Lissa and showing that people don't always follow the right paths, and that you must love them anyway. I give the author more of a thumbs up for minor characters who show more gusto in their limited page time. For a much better read with a San Francisco setting and much stronger Biblically based story try Francine River's 'Redeeming Love.' It is a book you will truly be blessed by. In my opinion most writers of inspirational fiction need to take a look at her work and decide if they want to kick it up a notch or keep riding the thin line between 'inspiration' and 'harlequin.' If they won't walk the line then perhaps they shouldn't bother trying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    What a Great Read

    I was totally transported back to Gold Rush-era San Francisco by Ms. Gist's second novel. I loved the historical detail, especially the many humorous touches, and I found Rachel's dilemma -- how to remain a lady and good example to her orphaned siblings -- in a savagely unladylike society -- very relatable and realistic. Her struggles and temptations rang true, and the story kept me turning pages well into the night. Though I don't normally read inspirational fiction, the faith elements seemed organic to the characters, not forced, and I highly recommend the book to anyone who enjoys historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    A Must Read

    I loved this book. I thoroughly enjoyed every page of it and found the characters believable, if not all likable, and the story very well written. I couldn't put it down and read most of it in one sitting. At first the main character, Rachel, was stiff and unrelenting but as the story progressed, I realized how difficult it must be to maintain a proper image in those morally depraved times without being a 'holier than thou' type of person. I did understand her struggle to uphold her standards and yet find a balance of compassion toward others. Her journey to her own self-awarness was an inspiring realization that we all have the same weaknessess, as much as we hate admitting it. It's how we deal with that truth that matters. I'm also glad the author didn't skirt around many of the issues which aren't always pleasant for a Christian writer to address. Gist touches on many of the 'hot buttons' in a tactful yet unapolagetic manner which I found refreshing. There was plenty of romance and humor to be had but the story remained realistic too. We need more books like this, which make us think about deep issues, but also touch our hearts as well. Bravo to the author for her lovely piece of writing! I can't wait to read her next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    I love this woman's books!

    I simply cant wait til the next one comes out! I've read both of her books and have fallen in love with her writing! Being a christian writer, she isnt afraid to touch on a few subjects that some are a little leary to touch on. Such as lust...even before marriage. Hey, it happens! I like that she can pull the entire book around at the end to make you think, hey, God would want us to learn a lesson from that! She truely is blessed with a gift of writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fine mid nineteenth century romance

    In 1849 San Francisco the unexpected death of her father leaves Rachel van Buren to care for her two younger siblings. She finds a shanty owned by saloonkeeper Johnnie Parker so that her family has some shelter, but Rachel has few prospects to find work to put food on the table. ------------- Though Johnny is attracted to the outspoken prim and proper Rachel, he wishes she would leave town as she is bad for his business. Instead she lectures him for his sins especially encouraging the miners and others to drink excessively and his use of fallen women in his saloon to lure the drunks back in. However, as they begin to fall in love, the sinner and the pious ¿preacher¿ must find a path to God together if they are to share anything lasting.-------------- THE MEASURE OF A LADY is a fascinating historical romance with a Guys and Dolls relationship between the lead couple. Deeanne Gist provides a vivid look at San Francisco just prior to the gold rush as Rachel¿s descriptions are priceless starting with her opening observation about an impassable make that ¿jackassible¿ street. Though she can become too morally righteous and opinionated, the opposites attract pairing make for a fine mid nineteenth century romance that sub-genre fans will enjoy.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Some things never change.

    When Rachel Van Buren arrives in San Francisco, 1849, she is greeted by a tent city with thousands of unwashed, cigar smoking, gambling, and whiskey soaked men infected with gold fever. She was the only 'sunbonnet', the term used to describe respectable women, and it was up to her to teach the New Jersey morals instilled by her mother to her younger brother and sister. Through hard work, she supplies a home for them and maintains her standards. However, she begins to understand they too rigid for a boom town. Through prayer and Christian compassion, she learns the true measure of a lady. Some things never change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4