Customer Reviews for

The Measure of a Man: A Spiritual Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent reading

Should be read by all - young and old.

posted by hearyehearye on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Measure of a Man

¶ The Measure of a Man, by Sidney Poitier, is an interesting autobiography about his life growing up as an African-American in a world of prejudice. He doesn't experience racism until he moves to Nassau as a boy, and soon learns that he's on the bottom of the food chain...
¶ The Measure of a Man, by Sidney Poitier, is an interesting autobiography about his life growing up as an African-American in a world of prejudice. He doesn't experience racism until he moves to Nassau as a boy, and soon learns that he's on the bottom of the food chain. In order to work his way up, he must leave the Bahamas and move to the U.S and find work.
¶ In the U.S, Sidney soon learns that it is also difficult for people like him to find wealth, so he eventually finds a Negro acting guild. He eventually talks to the right agents, and finds himself a few plays.
¶ To be completely honest, this book just didn't capture my attention the whole way through. It was was awfully slow for me, and was a nonstop bore for many,many pages. I love the authors tone of writing, and the story of his life, but it didn't have much of a climax. This is only my opinion, so i still recommend the book to readers interested in Sidney Poitier and his life story.

posted by 878150 on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    Poitiers beginnings on Cat Island to his Hollywood Fame.

    I don¿t read a lot of biography books but I had to pick this up because he is one of my favorite actors. After reading this up I found it to be pretty good but dry in certain areas nevertheless informative along the way. This book is a incredible journey of a man I thoroughly enjoy watching. I fell in love with the man, who doesn't take credit for who he is, but gives credit to his Creator, his parents and who gave him a hand-up along the way. In this autobiography you learn what Sidney was thinking and feeling through the span of his life. From growing up on Cat Island and not having any of our modern day conveniences to Nassau, to Miami, and New York. He shares with us his thoughts and feelings and reasons why he made the decisions he did. Personally, I would love to sit and talk with and debate with Sidney for hours. He has always seemed to know who he was and never let anyone tell him otherwise. Sidney found a way to make himself as he knew himself fit into the world instead of changing himself to fit into the world. Sidney shows his thoughtful side by sharing a lot of his personal thoughts with us without dwelling on the bad things in life. He comments on today's youth and the negative benefits of our world where they are used to so many physical things. Sidney is a noble man and you can feel it through out this book. This book is also provides strength, family value and the importance of good parenting I will also say that his six daughters are lucky to have a father like him which makes this book as wonderful as he is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Bravo!

    I loved his movies, I loved his acting...but this book brings out a Sidney Poitier I never thought about. All too often we cast an actor as just a person who does the acting...never realizing the depth and spirituality that person contains. I truly enjoyed this book - it was enlightening to really learn about Sidney Poitier the man. We can all learn a lesson as to the joy of 'smelling the roses' as opposed to owning all the roses!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    over comming the odds

    when you pick up a book to read and can't put it down ,then you know you've picked a winner.The measure of a man is this kind of novel.I was moved to tears and laughter as I read page after page of what I consider to be one of the best books I've read in the past year.I saw myself in some of the adventures of joy and sadness and I will re-read for the pleasure and the insight I received as I became a companion to the boy, the teen, the young man and then The true man that truly measures up.In this novel the writer shows that with determination ,conviction and tenacity you can overcome the odds to become a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    An Understated-Masterpiece!

    I am recommending this latest effort by Sidney Poitier, not only for what is in the book ¿ I am endorsing it for what it lacks. Let me explain: Too often public figures, with limited accomplishments, extol their virtues ¿ while asking one and all to kneel before their greatness. This book lacks that pomposity. Grandiose and vainglorious statements are replaced with accounts of compassion and humility. The author states: ¿I have no wish to play the pontificating fool, pretending that I¿ve suddenly come up with answers to all life¿s questions¿. In spite of this assertion, there are ¿pearls of wisdom¿ on every page. From this exquisite book, I am convinced ¿ the true measure for all of us is not where we stand when times are bountiful, good, and rewarding, but where we position ourselves at times of crisis, peril, and uncertainty. Get this book. Whatever standard one uses ¿ it measures up! Reginald V. Johnson, author, ¿How To Be Happy, Successful, & Rich¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    A great Book!

    This book is good as Sidney Poitier as an actor! What a life! Make people like me who were born in a medium class family to see the real values of the life achivement

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    A genuine explanation of a life lived

    This is a profound book about a genuine and spiritual man. I loved this book and I feel like I'm a better person for reading this. It is so rare to see a man with such a glimpse into their whole being. If you want to welcome growth, change and appreciation of your own life, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    the measure of a Man cheryl3x review

    this book tells a story of strength, family value and the value of good parenting ,it should be required reading for young people growing up in a world with little morals.as i listened to MR POITIER read his book i understand quiet strenght.this book is written from his heart and his seventy two year old head.if you have never been read to please try this book on tape .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    Wow, What a Journey!

    Mr. Poitier is going deep into his soul to share his lessons learned as he traveled from his humble beginning on Cat Island; to his school of hard-knocks on the stage and streets of New York; and finally, to the silver screen of Hollywood. It is a wonderful journey, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I fell in love with the man, who doesn't take credit for who he is, but gives credit to his Creator, his parents and God's helpers, who gave him a hand-up along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2000

    Why White People love Sidney!!

    In this autobiography you learn what Sidney was thinking and feeling through the span of his life. From growing up on Cat Island and not having any of our modern day conveniences to Nassau, to Miami, and New York. He shares with us his thoughts and feelings and reasons why he made the decisions he did. He's a man I would love to sit and talk with and debate with for hours. He has always seemed to know who he was and never let anyone tell him otherwise. Sidney found a way to make himself as he knew himself fit into the world instead of changing himself to fit into the world. Sidney shows his thoughtful side by sharing a lot of his personal thoughts with us without dwelling on the bad things in life. He comments on today's youth and the negative benefits of our world where they are used to so many physical things. Sometimes more is definitely less!! Sidney is a noble man. He stands up for what he believes is right in the best manner a man can. His 6 daughters are lucky to have a father like that!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    This Book Was The Best.

    This was an excellent book.It is amazing to read about Poitiers beginings on Cat Island to his Hollywood Fame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT

    I loved this book. I thought it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3