Customer Reviews for

The Measure of a Man: A Spiritual Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent reading

Should be read by all - young and old.

posted by hearyehearye on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Measure of a Man

¶ The Measure of a Man, by Sidney Poitier, is an interesting autobiography about his life growing up as an African-American in a world of prejudice. He doesn't experience racism until he moves to Nassau as a boy, and soon learns that he's on the bottom of the food chain...
¶ The Measure of a Man, by Sidney Poitier, is an interesting autobiography about his life growing up as an African-American in a world of prejudice. He doesn't experience racism until he moves to Nassau as a boy, and soon learns that he's on the bottom of the food chain. In order to work his way up, he must leave the Bahamas and move to the U.S and find work.
¶ In the U.S, Sidney soon learns that it is also difficult for people like him to find wealth, so he eventually finds a Negro acting guild. He eventually talks to the right agents, and finds himself a few plays.
¶ To be completely honest, this book just didn't capture my attention the whole way through. It was was awfully slow for me, and was a nonstop bore for many,many pages. I love the authors tone of writing, and the story of his life, but it didn't have much of a climax. This is only my opinion, so i still recommend the book to readers interested in Sidney Poitier and his life story.

posted by 878150 on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Excellent reading

    Should be read by all - young and old.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed this book. I could literally hear Mr. Poitier's voice as I read it, and couldn't put the book down. First of all, I read it since Oprah recommended it. It just had to be good! And I was able to use the library, so I didn't have to commit to buying it! I have since "talked it up" to anyone who asks about it, so much so, that my mother-in-law has just put in a request to have me locate a large print version for her so she can keep it forever. (Yes, my word is golden). For some, I'm sure this book will not touch them as it did me, but my first "feel" for this man was watching him with my favorite actress, Katharine Hepburn, and from then on, he was a draw. This book gives a deeper "measure" of who Mr. Poitier is in the first person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    I have given this book as gifts to young friend going off to col

    I have given this book as gifts to young friend going off to college, new husbands and new fathers. This book is a story of character; how it is sourced, how it is built and how it is lived. It should be required reading for all high school males. It could serve as a good partial remedy to the poor character standards that seem all too common today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    One of my favorite books ever!

    Simply one of the most candid and revealing autobiographies ever written. I own an original hard cover edition and it is one of my most treasured possesions. I learned so much about this remarkable man. His secret love affair with Diahann Carroll made me swoon! Its a love affair that deserves its own book or movie alone. Sidney Poitier captured me with his story. I'm a fan for life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Spiritual

    READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    you must check it out!!

    I Loved this Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Wonderful treatment of a worthwhile subject

    Breaking through all sorts of barriers, Poitier was the first black actor to win the Academy Award. The Measure of a Man sheds light on the much admired man who was born into poverty and emerged with a grace and dignity not often seen in Hollywood or among those who "make it."
    In reading this autobiography, his tone and style are easy and pleasant. Well worth reading and might I suggest as a gift for young people struggling with their own trials and challenges?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    Beautiful Book!

    I loved this book! Everyone should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    I LOVE this honest book

    Since I was a boy, there was something about Sidney Poitier, a class, a real person of honor, that, when I didn't know what honor meant, drew me to him. I was too young to understand all of his movies, but, his presence, his demeanor was magnetic even to me as a young boy. And now an adult, the admiration of his words, the courage to make challenging movies of his kind at an unfriendly time, cause me to pause and wonder what kind of man could he have been to not only be bold enough to say and do what could not and would not be said and done, but to win the confidense of others to invest so much into this young black man of distinction? A man of powerful and exotic presence. I love the honesty of this book. I love that he is a real person speaking in a language that is real to him, and making his advice more real and more sincere in my heart. His point drives home for many men and women today attempting to wake up in the world day today and find the encouragement to dream, chase those dreams or even to just get out of bed and live. Sidney Poitier's measure of a man should be an example for us all to find some honorable way to measure ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Steadfastly Sidney!

    As the consummate Actor, Mr. Poitier's body of work has always been passionate, elegant and thought-provoking. As a writer, he has made no exception with this book. What a gift to us! I must say that it was particularly enjoyable to hear him read his book to me via the audio book CD! No one could have read it better! Thank you, Sidney!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Mr. Poitier deserves it all!

    In her attempt to erase the memory of the disgraced James Frey, then Oprah Winfrey couldn't have made a better pick for her book club than a memoir by Sidney Poitier. Winfrey ended a year-long hiatus in her club by announcing Friday that she had chosen 'The Measure of a Man,' a spiritual autobiography by one of Hollywood's most admired actors - for whom the word 'dignified'. I am rather ashamed to admit as a young black Haitian-American living in FL that I knew very very very little about Sir Sidney Poitier. I toroughly enjoyed his candid despiction of his boyhood (as he so passionately refers to it), his family, relationships and his extraordinary career. I think O. Winfrey says it best: 'It (the book) really is about what makes character, what makes you be who you are. He is the measure of one of the greatest men I think who has ever been on our planet.' It took me awhile to get to this book even after Oprah had made it her first book after resuming the O Book Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Enjoy learning little-known facts of a famous man and find your spirit up-lifted.

    Mr. Poitier writes in an appealing manner that held my attention and moved me on the way to an early passage where he gives his reasons why he declined a certain role at a critical, early point in his career. After his comments about the refusal - and the affects on his temporary agent, a Hollywood insider, I was glued to the book convinced I held in my hands a rare book of spirituality and humility. This promise was well kept in the remaining text. This book did not leave me feeling ho-hum or cynical about the human condition. Nor did pretend to have people's answers to deep religious issues. It left me feeling good about being a human, without pandering to my sense of self righteousness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Bravo!

    I loved his movies, I loved his acting...but this book brings out a Sidney Poitier I never thought about. All too often we cast an actor as just a person who does the acting...never realizing the depth and spirituality that person contains. I truly enjoyed this book - it was enlightening to really learn about Sidney Poitier the man. We can all learn a lesson as to the joy of 'smelling the roses' as opposed to owning all the roses!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    over comming the odds

    when you pick up a book to read and can't put it down ,then you know you've picked a winner.The measure of a man is this kind of novel.I was moved to tears and laughter as I read page after page of what I consider to be one of the best books I've read in the past year.I saw myself in some of the adventures of joy and sadness and I will re-read for the pleasure and the insight I received as I became a companion to the boy, the teen, the young man and then The true man that truly measures up.In this novel the writer shows that with determination ,conviction and tenacity you can overcome the odds to become a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    An Understated-Masterpiece!

    I am recommending this latest effort by Sidney Poitier, not only for what is in the book ¿ I am endorsing it for what it lacks. Let me explain: Too often public figures, with limited accomplishments, extol their virtues ¿ while asking one and all to kneel before their greatness. This book lacks that pomposity. Grandiose and vainglorious statements are replaced with accounts of compassion and humility. The author states: ¿I have no wish to play the pontificating fool, pretending that I¿ve suddenly come up with answers to all life¿s questions¿. In spite of this assertion, there are ¿pearls of wisdom¿ on every page. From this exquisite book, I am convinced ¿ the true measure for all of us is not where we stand when times are bountiful, good, and rewarding, but where we position ourselves at times of crisis, peril, and uncertainty. Get this book. Whatever standard one uses ¿ it measures up! Reginald V. Johnson, author, ¿How To Be Happy, Successful, & Rich¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    A great Book!

    This book is good as Sidney Poitier as an actor! What a life! Make people like me who were born in a medium class family to see the real values of the life achivement

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    A genuine explanation of a life lived

    This is a profound book about a genuine and spiritual man. I loved this book and I feel like I'm a better person for reading this. It is so rare to see a man with such a glimpse into their whole being. If you want to welcome growth, change and appreciation of your own life, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    the measure of a Man cheryl3x review

    this book tells a story of strength, family value and the value of good parenting ,it should be required reading for young people growing up in a world with little morals.as i listened to MR POITIER read his book i understand quiet strenght.this book is written from his heart and his seventy two year old head.if you have never been read to please try this book on tape .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    Wow, What a Journey!

    Mr. Poitier is going deep into his soul to share his lessons learned as he traveled from his humble beginning on Cat Island; to his school of hard-knocks on the stage and streets of New York; and finally, to the silver screen of Hollywood. It is a wonderful journey, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I fell in love with the man, who doesn't take credit for who he is, but gives credit to his Creator, his parents and God's helpers, who gave him a hand-up along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2000

    Why White People love Sidney!!

    In this autobiography you learn what Sidney was thinking and feeling through the span of his life. From growing up on Cat Island and not having any of our modern day conveniences to Nassau, to Miami, and New York. He shares with us his thoughts and feelings and reasons why he made the decisions he did. He's a man I would love to sit and talk with and debate with for hours. He has always seemed to know who he was and never let anyone tell him otherwise. Sidney found a way to make himself as he knew himself fit into the world instead of changing himself to fit into the world. Sidney shows his thoughtful side by sharing a lot of his personal thoughts with us without dwelling on the bad things in life. He comments on today's youth and the negative benefits of our world where they are used to so many physical things. Sometimes more is definitely less!! Sidney is a noble man. He stands up for what he believes is right in the best manner a man can. His 6 daughters are lucky to have a father like that!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2