Customer Reviews for

The Measure of the Magic: Legends of Shannara

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Great author

    Starting with "sword of shanara" all the way to this one. Great stories. I have read them all. Each story is unique and stands on its own. But to really enjoy the complete works of Mr. Brooks. Start at the begining with "sword of shanara" and read your way through. It all comes full circle.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Great Book

    The book was great, its a shame that Barnes & Noble's Customer service is horrible. After this you can unsubscribe me as this will be the last book that I buy from BN

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    $14 for a non- print copy?! I will wait for the $7 paperback

    Nuff said

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Nice wrap up to the series

    Entertaining and true to the storyline. Lots of depth to the characters. Exciting and not always predictable in the way you think. One of my favorite authors and series. Good bridge to closing out the old world and begining the world of Shannarah.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Another great book in the series from Terry Brooks!

    The Sword of Shanarra was one of the first fantasy books I every read. Since then Terry Brooks has, by far, been one of my favorite authors. This installment in the series does not disappoint. Can't wait for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Great as usual!!!

    This was a great read! On par with most of Mr. Brooks' later books, it is full of adventure, magic, surprises, and heartache. The ending left more questions than his last trilogy, but it just makes me want to get into the next book in the series that much sooner. 8/21/12 cannot get here fast enough!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    The Measure of Magic

    Terry Brooks has once again written an amazing novel!! I love Terry Brooks and have been reading him for over 30 years at least. This story continues on with The Man with the Staff, only this time the entire valley is in trouble. You also find out more about the elusive Blue Elf Stones. Trouble is coming and so are big changes for the valley. This one is definitely another one of Terry's great stories. A good book that you read and cannot stop! Terry Brooks at his best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Ok Read

    This was an ok read but far from the great work I have come to expect from Terry Brooks. The Bearer of the Black Staff and The Measure of the Magic read as if they were for YA readers. Not sorry I read them but will probably forget that I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Great read

    This is a complex, continuously suspenseful legend interweaving magic and human interest. Hard to put down the books in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Man

    Sticks his dicka in her passy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    I am a long time reader of Terry brooks books, I have possibly r

    I am a long time reader of Terry brooks books, I have possibly read all of them, this one as with so many others is most excellent. I read my first book, the Sword Of Shannara when I was at sea for six months in the navy in the early 80's and have been an ardent fan ever since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    My favorite author, read all his books, can't wait for the next.

    My favorite author, read all his books, can't wait for the next. My last name is Ament. It means "at the end"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I just loved all the twists and turns in this book. All the magi

    I just loved all the twists and turns in this book. All the magic and fighting, plus how the details are so speciefic. Terry Brooks has just done another amazingly awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    great book

    I realy liked this book. It was hard to get inot at first but well worth it toward the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    very good and intersting - you must check it out!!

    Terry Brooks does intersting boogs

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Great!

    Terrys the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great story! Highly recommended!

    Terry Brooks does it again! I read everything by him and am never dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book, another home run by Terry Brooks.

    Very exceting, well written, keeps you wanting to read the whole book in one sitting. I recommend all the Shannara series books by Terry Brooks. All in all it is a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Really enjoyed it!

    Terry Brooks is one of my very favorite writers. I always look forward to a new book from him, and this was no exception. Very enjoyable and it fleshed out some hitherto unknown aspects of this amazing world. When is the next one coming, Terry? I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Awesome Book

    Terry Brooks is now and always has been my favorite author. The Measure of the Magic is just another in an awesome series. Never slow, never dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8