Customer Reviews for

Mech 1: The Parent

Average Rating 3.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Scifi book for its price

Just finished reading this book and its full of action and a great buy for its price. Only complain why its not a five star is that I wish there was some more description with the characters in the story. It was hard to imagine how the alien look like and I wish there w...
Just finished reading this book and its full of action and a great buy for its price. Only complain why its not a five star is that I wish there was some more description with the characters in the story. It was hard to imagine how the alien look like and I wish there were more description of the main characters. Other than that I like the book.

posted by 5089545 on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blah...

I waited until finishing "Mech 2" before putting my 2-cents in the ring on this series. I found both books well written, Larson's style is very fluid and seemingly unencumbered. I didn't find myself ever really saying "huh?" However, what Larson has in writing style he ...
I waited until finishing "Mech 2" before putting my 2-cents in the ring on this series. I found both books well written, Larson's style is very fluid and seemingly unencumbered. I didn't find myself ever really saying "huh?" However, what Larson has in writing style he lacks in plot development. "Mech" and it's sequel seem to accidently meet their endings. Both books are seemingly light on the Mech and more focused on its human and alien creatures alike.

However, I still cannot rate this below a 3-star as I actually enjoyed reading it. (Maybe I am a masochist?). And if Larson decided to write a "Mech 3", I would read it - though I might have to flog myself afterwards.

posted by SneezingSkittles on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Good Scifi book for its price

    Just finished reading this book and its full of action and a great buy for its price. Only complain why its not a five star is that I wish there was some more description with the characters in the story. It was hard to imagine how the alien look like and I wish there were more description of the main characters. Other than that I like the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Just pulled me in...

    I love good scifi and not that vampire stuff and this was excellent reading. I am not a critic and don't profess to be one, I just know what i like and i liked this book...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Dig in and wait for it!

    Unusual beginning ending up with an unusual ending that promises more in the future. Fascinating!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Blah...

    I waited until finishing "Mech 2" before putting my 2-cents in the ring on this series. I found both books well written, Larson's style is very fluid and seemingly unencumbered. I didn't find myself ever really saying "huh?" However, what Larson has in writing style he lacks in plot development. "Mech" and it's sequel seem to accidently meet their endings. Both books are seemingly light on the Mech and more focused on its human and alien creatures alike.

    However, I still cannot rate this below a 3-star as I actually enjoyed reading it. (Maybe I am a masochist?). And if Larson decided to write a "Mech 3", I would read it - though I might have to flog myself afterwards.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not a bad read

    I think that the characters could have used some more development so as to not be interchangeable. Very rarely in real life are the heroes so heroic or the villains so villainous. That being said, the technology and the use of human mechs and augmented humans of different genetic stock was appealing enough generally to balance that out. Four Stars. Looking forward to book two after some work and school reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Mindless read

    Teen. Science Fiction story on a foreign planet. Intriguing aliens, but a plot that jumps around way too much and makes little sense. Quick Read if you're trying to read a movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    no detail and rushed ending

    no detail throughout rushed like a jr high students work

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Good read

    Liked this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Good Book

    Solid sci-fi read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    OK but stretchy.

    Action portions are excellent but the biological capabilities of the opponents are too hard to believe. I accepted this in the first book but the second book went too far too fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Great Book

    I cant wait to read the next one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Good Book

    The book is kinda hard to understand in the beginning because the author doesn't really explain the characters till later in the book. Once you actually get into the book however it is really good. It did kinda remind me of the movie Starship Troopers though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Good Sci Fi with interesting plot

    Fun read with interesting characters. I recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Fast, violent and fun.

    I read the 728 in two days so I guess that means I found the book to be an entertaining page turner. The strong part of Mech is that it is a classic "bugs vs humans" action story fit for all age groups. The characters are too one dimensional and the setting is not well developed. However, I particularly enjoyed the slower than light speed premise of this series. This seems both more realistic and less of an homogenized galaxy. All in all, an Alien or Predator sort story that speeds along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9