Customer Reviews for

Medical-Surgical Nursing: Reviews and Rationales

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely Helpful!

    I highly recommend the Prentice Hall series of books for nursing courses (med-surg, psych, & pedi-didn't use the OB book). I used this book and the Prentice Hall Comprehensive NCLEX review to study for med-surg and had no problem passing the class. Same material is covered in both books, but the questions are different. The required textbook has so much information, after reading one chapter your brain wants to explode! However, these books point out what information is pertinent, and gives the reader a nurses standpoint of what he/she needs to watch for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Great for Med Surg Beginners

    I am currently taking Med Surg and this book is a great reference that compiles the important info into the basic need to knows. I use this first to get the general idea and then use my school textbook to go deeper into detail. It touches on about 75% of the material in my course, so I only use as a reference. The questions are more knowledge based than NCLEX style, so even if you can answer these questions I would suggest having other resources to studying with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Excellent companion to my required textbook

    I have found Reviews/Rationales to be an excellent companion to our required text (Brunner's 12th Edition of Medical-Surgical Nursing). It isn't as indepth as our required text, but it has helped me greatly in grasping the concepts. Our required text is very indepth, the chapters long, and though very well written, the concepts seem to get lost in the sea of text. The Reviews/Rationales puts the main concepts into easy to read lists that get directly to the point. I especially like the NCLEX alerts that identify information you really should know.

    This book is not indepth, you still need to read your required text, but I find if I read this book first, it makes deciphering the important information in my required text that much easier.

    The NCLEX style questions in the book are good and the companion CD is an electronic version of the questions in the book, plus a matching exercise for each chapter's terminology, which is nice.

    Well worth the investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Not what I expected

    Not too many topics discussed in second semester of nursing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    This book is excellent. I used it to study instead of my required text book. I strongly recommend this book for all students in the medical field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Book

    I found this book to be helpful. It's not just a book to study for your NCLEX, but also a GREAT reference book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Great reference tool...

    I highly recommend this book for nursing students...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    a 'must-have' book!

    this book certainly enhances your studies... although it wont totally substitute your textbook, it covers a great deal of info, but in a semi-broad context... overall, this book is awesome, highly recommended and a sure thing!! you cant go wrong!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    very good study guide

    The information are up to the point and helps in the exam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    You Must Buy

    I am a current BSN Nursing Student and I brought this book to help simplify my text book. For my last test,I read this book only and did my other study preps and I blew the test out of the water. I only missed one!!!!!!! I went from a B to an A in one test and this book really helped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Reviews and Rationale Books

    I highly recommend those books. I wish I knew about their existence right from my first semester. It saves so much time on reading and very easy to understand. I have at least 5 of the books already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    This is THE BOOK for med-surg

    I had a C for my last test, so i got this book. i jumped to an A when i got this book. Some of the questions in the test were either the same or similar to the ones in the book. And when i saw questions i got wrong on the other test boldly highlighted in this book, it made me wish i'd gotten the book earlier. This book cuts through the cr@p in your textbook and gives you the meat and potatoes you need. The nclex cues are awesome because instructors know what the boards ask and they ask the alternate-form questions on the tests. I asked myself why get this book instead of a comprehensive review book and this was my answer: you don't get the nclex pointers in those books. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Very good addition to your book and study guide

    Nice, quick review when clinicals and paperwork are sucking up all your time (and energy). Helped me get more points (into the 90s) on each nursing school exam. Rationales very helpful when a section wasn't clear in my mind. My instructor actually used a couple of the questions on her exams, as well as rewriting a couple of others to suit herself. Only quibble is that the CD questions seem to be same ones in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Great Book!

    This book was excellent it will get you through advanced med-surg! It also raised my test scores by a letter grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    Very Helpful

    I used this book for my first year of nursing school and found it to be very informative and good questions to study before a test a must have!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    a must have for nursing students

    This book got me through med surg and is also an excellent studying tool. I recommend this book to anyone as a supplement for class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2