Customer Reviews for

Medical-Surgical Nursing: Assessment and Management of Clinical Problems, Single Volume

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buy this book

Every student nurse needs this book sometime during their program and I recommend getting the two-volume version. It's exactly the same as the single volume except it's split into 2 books instead of one large bulky book.

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs an etextbook!

Nursing is hard enough, has no one heard of etextbook. Come on people!

posted by mandamarie on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Needs an etextbook!

    Nursing is hard enough, has no one heard of etextbook. Come on people!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Buy this book

    Every student nurse needs this book sometime during their program and I recommend getting the two-volume version. It's exactly the same as the single volume except it's split into 2 books instead of one large bulky book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lewis vs. Ignatavicius

    I was at another nursing school that used this textbook. Even though it's not very colorful, the information is thoroughly covered. The fluid and electrolytes chapter (17) will be forever burned into my brain as I read it over and over and over. It explains things so well and thoroughly. It's pretty tedious, but there are no questions left unanswered.

    The school I'm in now used the Ignatavicius Med Surg text. It's more colorful, but not nearly as detailed as the Lewis. I don't really care for it. When I have a question I go to the school's library and read what I need in the Lewis text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    This Book is Adequate

    Had to buy this book for my Adult Health/Med-Surg class. Its a boring read very dry, however, it is very clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Medical surgical nursing

    It is a great book, It was a required textbook, but very informative and easy to read and understand. It is better to buy this book in two volume, which is easy to carry. I recommend to buy clinical companion with this book, I did not liked the study guide, it was not much helpful. The disc that comes with this book is a great resource, which consist of NCLEX type questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    Good Organization

    This book is nicely organized. Easy to understand and quick to the point. Great figures and tables to illustrate the important information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Great, fast service

    I received this book very shortly after ordering it, I think only 3 days later, it was packaged well, and in great condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    Useful, but lots of room for improvement

    The book is chock full of information. The biggest problem is getting the information out of the book. In terms of overall organization, it is often difficult to determine what subsection relates to what major section. The color coded type and heading backgrounds are not effective delineations. A few lettered or numbered headings would be an improvement in organization. Additionally, the book is written in a quasi-conversational style making the information not very "chunky." The reader must parse through the material to divine what is relevant. Not a bad thing where continuing education is concerned, but it's inefficient when it comes to organizing and working toward an understanding of the bases of medical and nursing interventions as an undergraduate. The tables for management of conditions are useful, but there are times where one table covers more than one level of acuity and not all interventions in the table are applicable. On the plus side, the book has good images and graphics. The online resources, especially the Key Points outlines, are useful. The book's NCLEX questions are so-so. They're relatively few in number and representative of only the easier types of questions in the test bank.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Great for nursing students

    This book covers in detail all you need to know to do well in college courses and reviewing for the NCLEX.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    WHERE ARE THE RATIONELS?

    From fundamentals to med surg bmmcc have though us that there's an expalnation/reason for everything we do for the patients. In other words a ' rational'. Unfortunately this book has no rational to verify why the answers to the test questions are right or wrong!!! and i think that iam advocating for many students that we do need the rationals!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was used by my nursing school during our ADN Med/Surg classes. There is a wealth of information but the book does not flow well. One of my clinical instructors (and smartest nurses I know)is currently working towards her ARNP and had difficulty following what the writers were trying to say. This book may prove to be a valuable reference but it is not written in a manner that facilitates comprehension for students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2