Customer Reviews for

The Mediterranean Caper (Dirk Pitt Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My 1st Clive Cussler read

I read this book around 1980, given to me by my brother after he finished. What a great start it was to the world of Clive Cussler (CC). We had just returned from two years in Turkey, so the geographical references were bright and spot on. I really enjoyed how CC so ...
I read this book around 1980, given to me by my brother after he finished. What a great start it was to the world of Clive Cussler (CC). We had just returned from two years in Turkey, so the geographical references were bright and spot on. I really enjoyed how CC so aptly described the details of not only the locations, but down to the way a dress would lay on the curvaceous body of Dirk's woman du jour.

I could not read this book fast enough, taking no more than a day and a half, interrupted only due to the hour in which I started being so close to bedtime. I read as much as I could before falling to sleep.

As his first Dirk Pitt novel, CC did show his Freshman writing, but he grabs the reader by the neck and shoves the adventure down your throat.
The seemingly non-stop action, coupled with a string theory collaboration of characters is a tremendous formula for success. It all leads to the first of so many "Only Dirk, Al, and the Good Guys/Girls can avert Global destruction by following insignificant clues" scenarios.

It also lead to a 30+ year family CC book swap meet between my brother and I, where one of us buys the newest release, devours it, then sends it to the other on a rotating basis. Thanks for all the memories, sir.

posted by Breykaleg on January 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Quick Read

A fun and quick read. Great for reading on an airplane or while traveling. Basically, its like reading an Indiana Jones movie. Lots of action, very fast-paced, and the plot doesn't really matter (and doesn't have to be believable). Have fun with this book!

posted by ashleyann120 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    not bad

    interesting story, not great

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    I gave this book one star because there was no option for zero

    Dont waste your money on this piece of junk

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read

    Had read a couple of Cussler books but had been a while. Picked this up and have really enjoyed it. Quick easy read but keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Clive Cussler books (I've read 3) are WAY better than Tom Clancy's

    The Dirk Pitt series is a cross between the TV show JAG, and James Bond 007 movies! Unlike all the booring fluff of Tom Clancy's books, there's action from cover to cover with Clive Cussler. There's very little of the booring "what's everybody thinking about" in these books. If you want Action, gadgets, suspense, hard to predict plots, and a little romance, this is the series for you. If you're tired of hundreds of pages of self-contemplation, then this is the series for you. Try one and see the difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    Older in the Dirk Pitt series

    Not as well written as later books in this series, but still a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    full of surprises...

    Another fun Dirk Pitt adventure. This is a quick thrill ride with a lot of surprises. I absolutely love the characters of Dirk Pitt and his sidekick Al Giordino.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Great, short CC

    This was the first CC novel I read, and it got me hooked! It was short, but it was full of action. It made you feel like you were actually on a Mediterranean island yourself! Great detail, and it kept me coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Good one to see classic Cussler

    This is one of the best Dirk Pitt books out there, if you want to break into Cussler this is one you want to read. It's short, but packs one heck of a punch. Good to start with

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Great Read

    Clive Cussler novels are great for an escape into a world of adventure. I found it hard to put this one down. Perfect for a beach day or plane ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    I think I was the first one to read MC!

    Cussler is awesome, The combo of historical fact twisted with fiction never gets old. Dirk Pitt may be getting a little banged up at this point but I hope he has at least a couple more adventures in him!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Good but not new

    This book was published in 1977. Good book but not new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Not What I Had Expected

    Itwas an okay book, however the main point of the book was a fish! In other books of his that I have read it is something exciting, and it occurs separately, where in Mediterranean Caper, it was 'Hey look, I found the fish.' It just wasn't one of his best books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    An Awesome Story

    This is Clive's first published novel. If you enjoyed even a minute of the movie 'Pearl Harbor', you'll definitely enjoy this book. There is a dogfight between a lumbering PBY Catalina amphibious plane, and a World War I biplane that must be brought to the silver screen someday. We go from the dogfight to beneath the Mediterranean Sea and into a world of intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    Good, but not his best

    While this book keeps your blood pumping in his usual style, you can definately tell that this is one of the first Dirk Pitt novels written. Good and sound, but the enhanced detail of his later books could make this one of his best ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2000

    Clive does his best

    VERY GOOD!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Wonderful!

    I have read most of his novels and this one is not as intertwined with other plots, but Clussler does not let you down! Wonderful characters with drastic measures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10