BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mediterranean Caper (Dirk Pitt Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My 1st Clive Cussler read

I read this book around 1980, given to me by my brother after he finished. What a great start it was to the world of Clive Cussler (CC). We had just returned from two years in Turkey, so the geographical references were bright and spot on. I really enjoyed how CC so ...
I read this book around 1980, given to me by my brother after he finished. What a great start it was to the world of Clive Cussler (CC). We had just returned from two years in Turkey, so the geographical references were bright and spot on. I really enjoyed how CC so aptly described the details of not only the locations, but down to the way a dress would lay on the curvaceous body of Dirk's woman du jour.

I could not read this book fast enough, taking no more than a day and a half, interrupted only due to the hour in which I started being so close to bedtime. I read as much as I could before falling to sleep.

As his first Dirk Pitt novel, CC did show his Freshman writing, but he grabs the reader by the neck and shoves the adventure down your throat.
The seemingly non-stop action, coupled with a string theory collaboration of characters is a tremendous formula for success. It all leads to the first of so many "Only Dirk, Al, and the Good Guys/Girls can avert Global destruction by following insignificant clues" scenarios.

It also lead to a 30+ year family CC book swap meet between my brother and I, where one of us buys the newest release, devours it, then sends it to the other on a rotating basis. Thanks for all the memories, sir.

posted by Breykaleg on January 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Early Cussler - Rough but Entertaining

The VERY early Cussler was fun entertainment but a little rough around the edges. The plot was far fetched (aren't they all) and the hero was a little raw. Later efforts improved greatly, but I still enjoyed this one.

posted by Reader53TX on January 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My 1st Clive Cussler read

    I read this book around 1980, given to me by my brother after he finished. What a great start it was to the world of Clive Cussler (CC). We had just returned from two years in Turkey, so the geographical references were bright and spot on. I really enjoyed how CC so aptly described the details of not only the locations, but down to the way a dress would lay on the curvaceous body of Dirk's woman du jour.

    I could not read this book fast enough, taking no more than a day and a half, interrupted only due to the hour in which I started being so close to bedtime. I read as much as I could before falling to sleep.

    As his first Dirk Pitt novel, CC did show his Freshman writing, but he grabs the reader by the neck and shoves the adventure down your throat.
    The seemingly non-stop action, coupled with a string theory collaboration of characters is a tremendous formula for success. It all leads to the first of so many "Only Dirk, Al, and the Good Guys/Girls can avert Global destruction by following insignificant clues" scenarios.

    It also lead to a 30+ year family CC book swap meet between my brother and I, where one of us buys the newest release, devours it, then sends it to the other on a rotating basis. Thanks for all the memories, sir.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Love that Dirk Pitt!

    Pitt's cocky attitude makes these books! Definately worth the read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    Forget what my wife wrote up there before(only one star) shes just pissed because i like his books more than having sex with her, its great and i plan to read it over and over








    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Good start to the Dirk Pitt series

    Although definitely not the best Cussler novel, it's definitely worth the read if you're a fan, and unlike later Pitt novels, this one is a quick read at just a few hundred pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Kurt Austin vs. Dirk Pitt

    The Dirk Pitt¿ novels are just s great as the Kurt Austin¿ series. Gooo... Clive Cussler. He's the best writer in my book collection. Gooo... NUMA¿!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    waltread

    Hard to beat Clive Cussler for an action read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    I loved the story's twists & unexpected turns. I find Mysel

    I loved the story's twists & unexpected turns. I find Myself reading CC's stories from my Nook while I've got Google Earth running on my laptop to follow the geographical references.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    You won't put this down till you finish it.

    By far the best Clive Cussler I've read yet.
    From the first page you are into the action and suspense. It's not a particularly lengthy book, only a little over 200 pages so the fast action and exciting story makes this a great read for the long plane ride or a vacation read. Dirk Pitt is my kind of guy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Cool book

    Fairly good but the best durk pitt is cyclops by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Fun and Quick Read

    A fun and quick read. Great for reading on an airplane or while traveling. Basically, its like reading an Indiana Jones movie. Lots of action, very fast-paced, and the plot doesn't really matter (and doesn't have to be believable). Have fun with this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love it

    Love all clive cusslers books, tgis one was great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Great book!

    This was my firt Clive Cussler book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Kept you reading to see what happened next. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Page turner

    Highly recommend. Have read many but went back to series #1 with Dirk Pitt to start from beginning. A page turner that you cannot put down. The tie in to possible historic events is a plus. This is perfect for a relaxing weekend. Enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Early Cussler - Rough but Entertaining

    The VERY early Cussler was fun entertainment but a little rough around the edges. The plot was far fetched (aren't they all) and the hero was a little raw. Later efforts improved greatly, but I still enjoyed this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Nice early Cussler novel

    Dirk Pitt is one of my favorite characters in the world of books and he's making his debut in this whirlwind thriller. Cussler's early writing is defintitely not his best but it's still pretty good. The farther you get into the book the more detail comes into the writing. All the events weaved nicely and I was reading furiously for one action scene. One of my complaints is that Pitt seems a little stern in this novel but Clive explains that he's trying to regruop after losing someone(see Pacific Vortex!). And the biggest complaint I have is that the final scene does not live up to the endings of Clive's other works. The ending just seemed to happen with no action. Overall, it's nice and short with alot of punch and you can't help but read the next page. 4 out of 5 and a nice Christmas gift for any book lover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great Read, Classic Dirk Pitt

    Clive Cussler gripped me right away, hard to set this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Soldiers den

    Sleeps 18

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Med Caper

    Chronologically, Pacific Vortex is the first book even though it
    was published in 83. Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Not his best

    This was clearly a book written by an inexperienced novelist. If I hadn't already read his later books I wouldn't bother reading them based on this one. Plus, the chauvenism was a major problem. Thankfully, I've read his more mature works and know he improves.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Good enough for a second read

    I have been reading Clive Cussler for several years now. Since I recently purchased a Nook, I decided to start collecting his books in digital form. Re-reading the first in the Dirk Pitt series was very enjoyable. It was fun to see how Dirk has changed over the years. It was very enjoyable to be able to read it on my Nook. I look forward to collecting all of the Dirk Pitt series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10