Customer Reviews for

The Mediterranean Diet

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A diet you can live with that works

This book explains in easily understandable language how embracing the traditional Mediterranean diet and lifestyle will help you realize your potential for health and longevity. The authors provide a good deal of information about each food category as we...
This book explains in easily understandable language how embracing the traditional Mediterranean diet and lifestyle will help you realize your potential for health and longevity. The authors provide a good deal of information about each food category as well as practical guidelines for improving your well-being and quality of life. They discuss the importance of eating vegetables┬┐the heart and soul of the Mediterranean diet┬┐and what makes them so valuable. They also encourage you to eat more fish and impart useful tips to help you reduce your consumption of meat and shift to a more plant-based diet. Their eating plan is bolstered by an emphasis on the necessity of exercise, and they offer suggestions for fitting it into your day. They also point out the dangers of chronic stress and provide some techniques for managing and reducing it. You will never be bored with the Mediterranean diet, which boasts enormous diversity and is filled with satisfying, delicious dishes. To get you started, the book includes around twenty recipes and a menu plan to furnish inspiration and guidance. Beyond the dishes themselves lies a philosophy: life is to be savored, and food is a glorious expression of life. Meals are gatherings of people who genuinely want to spend time together, not inconvenient social obligations to be suffered through. As the authors remind us, the quality of the food as well as the manner and spirit in which it is handled are reflections of the quality of our lives. Handled and consumed with reverence, Mediterranean food is a celebration of life itself, a point also made in another book I strongly recommend: Sonia Uvezian's 'Recipes and Remembrances from an Eastern Mediterranean Kitchen,' which features recipes for hundreds of healthful and mouthwatering dishes. This volume has become a fixture in my kitchen, and I greatly enjoy reading and cooking from it.

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Quality of the text on eReader on my iPad is terrible

The clarity of this book on eReader on my iPad is unacceptable.

posted by 3392208 on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    A diet you can live with that works

    This book explains in easily understandable language how embracing the traditional Mediterranean diet and lifestyle will help you realize your potential for health and longevity. The authors provide a good deal of information about each food category as well as practical guidelines for improving your well-being and quality of life. They discuss the importance of eating vegetables¿the heart and soul of the Mediterranean diet¿and what makes them so valuable. They also encourage you to eat more fish and impart useful tips to help you reduce your consumption of meat and shift to a more plant-based diet. Their eating plan is bolstered by an emphasis on the necessity of exercise, and they offer suggestions for fitting it into your day. They also point out the dangers of chronic stress and provide some techniques for managing and reducing it. You will never be bored with the Mediterranean diet, which boasts enormous diversity and is filled with satisfying, delicious dishes. To get you started, the book includes around twenty recipes and a menu plan to furnish inspiration and guidance. Beyond the dishes themselves lies a philosophy: life is to be savored, and food is a glorious expression of life. Meals are gatherings of people who genuinely want to spend time together, not inconvenient social obligations to be suffered through. As the authors remind us, the quality of the food as well as the manner and spirit in which it is handled are reflections of the quality of our lives. Handled and consumed with reverence, Mediterranean food is a celebration of life itself, a point also made in another book I strongly recommend: Sonia Uvezian's 'Recipes and Remembrances from an Eastern Mediterranean Kitchen,' which features recipes for hundreds of healthful and mouthwatering dishes. This volume has become a fixture in my kitchen, and I greatly enjoy reading and cooking from it.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the book that got me started!

    I was desperate to try a different way to get healthy, not just for myself, but for my husband and six children as well. My husband and I both needed to lose at least 30+ lbs, and both of us have health issues, so we needed to get serious. I found this book, and was just drawn into it from the start. I read it like a novel, and learned more than I thought I would. The first shopping trip was a "shock", as I guess I didn't realize how poorly we must have been eating, since good food was quite expensive! Really, it was buying spices that I didn't have in my collection that took up the initial $. Now, it's buying what's on sale, and in season. I prep a lot of items as soon as I get them home, to save time. Busy people need this more, because it forces you to "slow down" a little to enjoy your food, instead of throwing it down your throat, the way I was used to doing. I take maybe an extra 10-15 minutes to make meals needed through lunch. Yes, my kids don't love everything, because they hate trying new things, but I just keep making small changes to the foods they do eat, hoping that will be a healthy start for them, that will lead to a lifetime of healthy habits. Now, if we "fall off" our eating habits due to holidays, or some other silly reason, we feel so horrible, we cannot wait to correct our diet again! It truly has worked for us, and I hope you will find that it works to make you feel better than you thought you ever could. :)

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    The Mediterranean Diet

    I have been trying out mediterranean books for usefulness for my life. I found this to be the most helpful. It explains the diet in a way I can adapt it to my life. I also think I may be able to spell Mediterranean correctly before this is over. The book is helpful for someone who needs a healthy diet and I believe it can be adjusted for other types of food. I would recommend it also for the price. Can't beat that either.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Very Informative

    This book is a great way to learn how to eat healthy meals. By doing so you will lose some weight and feel better about yourself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    Great Reading

    This books was a great read. More important, it was the most educational thing I have read regarding food categories, thir bebefits etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    NV

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    GREAT! BOOK!

    easy to understand, informative and has persuaded me to follow a more healthy way of eating. This is the ONLY guide Im following. ..nothing else. lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1