Customer Reviews for

The Medium Next Door: Adventures of a Real-Life Ghost Whisperer

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Kept your Attention

    Was a very good read. Very interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommended - A great read!

    This book is very helpful for anyone struggling with the gift of mediumship. The Medium Next Door helps de-mystify what mediumship is and how it ties in to everyday life and modern day religious beliefs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Great

    I love it its a great book read it youll falll in love with:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Maggy

    I thank god for angels here on earthh like maurine i live in the next town over from her and have been to her post cards from heaven events and there is nothing i can say that would fully accredit her gentle kindness with people this book is so genuine just like maurine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Must read

    So well written. Love this book...and this woman! Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    I loved the book!

    Found the book really enjoyable, I can actually say I'm not feeling so badly about people that have died and I feel like it's not such a scary thing that's going to happen to me someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Maureen's work is inspiring!

    Maureen is awesome. The book was good, but I have even better news! She has a brand new reality show "Psychic in Suburbia" premiering next Saturday, July 30 at 9pm ET/PT on The Style Network. Tune in to see Maureen work her magic!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Awesome-Incredible-Inspirational and a Blessing for all who read it

    I've been blessed to have met Maureen on 3 occasions at her Postcard from Heaven events since my 36 year old son Bobby died in September 2009.. I just began reading her book this morning and couldn't put it down until I finished it.. My son Bob, was my 3rd child that has died and it warms my heart more than I can say to know that I'm not crazy - that those sigsn I've felt are true and real and that they are just different...

    Thank you Maureen and I truly hope you will be able to join us in Arizona - our mom's bereavement group will be blessed to have you join us and I know you will benefit each of the moms.. In the meantime your book has been added to our library and I'm off to purchase 7 more for family & friends (and I'm sure they won't be the last).. I'm confident that within the first few chapters everyone who reads this, will find a comforting sense of peace.. and I have to mention that your wit, charm and phenominal spirit simply jumped off the pages as though you were sitting in the room with me today - so thank you - I've no doubt you are an angel and I'm so grateful that you came into my life and have allowed me to talk to my 3 wonderful children who as you eloguently put it, aren't gone - just different! Cherie H.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Ok...so having had a personal experience with Maureen, I already KNEW that she is the real deal. I don't know what I would have done if I didn't meet with her after my son passed in 2008. I cannot even find the words to relay that express my gratitude and admiration I have for this remarkable woman. I could not put this book down. A wonderful read, funny, enlightening, and honest. I literally did not put the book down, and read it in one long sitting. :) Wow. What a fantastic job! I am so looking forward to her television show, but I also hope she writes another book soon!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    A must read!!!

    Maureen is truly a gifted healer and writer. She has helped to heal so many lives and hearts, the absolute real deal......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Must read!

    The topic of Mediums is a very interesting one. There are many skeptics and with good reason. One meeting with Maureen Hancock and you will be a believer. The book chronicles her life and experiences as a Medium. It will make you laugh and it will make you cry. Once you read this book you will realize you are never truly without your lost loved ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Maureen is a gift from God for those in need of spiritual healing and comfort, she is the closest you can come to being in the prescence of an Angel.

    I cannot begin to tell you how excited I was to review The Medium Next Door. In her book Maureen walks you through her life and how she got to where she is today. Maureen was raised Irish Catholic in a large family of nine children. She begins her story with her life as a child and how a near death experience opened up her intuition allowing her to see spirits. She explains why she turned this off as a child until another tragic accident when she was 25 brought it all back plus more, now she could also hear spirits speaking.

    Maureen is a wife and mother of 2 boys and her everyday life is pretty normal consisting of getting her sons off to school in the morning and in the evening home for dinner, then off again for her Postcard from Heaven events, which keep her very busy. In between she manages her non-profit organizations: Seeds of Hope and Mission for the Missing. What I liked most about this book is how genuine and gentle a soul Maureen is and her passion for helping others to feel happiness through her readings. In chapter 17 "Tales from the Trenches" Maureen shares some readings and encounters which left me laughing and other times in tears. This book is part memoir with tips and suggestions you the reader can apply to your own life to help you heal if you have lost a loved one or to tune your own sensitive abilities. Abilities Maureen explains everyone has, just some are more in tune than others. Maureen is a gifted lady who uses her psychic gift including her gift of comedy to help her to connect spirits of the deceased with those that come to her in search of healing. I read The Medium Next Door in 2 days a record for me, I just had a hard time putting it down. Maureen speaks about her struggle with anxiety and depression due to her gift. I have only heard this talked about once before from a Medium and it only confirms Maureen is for real. This is something I share with her due to my own inner conflict with feelings of sensitivity. This book is a true inspiration and a must read for those who have the gift of being sensitive and for those who have lost loved ones due to tragedy or illness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1