Customer Reviews for

Medusa: A Kurt Austin Adventure (NUMA Files Series)

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tantalizing and Frighteningly Real

    In Medusa, a series of seemingly unrelated events combine into a cold, calculated scheme which will kill millions of people and dangle the fates of nations in the hands of a few Chinese madmen. The story begins in 1848 on the whaling ship, Princess, when the crew falls under a strange illness while sailing the Pacific. The strange potion that cures them is remarkable and most of the men live to a ripe old age, relatively free of disease.

    Years later, a strain of the virus which afflicted the men of the Princess, rears its ugly head again. Ruthless experiments on human patients test a cure of sorts, but the virus threatens to leap the bounds of containment and it's finally time to destroy the evidence - the patients themselves.

    A disgraced Chinese physician, Dr. Song Lee, is plucked from the remote countryside and rushed to assist with the research for a cure. Unfortunately, research performed at Bonefish Key is linked to a savage attack on a bathysphere, stranding two men on the bottom of a very cold, dark ocean. Rescue barely comes in time and the researchers struggle to understand how the two events are connected.

    Meanwhile, a Chinese criminal group with ties all around the world, disguises itself behind Pyramid, a huge organization with great power and influence. Dr. Lee's successes in working toward a cure for the virus threaten Pyramid's plans to allow a worldwide outbreak, with Pyramid holding the only vaccine. As such, Pyramid could name its price for the vaccine, enslaving governments desperate to save their people. Dr. Lee cannot be allowed to continue. A ruthless assassin closes in to silence Dr. Lee once and for all!

    Fast paced and frighteningly real, this book is a real page turner. Crisp details of massive submarines, undersea laboratories, government politics and twisted, insane minds are interwoven with the bonds of friendship, technical expertise, love and desperation into a riveting account. From the moment you crack the cover, you won't want to put this book down. Worthy of a second read, to catch some of the details.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Crap

    I read the sample in english, then when i bought it. The stinking book is in spanish.. really pisses me off. I want a refund

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Quest of hesta

    Help me hesta cries she sees u and smiles before frowning then screaming shes here! Dont use your eyes! Medusa cackles as a fury swoops in and carries of hesta. I will tell u wherer shes gone if u defeat me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    I stopped reading this book about halfway through. It isn't a ba

    I stopped reading this book about halfway through. It isn't a bad book - I simply lost interest. It is still worth giving it a go, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Holly

    Thank you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Janary 28,2012

    I hate this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Paid by the word

    To those who like this book you must have pretty low standards. In addition being slow and predictable there were some glaring errors. First you can't change the genetics of an organism that is a community organism. They do not share the same DNA. Second you do not buddy breath any more. All scuba setups have two seperate air hoses. Finally if I read about his "coral blue eyes" one more time I will scream.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The first chapter was great

    It had been a while since I read a Clive Cussler novel. I read the first chapter in the store and bought the book to finish it. The first chapter is vintage Cussler. It grabbed me instantly. The rest of the book was an enjoyable high seas adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Exciting Action-Adventure Yarn!

    This is my very first Clive Cussler novel. I listened to the CD version before reading and I became hooked on Cussler's work. Not many authors today avoid excessive language and violence. Clive Cussler is a brilliant writer and a gentleman. The Ernest Hemmingway of the 21st century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Somewhat slow at times

    This was another easy to read and somewhat easy to follow book by Cussler. I've read them all and by far my least favorite is the Kurt Austin story lines. OK OK I have to say I am really partial to Dirk Pitt and the way those stories are written. But I am finding Iassic Bell to be as good. Read the Chase, The Wrecker and The Spy All pretty good yarns!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The same stuff different book

    I reads like many of Cusslers books but still enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    well done

    very well done and exciting. Of the various authors with whom Cussler collaborates, the series with Kemprecos is one of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    RE: my idea

    This book was not one of my favorites or what I believe to be one of his best. It was a little slow in some areas but not too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Another good book from Clive Cussler

    Any book I have ever read by Mr. Cussler has always been a great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Richard

    I have read all Clive Cussler books and find them great. I ESPECIALLY like Dirk Pitt novels. The books are without bad language, sex and blood. The writing leaves enough to the imagination to keep you reading.
    Preferrably, I would like Cussler to stick to Dirk Pitt as a base, but realize this may not be practical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another extremely exciting, fast pace can not put it down Cussler book. While one might say the Cussler books are all the same like the John Grisham books. The only common thread, quite necessarily are the main characters after that it is a good

    deal of inovative thought. While a bit far featched there is enough underlying facts supported by today's realities to make the story near believable. As my wife asks after reading all of Cussler's " can't put it down" books, " Why don't they make it into a movie "

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Topical plot

    The plot revolves around a possible pandemic. Like SARS, it originates in China, but all is not what it appears to be, which makes for a good story.

    Medusa, like Cussler's other books, contain a lot of nautical information. It is a easy read, and unlike some popular authors, is isn't filled with blank pages and short chapters.

    The plot has a few holes in it, which is why I am giving it 4 stars. Most readers will not have the technical background to spot them, which is why I am not listing them. Medusa is a good story, and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Medusa

    Medusa, the adult stage of a jellyfish, whose sting can be painful.

    Clive Cussler does it again. Another great book in the "Numa File" series. Those that enjoy his adventure style of writing will not be disappointed. It is hard to put this book down (as is usual with his books),once you start reading. One wants to read it straight through from beginning to end, but if you can, stretch it out over seversl days. You will not be disappointed. Now the wait begins for the next book from the "Master" of adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Medusa

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    MEDUSA triumphs over Triad

    Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala have another suspense-filled and thrilling adventure as they put a stop to the criminal triad's plan to take over China at the expense of half the world's population. With the help of a beautiful (what else) Chinese scientist they and the rest of the NUMA team prevail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6