Customer Reviews for

The Medusa Stone

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent thriller

    After his adventures and romance in Alaska and Hawaii, mining engineer Dr. Philip Mercer is bored writing reports in DC. He mentions his lethargy to his eighty-year old drinking buddy Harry White. Undersecretary of State for African Affairs Prescott Hyde tries to hire Philip to locate a large diamond mine in the dangerous Northern Eritea. In spite of showing pictures taken from the Medusa satellite that crashed a decade ago, neither Prescott nor partner Selome Nagast convince Philip that a lode as large as that in South Africa has gone undetected. <P>Philip¿s mind is changed when a group of Mid-eastern terrorists abduct Harry, threatening to kill him if the mining engineer fails to find the mine in six weeks. Philip races to Africa to begin to search for a needle that might not exist in a haystack overrun by terrorists, outlaws, and deadly land mines. Philip quickly realizes that a second group is also interested in obtaining the diamond mine. Both groups share the goal that Philip must die. <P>With novels like CHARON¿S LANDING, VULCAN¿S FORGE, and now THE MEDUSA STONE, Jack DuBrul is proving he is one of the leaders of adventurous intrigue novels. The story line of his latest thriller continually ebbs and flows, but each new spurt builds the tension even further until the audience realizes that this is a one sitting novel in spite of its size. Philip is a fabulous lead character and the support cast brings to life Eritea and some questionable activities in the Mediterranean area. However, in hindsight what makes Mr. DuBrul¿s novel a strong candidate for adventure book of the year is the brilliant infusion of Eritea, its people and customs woven into a dramatic plot. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    mercer does not disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Dirk Pitt Meets Indiana Jones

    This story will be welcomed by those fans of Clive Cussler's and of the IJ movies. The hero of the story, Mercer, combines the love of geology and spelunking with a knack for getting into dangerous spots ... and then getting back out. For those who are interested in reading the series, you should definitely read them in the order written - you'll appreciate a lot of the tongue-in-cheek references to earlier stories. I bought five of Mr DuBrul's books and read them all in four days - and I'm looking forward to his next efforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Hold Your Breath

    This book actually had me holding my breath. There is one scene so tense, so gut wrenching, that I suddenly realized I was getting lite headed. I was so wrapped up in the read that the scene was having a physical affect on me. Now that's good writing. I recomended the book to a friend who had to put it down at this same scene. He waited a month before going back to finish because it had such a powerful effect on him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    Bloody Good FUN!!

    I gotta admit, if you haven't read anything by Jack Du Brul, you ARE missing out! I honestly can't remember HOW I got linked up with his books, but I CAN tell you I will NOT let another book come hot off the press without me being there to pick it up on it's first day of release. Like many avid readers I have a short list of 'Absolute Favorite Authors' who I buy sight-unseen no matter what...add to that short list the name of Jack Du Brul. After a rather dull streak I found a copy of 'Vulcan's Forge' (used copy, I might add) and immediately I knew I had discovered something I was going to become attached to. I can't remember the last novel I have read by a first-time author that I enjoyed MORE. I also keep seeing these reviews who compare Du Brul with Cussler. Normally I would say that comparing someone to the Supreme Author of Action/Adventure fiction is just plain unfair...however after finishing 'Charon's Landing' I felt that the comparisons were more and more accurate. By the time I finished 'The Medusa Stone' I began to think that Cussler has in fact met his match. It is sad to think that someone, ANYONE could replace Dirk Pitt as my favorite adventurer in modern fiction...but Phillip Mercer is gaining ground, and he's doing it F-A-S-T. The plot of 'Medusa Stone' is complex, with many sub-plots moving in all directions...but NEVER without a purpose. No matter HOW far off the plot you THINK the story is going, don't worry--Du Brul KNOWS what he is doing, and he ties it all together in the end very nicely. The action is on just about every page, with intrigue piled on top of treachery on top of suspense. Just bloody good FUN! The best thing about NOT having read ANYTHING by Jack Du Brul is that you have something really cool to look forward TO: Three novels to read back-to-back! Now IF you are really lucky, and you time yourself just right, you might be able to finish 'Medusa Stone' in time to pick up the next Mercer adventure (hopefully we won't have to wait TOO LONG...hint, hint...). Simply put, if you consider yourself a Dirk Pitt fan, do yourself a SUPREME favor and get to know Phillip Mercer. Don't worry, don't think of it as cheating on Cussler, 'cuz Clive actually LOVES Du Brul, too! Don't wait! Head to the bookstore NOW! Hurry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    WOW! JACK HAS OUTDONE HIMSELF!

    This book shows that Jack has come into his own! Medusa Stone is jam packed with everything that an action adventure novel needs and more! The story line is tight and intriquing. By the end of the book you have to run for a glass of water. You go through every emotion possible in this story. Jack Du Brul has proven himself to be worthy of praise from Clive Cussler! Jack will be with us for many years! The only drawback was that the book didn't come out in hardback! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    An excellent page turner!!!

    I happened upon The Medusa Stone by accident in the book store. I never heard of the writer before, but figured I would give it a shot. I have to tell you that ever since I read that book, Jack Du Brul is now my favorite new author!! I can't wait until he puts out a new novel. His writing style was very comfortable. He wrote in a way that I could relate to, especially with his humor. I would recommend any one of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Medusa Stone--Another Bestseller

    ¿Medusa Stone¿ is Jack Du Brul¿s latest foray into the swirling vortex that is the life of Dr. Philip Mercer. From Tiny¿s Bar in Washington DC to Leonardo da Vinci Airport in Rome to the Valley of Dead Children in the war-torn African nation of Eritrea, Du Brul follows the latest exploits of his hero, known to friend, foe, and fan alike as Mercer, and his not-quite trust-worthy ¿partner¿ Selome Nagast as they hunt for a treasure greater than any ever found in the ravages of the Eritrean desert. The regular cast of Harry White, jockey-turned-bar-keep Tiny, and FBI Director Dick Henna make their appearances, along with a new cast of villains, which make this book one of the best reads of the year. ¿Medusa Stone¿ reaffirms Mr. Du Brul¿s already solid reputations as one of the dominant new authors today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    Jack is back and better than ever.

    Jack DuBrul's new book grabs you from the start and keeps you glued to the pages till the end. Mercer is offered the opportunity to search Africa for a new diamond mine, but declines. However, he is forced to reconsider after his friend, Harry, is kidnapped. Given an ultimatium, time wise, Mercer must rush to find the mine and somehow rescue Harry. Unknown to Mercer is the presence of a second group interested in the mine. Both groups share an interest, finding the mine, but for totally different ends. From his arrival in the Rome airport until the final air combat over the Red Sea Mercer is faced with numerous almost unsurmountable obstacles. Using his knowledge, skill and hunches he, with help from a few select confidantes, is able to solve the riddle of the Medusa photographs. The book grabbed me from the start and kept me enthralled all the way through. By far the best of Jack's books. Looking forward to number four, Pandora's Curse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    DuBrul's third winner

    Jack DuBrul is back and has another winner with his third novel, The Medusa Stone. The story centers around Phillip Mercer, geologist and adventurer extraordinaire. From his home in Washinton DC where his best friend is kidnapped, to strife ridden Eritrea in Northern Africa this is one fast paced action packed thriller. DuBrul's writing has the ability to put you right in the action and with this book there is lots of it. Phillip Mercer is under pressure to save his friend's life and solve the riddle of The Medusa Project with the help of his friend Dick Mercer in the FBI. The plot is brillant and sophisticated and will have you turning the pages at a furious pace until the dramatic conclusion is revealed. As with his two previous books, Charon's Landing and Vulcan Forge the writing, plot and cast of returning characters makes this book an absolute must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1