Customer Reviews for

Meet Addy: An American Girl (American Girls Collection Series: Addy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

i loved this book

This book was awesome I really loved it. I really love your books about Addy's family growing up on plantation during the Civil War. Thank you Connie Porter your book really changed the way I think of the civil war!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I was very dissapointed in this book. I am not about to share wi

I was very dissapointed in this book. I am not about to share with my five year old daughter, "He was tracked down by Maser Stevens dogs and brought back. He was tied to a tree and beaten with a whip by Master Stevens. When the beatings were over Sam's back was cov...
I was very dissapointed in this book. I am not about to share with my five year old daughter, "He was tracked down by Maser Stevens dogs and brought back. He was tied to a tree and beaten with a whip by Master Stevens. When the beatings were over Sam's back was covered with blood." No, that does not make for a great bed time story for my little girl. There is an appropriate time and place for everything and this is an inappropriate place. I wasted money on the first of the series but will throw it away and certainly not get another. I will also share this information with my friends.

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Nvhv

    Addy is a slave who work from morning to night. She lives in a very small cottage that has no windows. Her brother sam, her baby sister esther, her poppa and her momma all live in the cotage. She dreams of being able to read and write. She has to serve master stevens and de worm the plants. She also has to carry the water pails. one night she heard her parents talking about escaping. Then one day she hears master stevens talking about selling her brother and poppa. And he does. She escapes but she takes a person and has to leave one behined after the master made her eat a worm. I think this book was wonderful and is recomended for ages 7+ but im eleven. This book makes me apreciate living in this time era sooooo much more. Thanks for reading my review,

    Ally Kitty

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    i loved this book

    This book was awesome I really loved it. I really love your books about Addy's family growing up on plantation during the Civil War. Thank you Connie Porter your book really changed the way I think of the civil war!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Meet Addy: An American Girl (American Girls Collection Series: Addy #1)

    I think kids ages 7-11 will enjoy this book very much. This book was about a nine(9) year old girl who is a slave and tries to escape to freedom. This story really helps you understand how slaves were treated in 1864. (great for book discussions)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Loved reading with daughter...great for history!

    Well written and just enought hisoritcal facts for kids to learn without realizing they are even learning. This series lead to many discussions with my daughter and I. My daughter is 8 and truly enjoyed reading this aloud with me. She is now on book 3 in the series and loves it! I do recommend an adult reading with the younger child as the dialect of this time can be hard for the kids to understand. (Nothing against the author...it is the time period)! Thanks for a great book that gave us great mother-daughter time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    A fast read with important lessons

    If you like history and learning about the time of slavery, then this is a book you will enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2002

    An exciting! book on the life on a slave girl. One of the best!

    The life of Addy a slave girl, running from a plantation was an exciting adventure! How her mother and herself made their lives change dramaticly from slavery. I was really touched when reading this fantastic book. Once you read it you'll be touched too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Exciting, enchanting, and riveting

    I began reading this series to my 3 year old, and she (and I) can't get enough. The book captures a frightening period of history without watering it down, while keeping it exciting for the reader. I found myself reading ahead after my daughter had gone to bed! A winner for girls of any race.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    Great book

    This is a good book for a younger audience. I read it when i as about 9 and i keep reading it becuase it is the best one in the American girl collection

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    hellokitty

    Cool book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Great book!!

    Read this book independently and loved it! Decided to do it on a book report. It really helped me learn about that time period in an exciting way. Two thumbs up for me :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    :$

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Book

    Is this an awesome book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    LOVE

    I love this book im 11 this book is so good it guves me things to read when im bored but im never bored bescause i cant stop reading it...... i think im going to buy the rest of the books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    OMG crush help

    I HAVE A CRUSH! Date time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    The great african american addy

    This was a very good book about slavery i like ths book its so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Prittygirlasia

    I liked it i just dont like white peple think there better then us when were all the same

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great!

    Very , good for peple who love histroy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    My Review On Meet Addy An American Girl

    I loved this book. This teaches you exactly how harsh blacks were treated, and how important Dr. Martin Luther King Junior's job was. This book has many exiting details,and adventoruos actions and characters. Overall this book is short and easy to read, a great book, and something you could carry along easily. I loved this book from start to finish, and I hope you will too!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    great searies

    i enjoyed this whole searies it was so touching to see what slavery did to the people back then. this searies makes you happy sad , and happy again. it was just amazing i recommend it for any age and it is a good way to learn about slavery with out anything to graphic.or to upsetting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Great

    I think it is interesting to see how the lives of slaves were. It was terrible, even if the book was good. [the slaves life was terrible] This is a good history book, and I knew more than my teacher about slavery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2