Customer Reviews for

Meet Kaya: An American Girl (American Girls Collection Series: Kaya #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Care & Concern of Others.

Let's step back in time to 1764. Open the door and look into the past. We go back to a time when Native Americans lived by hunting and gathering to acquire daily food. In this novel we meet Kaya and her family {including her father (Toe-Ta); her mother (Eetsa); her olde...
Let's step back in time to 1764. Open the door and look into the past. We go back to a time when Native Americans lived by hunting and gathering to acquire daily food. In this novel we meet Kaya and her family {including her father (Toe-Ta); her mother (Eetsa); her older sister (Brown Deer); her younger twin brothers (Wing Feather & Sparrow); her father's parents (Kalutsa & Aalah); Speaking Rain; Steps High (her horse); Raven and Fox Tail}. Kaya learns many lessons in this well developed and intriguing storyline; in the storyline is the 1805 Lewis & Clark expedition. In the section titled "Looking Back 1764, A Peek Into The Past" readers will learn fascinating facts about the Nez Perce Indians and their lives. This section is rich with culture, traditions, and history. All of this is between the covers of "Meet Kaya: An American Girl 1764", the first book in the Kaya series.

posted by EGHunter01 on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SUCKS!!!!!!

i really think i fell aslep in the first minet of the book!! it is the most boring begining ever known to man kind!!! i hate how it has no plot!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Care & Concern of Others.

    Let's step back in time to 1764. Open the door and look into the past. We go back to a time when Native Americans lived by hunting and gathering to acquire daily food. In this novel we meet Kaya and her family {including her father (Toe-Ta); her mother (Eetsa); her older sister (Brown Deer); her younger twin brothers (Wing Feather & Sparrow); her father's parents (Kalutsa & Aalah); Speaking Rain; Steps High (her horse); Raven and Fox Tail}. Kaya learns many lessons in this well developed and intriguing storyline; in the storyline is the 1805 Lewis & Clark expedition. In the section titled "Looking Back 1764, A Peek Into The Past" readers will learn fascinating facts about the Nez Perce Indians and their lives. This section is rich with culture, traditions, and history. All of this is between the covers of "Meet Kaya: An American Girl 1764", the first book in the Kaya series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Overall Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think 'Meet Kaya' is great! It was one of the first American Girl books that I've read. I read it in first grade, but didn't really understand becuse I had no background knowledge on Native Americans. But I reread it during the summer of 2nd grade and guess what...? I understood it! I love American Girl so I have almost all the books except the Julie series, some be your best books, and the brand-new books. I read at least 1 of them each day. They are so great that I've read each of them about 5 times! That's why I gave it 5 stars: American Girl Rocks! I hope you read the American Girl series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    SUCKS!!!!!!

    i really think i fell aslep in the first minet of the book!! it is the most boring begining ever known to man kind!!! i hate how it has no plot!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    This is a great book!!!

    Are you a girl who is interested in learing about the history of Native Americans? Well if you are, this book is perfect for you! It's about a Nez Perce girl named Kaya, growing up in 1764. Kaya has a strong spirit and a good heart growing up so long ago. Meet Kaya was the first American Girl book i had ever read, and I just love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    LOVE it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    When i read it i wanted to read it over and over, i highly recomed this book:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    :)

    This is the best book ever
    *kisses nook*
    Ppl should rlly read this book.

    If u love amarican girls u should rlly get the other ones!!!!!!!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Get a free ipad!!!!!!!!!

    Kiss your hand ,post this on three diffrent books,and look under your pillow:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Really good dtails

    I realy liked this book with all of the details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    :)

    Awesome! ~giggles~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    $7 or $6

    You who said im not paying $7 its $5.99

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Oh yay!

    Beheejeb fjd ediwhf eje f suryrhf chne v c chdjde fjfutjwrf je djd dhdbejeebfj ddigghhhhhbghhhhhyhyyhhhhy yjjjjjeughfkfjksfnejssfffdekd dddkdnfyfeifhjfdbfxuehcfdcfdhwhdhfufeeudd
    Fmjdjdffkfkdqdffekyfffjddksjfbeiqpwddkdcjvb dn jc djzjf fjufhfjehfehue hejjejeu fhfhfhfjfjfjdjdjd hfhfhffdjdd hdudfddfddhfyfbe dfh dhchfuiwuhfjfhrc dqwerty is having zfun i love nmeet kaya fddhfhfebccxdc by Rebekah Laneh Jane Allen Gentry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Well

    I llike kaya and american girl but this is ridic!!!
    Almost 7$ for an E BOOK!!!!
    For 7$ you can buy the actual book!!!
    Its a short book, like 50 pages, and its not worth it!!!
    Here american girl goes again, only caring about how much money they get.
    WELL IM NOT PAYING SEVEN DOLLARS FOR THIS BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Bloody over priced

    Gooooooood book i got the whole series in books at barns and noble. It was for like $12:) that is wap

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Favorite

    Awsume you that said it sucks whatever. you have to love this thing. Kaya :) luv it :) :) :) :) :) its not :( its :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    My favorate

    Kaya is my favorate American Girl. She is different from the others, being an Indian, or Native American. Kaya, or kayatonmy, as her full name is, is a lively New Perce girl, who loves horses and all animals and hopes to be a warrior women like Swan Circling, her hero. I like Kaya because shes different. My favorate kaya book is Kayas escape. I hated it when I grew to old to be reading American Girl books! I have five american girl dolls, Samantha, Nellie, who used to be my favorate, Felicity, who was given to me by my neighbor, my own american girl doll Nature, and Kirsten. So I hope you enjoy the American girl books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    alright

    i love all all the other books in american girl series, i thought kaya seemed hard for the age group it was recommanded for. but i did how ever enjoy it. but i dont think a 7yr old would follow especially the look in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    I am a big Kaya fan

    I thought this book was incredible. Meet Kaya educational and fun at the same time. I really recamend this book for kids of all ages. When I read Meet Kaya I felt like I was inside her world. That is why I give Meet Kaya 5 stars. If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2003

    This book was really good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I got the Kaya Boxed set on Christmas, but just started reading it this summer. I think they were all worth 5 stars! Meet Kaya starts out with Kaya watching her mischivous twin brothers Wing Feather and Sparrow. Her father says that her hourse Steps High Isn't ready to race yet. But when a rude boy makes fun of Steps High and challenges Kaya to race.Kaya can't help but to except the challenge, but when she gets back And has to find her Brothers. She has to face all the children being whiped by the whipwomen for her terible mistake, and not to mention a nickname the children will never let her forget.A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    A new world of adventure

    I've loved the American Girl series since the beginning, and with Kaya the series takes on a completely new dimension. Not only do we get a great story, but we get to learn about a different and wonderful culture that makes Kaya, in my mind, my favorite American Girl of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2