Customer Reviews for

Meet Kit: An American Girl (American Girls Collection Series: Kit #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

There is an awesome Kit Kitridge book wait for YOU to read it!

Extra good book!Extra good book!Meet Kit is a great book for children about 7 and up.Kit was living through some hard times.It get even harder when Kit's dad loses his job!Will Kit and her family have to live on the streets or will everything be okay?Read this amazing K...
Extra good book!Extra good book!Meet Kit is a great book for children about 7 and up.Kit was living through some hard times.It get even harder when Kit's dad loses his job!Will Kit and her family have to live on the streets or will everything be okay?Read this amazing Kit adventure to find out!

posted by Jocelyn123 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nevermind.

Ywan.

posted by 15470668 on March 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Money $$$ Matters

    1934 Meet Kit - Growing up during America's Great Depression Kit learns to value money $$$$ and understands why money matters to people and what money is used to purchase. Some sacrifices need to be made during these troubled times for Kit, her family, and people across the USA. This novel is good for a history lesson on the Great Depression in the USA, it could even explain what is happening during the present USA recession from 2008 until the present time with unemployment, homelessness, and some people's feeling of hopelessness. Kit finds hope and opportunity in the many changes that occur in her family and home. This story encourages readers to stay hope-filled and be ready to face present and future challenges.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Welcome to the kit adoption center! Click here for rules and map

    Hello and welcome! I am Lavender, owner of the Kit Adoption Center. It is my job to make sure every kit gets a happy, safe, and secure life. If you request to adopt a kit, l will go to your clan and read your posts to see what type of cat you are. If you ae a cruel, unfair, and neglectful cat, l will not alow you to adopt a kit. Even after you adopt a kit, l will be checking in periodicly to see how the kit is doing. If the kit is unhappy for any reason, l will alow the kit to come back. If you are nice but the kit does not want to go home with you for any reason, you will not be alowed to adopt the kit. I apoligize for the inconvience. ***WORKERS NEEDED***


    &#9825 Map &#9825
    &star Result one: Rules and Map &star
    &star Result two: Bios &star
    &star Result three: Adoption office &star
    &star Result four: Kits &star
    &star Result five: Nursery &star


    Please follow these rules and take good care of the kits!
    -Lav &#9829

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Cat

    Godmodder. She dodges put of the way then disappears into the bushes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Nice Book

    I'm rating it 4**** because I liked it.And liked it because of the story.And I liked every single thing on it.There's no bad part in it.Except for 2 things.(1)Boarders(2)The Deppresion.WHY did they have to put that in? Why not some other historical thing?It's to DEPRESSING!!!But the boarders were bad!But if they'd cut out those parts it'd be better!Not that I didn't like the book!I loved it!I'm still reading Kit's Suprise though.I'm going to read every single American Girls book that's ever written!I've aleardy finished Samantha & Molly but there's still more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2002

    I love this book.

    This book is great. I would recommend this book to other kids to read. This book takes place during the time of the Great Depression in 1934. People were loosing their jobs. Kit's mom had a garden club and one lady lost her job. Kit's mom offered them to stay there. When Kit found out her dad had lost his job, she was scared. Before her dad told Kit that he had lost his job at the auto shop; Kit's brother told her before he did. Her mom was making a boarding home with nurses. The reason they were hosting a boarding house was so they could get money to pay of the house. They had a loan from the bank to pay off. That's what this wonderfull story was all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2002

    a reviewer

    This book is realy great. I thought it was very close to real life during the great depression in 1934. This book was about a girl named Kit. She was a very determined little girl. When she found out her dad had lost his job at the auto shop she was worried that they would be evicted from their house. So her mother decided to start a boarding house. There was a nurse, a doctor, and a lady from the mothers garden club. They had to have a boarding house because they needed the money to keep their house. They had a loan on their house so they had to pay off the bank to keep it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Education in a fun way

    This book was a great book. It was not like one of those boring history books. Kit is a 10 year old girl who is living during the 1930's. Otherwise know as the great deppression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    All About Meet Kit

    Kit is a 9 year old girl living in the 1930s. I always love my grandmothers stories and Kit is almost as old as her. Meet Kit is better than any other of my grandma's stories! Meet Kit is a great book that not only girls but mothers too will like. I am a 9 year old girl and at night I always read Kit's stories with my mom and my mom likes them too! Is Meet Kit better than any of your grandma's stories? Read Meet Kit and find out for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1