Customer Reviews for

Meet the Annas: A Musical Novel

Average Rating 3
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

Though it took me a while to get into it, overall it was a good read. The flashbacks vs. the present jumps are a little disorienting. I was not bothered by the swearing, it made sense for the story and was used colloquialy. Worth the read if you like recent music histor...
Though it took me a while to get into it, overall it was a good read. The flashbacks vs. the present jumps are a little disorienting. I was not bothered by the swearing, it made sense for the story and was used colloquialy. Worth the read if you like recent music history and crime shows and are willing to keep plugging along reading during the slow setup.

posted by 14819542 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Offensive language

Deleted due to offensive language. When will it ever end?

posted by br549GA on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Interesting

    Though it took me a while to get into it, overall it was a good read. The flashbacks vs. the present jumps are a little disorienting. I was not bothered by the swearing, it made sense for the story and was used colloquialy. Worth the read if you like recent music history and crime shows and are willing to keep plugging along reading during the slow setup.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great

    The story gets more and more intense as you go along! ABOUT IN THE MIDDLE IT GETS HARDER TO PUT DOWN!!! JMM

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    This was a freebie from Barnes and Noble Nook. I really liked it

    This was a freebie from Barnes and Noble Nook. I really liked it.
    Enjoyed the setting of early 60's New York and LA music scene. It was
    well written and I loved the characters. The book has a bit of
    everything - lost love, murder, mayhem and court room drama. It also
    really takes you into the making of a song. I have read some reviews
    about the cursing. I didn't find it a problem. Less cursing than what
    you would find on TV or on the streets or in our schools. The lead
    character - Dink Stephenson - is a believable character and I love how
    he tells us his story. It goes back and forth between the 60's to
    present day. I enjoy a book that puts a twist in time. Keeps you alert.
    And yes I would love to read more books by Robert Dunn.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not sure what the complaints are all about. I thought this w

    I'm not sure what the complaints are all about. I thought this was well written, interesting and entertaining. Maybe for us "older" folks who are more familiar with the girl bands (imitating them in our basements, pretending we were "supreme") rather than for those younger people who listen to whatever it is that they listen to today. It got better right along until you couldn't wait to see who did what and why. I got it for free, so maybe my opinion is skewed, but I still would have enjoyed it even if I had paid for it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Great journey to the 60's

    I tuly enjoyed this book! Great transitions from the present to the past, as if I was in the main characters mind, feeling his disorientation returning to the present. One of the best free books I've read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Interesting story

    I liked this book! No it was not the best story I have ever read, but it kept my attention. Good if you like music- maybe age 16 & up because of language and themes. Agree with others that say the end is a bit unbelievable but otherwise an entertaining book- a 33 yr old english teacher.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Stay with it

    This was my first experience with a Nook book. While maybe not the best written, I stayed with it and found it a fast interesting read especially having lived during the time period. Thanks B&N for the free read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Very Good

    Enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Good book.

    I thought Meet The Annas was fascinating. I don't know how acurate they were, but the descriptions of how the songs were written and recorded seemed quite realistic. When I listen to some of the old songs mentioned in the story again, like Up On The Roof, it will have new meaning. The relationships of the Annas to the other groups in the 60s was believable. I also enjoyed picturing in my mind the areas of New York city and LA where the story took place. It wasn't a feel-good story but it was about the music industry in the 60s, which I imagine was rough. I will read another book by Robert Dunn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Growing up in CA in the early 70's I loved the iconic references. Language? Normal adult talk. Is this for the young tweens? No! Adults that grew up in So Cal will love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Nostalgic, enjoyable

    This book takes you back in time remembering the music of the late 50's to early 60's. intriguing, with likable characters. Once through the first chapter the transitions from the past to the present that the book represents were smooth. I am interested in reading the other Musical Novels by Robert Dunn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Fun and interesting

    It's entertaining. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    A nice story

    It starts a little slow, but the story keeps unfolding and becomes more complex as it moves along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2