BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Meet the Earl at Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is Gina Conkle's entertaining debut, the first in her Midni

This is Gina Conkle's entertaining debut, the first in her Midnight Meetings series.
Edward, earl of Greenwich, needs an heir. After his older brother’s untimely death and a self-imposed deadline, Miss Lydia Montgomery, a commoner, will have to do especially since it wi...
This is Gina Conkle's entertaining debut, the first in her Midnight Meetings series.
Edward, earl of Greenwich, needs an heir. After his older brother’s untimely death and a self-imposed deadline, Miss Lydia Montgomery, a commoner, will have to do especially since it will also settle her stepfather’s debt. Of course, she has no say in the matter and, as is common in this genre’s time period, there are themes of the manipulation of women.
“Her womb was a negotiation piece.”
Lydia is an on-the-shelf spinster at the age of twenty-four, an artist, and a very willful, assertive, and perceptive heroine. She is a victim of her time, yet she makes the very best of things. I love how she views the sunny side of life by taking her own destiny into her hands. She is not afraid to ask the imposing Edward direct questions and lets him know that she will not tolerate infidelity.
After a youthful indiscretion, Lydia was living quietly with her Great-Aunt Euphemia, much like Maria Bertram in Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park. After her initial shock at being sold in marriage, Lydia recognizes the advantages of marriage to a peer as his great influence and power in Polite Society will allow her to freely pursue her art.
“She shouldn’t take a nursemaid’s scolding tone with nobility, but thunder cracked overhead, a reminder of the nasty storm, and her patience ran dry. She had things to do come daybreak.”
Edward is a botanist whose reclusive nature and striking physical scars have earned him many unflattering monikers: “The Phantom of London. Enigma Earl. The Greenwich Recluse.”  He is rumored to be mad, disfigured, or both. Most women of his class have not been able to see past the scars, until Lydia. He reminded me of Sebastian Easton from Lorraine Heath’s She Tempts the Duke but this story is much more lighthearted in tone. 
Edward values intelligence and facts and Lydia’s forthrightness knocks his tight little socks off. She vexes him, exasperates him and, eventually, beguiles him.
"Wasn’t food or sex what most men clamored for? Keep those appetites sated, and a woman could do what she wanted."
Edward hides himself both physically and emotionally from everyone, something Lydia will not tolerate. He is a quiet, studious, and orderly man who dislikes female histrionics disturbing his peaceful world. This personality sometimes creates some wonderfully funny moments in the story. He also dresses very casually, not bothering with a valet or fashionable clothes representative of his station. And never was the description of a man’s open collar so sexy and alluring. He has no patience for fripperies at the same time he acknowledges their existence. His love and devotion to science are similar to Lydia’s feelings toward her art.
"Plants, thankfully, never demanded conversation."
But Lydia distracts him terribly and this creates some searing sexual tension—it seems their intimate moments are constantly interrupted—but there is only one sex scene in the entire book. Their conversations are often tart and witty and they are among the highlights of the entire story. I love Lydia’s cheekiness and directness. In one scene, when Edward comments on her lack of fashion after her dress the morning after he brings her to his home, she sarcastically reminds him she doesn’t have any other clothes, then proceeds to rip into him on his own stained clothing and less-than-elegant appearance. It’s a grand set-down worthy of Elizabeth Bennet to Fitzwilliam Darcy.
Fimbriate petals morphed into a chocolate-haired woman with a proud walk and delectable form wrapped in white velvet.”
As they get to know one another, Edward finds he wants to make Lydia happy yet he is torn by his duty to his family and himself. He longs to do what he wants, unlike his own father, an astronomer. This causes problems between him and Lydia as, the more she gets to know him, the more she comes to love him and enjoy his company. All Lydia wants is a place and time to paint; not jewels or clothes and this shocks him.
"Her coy words neatly parried to his thrust."
Edward’s mother, Lady Elizabeth, visits toward the end of the story. She is a very proper shrew who adheres to Polite Society’s strictures, but she’s not quite as horrible as Mrs. Ferrars in Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. I find her comical in her extreme rudeness; she reminds me more of Lady Catherine de Bourgh from Pride and Prejudice in her over-the-top pomposity. As with Edward, Lydia stands up to her admirably, despite hurtful words and attempts at bribery.
Lord Edward also permits his own ragtag groups of servants a very casual relationship in his household as he even offers them his own books to read. Miss Mayhew, his very attractive housekeeper, is a puzzle I hope Conkle solves in a possible future story.
The descriptions of Greenwich Park are delightful, including the very lovely greenhouse where Lydia and Edward work. Lydia offers to sketch, draw, and paint to assist Edward in his scientific endeavors, much to his surprise and gratitude. Since his scientific scrawlings are illegible, they become a team.
There are very nice touches of authenticity to the 1768 time period, for example, the use of butcher paper as an inexpensive stationery and the gorgeous descriptions of the countess’ fashions:
"The countess, every hair in place, stood statue-still by the easel in all her finery, a watered silk gown, glimmering in shades of rose and champagne."
The language of science in this novel is very sexy as Conkle expertly weaves it into her narrative. This is one of the reasons I love historical romance. And each chapter opens with a clever and provocative proverb or quote.
Memorable moments:
"This was not the first time her hand was on the front placket of a man’s breeches, but now was not the time to clarify that point."
"Her shoulder grazed his arm, a bare rustle of wool against velvet."
A most enjoyable romance.

posted by AustenStudent on May 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was definitely a different take on historical romance genre

This was definitely a different take on historical romance genre that I grew up reading, which is a good thing, don't get me wrong. It has a scarred earl, who happens to be a brilliant scientist, and a girl who is a commoner and fancies herself an artist. Sure there's t...
This was definitely a different take on historical romance genre that I grew up reading, which is a good thing, don't get me wrong. It has a scarred earl, who happens to be a brilliant scientist, and a girl who is a commoner and fancies herself an artist. Sure there's the nobleman who takes the daughter to marry instead of turning her family over to debtor's prison, the unapproving mother, the need of an heir, those things are pretty typical, but this book takes place away from London society and has one sex scene in it. I'm use to reading those old painted cover books where the two MCs are usually all hot and heavy by page 100. This was more a slow lead up to their night of passion. Maybe that's why I'm kinda conflicted on whether or not I really liked this book. I'm guessing the next book will be about Claire, the housekeeper/close friend, since she left abruptly in the middle of the book. I'm more interested in Jonas though (I like a mysterious man). Will probably read the next book just to see where it goes.

Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.

posted by amdrane2 on May 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    This is Gina Conkle's entertaining debut, the first in her Midni

    This is Gina Conkle's entertaining debut, the first in her Midnight Meetings series.
    Edward, earl of Greenwich, needs an heir. After his older brother’s untimely death and a self-imposed deadline, Miss Lydia Montgomery, a commoner, will have to do especially since it will also settle her stepfather’s debt. Of course, she has no say in the matter and, as is common in this genre’s time period, there are themes of the manipulation of women.
    “Her womb was a negotiation piece.”
    Lydia is an on-the-shelf spinster at the age of twenty-four, an artist, and a very willful, assertive, and perceptive heroine. She is a victim of her time, yet she makes the very best of things. I love how she views the sunny side of life by taking her own destiny into her hands. She is not afraid to ask the imposing Edward direct questions and lets him know that she will not tolerate infidelity.
    After a youthful indiscretion, Lydia was living quietly with her Great-Aunt Euphemia, much like Maria Bertram in Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park. After her initial shock at being sold in marriage, Lydia recognizes the advantages of marriage to a peer as his great influence and power in Polite Society will allow her to freely pursue her art.
    “She shouldn’t take a nursemaid’s scolding tone with nobility, but thunder cracked overhead, a reminder of the nasty storm, and her patience ran dry. She had things to do come daybreak.”
    Edward is a botanist whose reclusive nature and striking physical scars have earned him many unflattering monikers: “The Phantom of London. Enigma Earl. The Greenwich Recluse.”  He is rumored to be mad, disfigured, or both. Most women of his class have not been able to see past the scars, until Lydia. He reminded me of Sebastian Easton from Lorraine Heath’s She Tempts the Duke but this story is much more lighthearted in tone. 
    Edward values intelligence and facts and Lydia’s forthrightness knocks his tight little socks off. She vexes him, exasperates him and, eventually, beguiles him.
    "Wasn’t food or sex what most men clamored for? Keep those appetites sated, and a woman could do what she wanted."
    Edward hides himself both physically and emotionally from everyone, something Lydia will not tolerate. He is a quiet, studious, and orderly man who dislikes female histrionics disturbing his peaceful world. This personality sometimes creates some wonderfully funny moments in the story. He also dresses very casually, not bothering with a valet or fashionable clothes representative of his station. And never was the description of a man’s open collar so sexy and alluring. He has no patience for fripperies at the same time he acknowledges their existence. His love and devotion to science are similar to Lydia’s feelings toward her art.
    "Plants, thankfully, never demanded conversation."
    But Lydia distracts him terribly and this creates some searing sexual tension—it seems their intimate moments are constantly interrupted—but there is only one sex scene in the entire book. Their conversations are often tart and witty and they are among the highlights of the entire story. I love Lydia’s cheekiness and directness. In one scene, when Edward comments on her lack of fashion after her dress the morning after he brings her to his home, she sarcastically reminds him she doesn’t have any other clothes, then proceeds to rip into him on his own stained clothing and less-than-elegant appearance. It’s a grand set-down worthy of Elizabeth Bennet to Fitzwilliam Darcy.
    Fimbriate petals morphed into a chocolate-haired woman with a proud walk and delectable form wrapped in white velvet.”
    As they get to know one another, Edward finds he wants to make Lydia happy yet he is torn by his duty to his family and himself. He longs to do what he wants, unlike his own father, an astronomer. This causes problems between him and Lydia as, the more she gets to know him, the more she comes to love him and enjoy his company. All Lydia wants is a place and time to paint; not jewels or clothes and this shocks him.
    "Her coy words neatly parried to his thrust."
    Edward’s mother, Lady Elizabeth, visits toward the end of the story. She is a very proper shrew who adheres to Polite Society’s strictures, but she’s not quite as horrible as Mrs. Ferrars in Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. I find her comical in her extreme rudeness; she reminds me more of Lady Catherine de Bourgh from Pride and Prejudice in her over-the-top pomposity. As with Edward, Lydia stands up to her admirably, despite hurtful words and attempts at bribery.
    Lord Edward also permits his own ragtag groups of servants a very casual relationship in his household as he even offers them his own books to read. Miss Mayhew, his very attractive housekeeper, is a puzzle I hope Conkle solves in a possible future story.
    The descriptions of Greenwich Park are delightful, including the very lovely greenhouse where Lydia and Edward work. Lydia offers to sketch, draw, and paint to assist Edward in his scientific endeavors, much to his surprise and gratitude. Since his scientific scrawlings are illegible, they become a team.
    There are very nice touches of authenticity to the 1768 time period, for example, the use of butcher paper as an inexpensive stationery and the gorgeous descriptions of the countess’ fashions:
    "The countess, every hair in place, stood statue-still by the easel in all her finery, a watered silk gown, glimmering in shades of rose and champagne."
    The language of science in this novel is very sexy as Conkle expertly weaves it into her narrative. This is one of the reasons I love historical romance. And each chapter opens with a clever and provocative proverb or quote.
    Memorable moments:
    "This was not the first time her hand was on the front placket of a man’s breeches, but now was not the time to clarify that point."
    "Her shoulder grazed his arm, a bare rustle of wool against velvet."
    A most enjoyable romance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Some parts were good

    But the hero was a jerk and the storytelling didnt make a lot of sense the whole time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Edward and Lydia are two strong and well written characters. He

    Edward and Lydia are two strong and well written characters. He is a reclusive scientist and adventurer with a title. She is a commoner and a free spirited artist who longs to sell her drawings.
    They are brought together in unusual circumstances and find they are attracted each other but is that enough to keep them together…
    This is the first book I've read from Gina Conkle. I liked her writing style and the way she presented her characters.
    The plot had a couple of minor flaws but I found the book enjoyable and would recommend it to others. I usually like my books a bit more on the erotic side however Gina wrote a wonderfully sensual scene for Edward and Lydia’s first romantic coupling. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    This was definitely a different take on historical romance genre

    This was definitely a different take on historical romance genre that I grew up reading, which is a good thing, don't get me wrong. It has a scarred earl, who happens to be a brilliant scientist, and a girl who is a commoner and fancies herself an artist. Sure there's the nobleman who takes the daughter to marry instead of turning her family over to debtor's prison, the unapproving mother, the need of an heir, those things are pretty typical, but this book takes place away from London society and has one sex scene in it. I'm use to reading those old painted cover books where the two MCs are usually all hot and heavy by page 100. This was more a slow lead up to their night of passion. Maybe that's why I'm kinda conflicted on whether or not I really liked this book. I'm guessing the next book will be about Claire, the housekeeper/close friend, since she left abruptly in the middle of the book. I'm more interested in Jonas though (I like a mysterious man). Will probably read the next book just to see where it goes.

    Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    This is the first book I have read by Gina Conkle but it sure wo

    This is the first book I have read by Gina Conkle but it sure won’t be the last!! Meet the Earl at Midnight was an amazing book full of so much more then a quick romance. The two main characters, Edward and Lydia are two very different but similar people in many ways. They are from different stations in life, however neither really care what society says about them. Edward is “The Phantom of London.” He gains that title, among others, after he has a horrific run in with pirates. Edward is an Earl in London and cares not for his title and standings in society. He is in love with science and all that it has to offer, that is until a need to have an heir starts to become unavoidable. Lydia is the step-daughter to a man that works for the Earl. She is also the pawn in a man’s world after her step-brother tries to steal from Sanford Shipping and then tries to cover it up. Lydia is quick on her feet. She is stubborn, beautiful and has a great sense of humor. She is shocked to find out what her step-father has planned for her and is not overly happy about any of it. Lydia is an extremely talented painter who wants to sell her paintings and become famous. I loved the banter between Edward and Lydia. They had me giggling and shaking my head at them and their humor throughout the book. For two people who had just met, they sure seemed to be able to tease and jest with each other easily. I loved Gina’s writing! She is a very talented author who captures your attention from the very first page and you cannot put her book down. I read this book in less than two nights and was left smiling at the ending. You are able to feel as if you are truly apart of her book, characters and their story. I could feel all of Lydia’s emotions as if they were my own. What an amazing ride Meet the Earl at Midnight is! Thank you Gina for allowing me the opportunity to read and review your book and thank you for a wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, charming, and romantic, Meet the Earl at Midnight was a w

    Sweet, charming, and romantic, Meet the Earl at Midnight was a wonderful historical romance read. I really enjoyed reading this book. It was absolutely lovely.

    Lydia was a good heroine. She was strong, clever, and determined to follow her dreams. She could be a bit stubborn at times and she did some dumb stuff, but it were always done with the best of intentions, so it didn't bother me too much. Overall, I liked her.

    Edward was also wonderful. He was very smart and much more interested in his scientific work than in Society, especially after he was scarred. So, he didn't have all the social niceties. But, he was sweet and a truly good man at heart. A few times, I wanted to shake some sense into him for being stubborn, but he figured himself out eventually and redeemed himself in my book. I really liked him.

    The romance was good. Lydia and Edward were great together, though I didn't really feel the depth of their emotions, partly because they were so guarded with them. But, I still thought they were lovely together.

    The plot was well paced. I wasn't totally hooked, but I was kept interested the entire way through. I enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect.

    Meet the Earl at Midnight was a wonderful historical romance. I really liked this book. It was sweet, romantic, and enjoyable. Romance lovers, this is a book worth checking out.

    *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    If you like banter and loads of sensual tension then this story

    If you like banter and loads of sensual tension then this story is for you. A different take on beauty and the beast with a different kind of heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    Pleased. I was not expecting to be as intrigued as I was. I enjo

    Pleased.
    I was not expecting to be as intrigued as I was. I enjoyed this story very much. I stayed up until very late in the morning to finish it. Not predictable. I look forward to reading other books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Boring

    Every readers desire for romance is different. This just did not meet my standards. Stories about heros' who broods are slow paced. First, I must say I do not like reviews that tell me about the story. Why read the book when you have bloggers and others posting their reviews telling you the entire story. These bloggers primary purpose is to lead you to their blog sites or get a free book.

    This is not my style of romance however, I understand authors write the way they enjoy reading. In my opinion this story did not have enough substance. The same argument of the hero's ambition and his desire to go on a voyage extended throughout the book until the last few chapters. This is not the book if you like stories that are fluid, adding different plots to move the story forward, also not full of internal monologe or thoughts. The philosophical quotes inserted within the story were tiring. There were times while reading I felt the writer telling instead of showing us the story.

    The only part I enjoyed was the authors insight on man and woman relationship. Men having selfish desires whether it be fleshly lust or ambitious lust that must be sated.

    Romance novels are changing. I don't know if writers are being infleunced to write in this style at writers conferences, but I find it absolutely boring. Don't label these books romance when it should be labeled drama. What I mean that there's no romance in the novel or the story has a lot of teaser scenes. I believe romantic scenes are needed in a romance story. And it helps to place the scene early within the story because now the author is challenged to keep the reader engaged. Show how the romance is going to move to the next level. There is one romance scene at the very end of this novel. If I am going to spend my precious hours reading the story give me some substance to enjoy it. If not, label the story properly (publishers) so we the reader can find authors who writes in the style that is most pleasing to the reader.

    Thanks to reviewers who tell their opinion about the story, NOT tell you the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    Gina Conkle's Meet the Earl at Midnight is the first book in the

    Gina Conkle's
    Meet the Earl at Midnight is the first book in the Midnight Meeting series that brings a new twist to the classic tale of Beauty and the Beast.

    The intriguing Lord Sanford, Earl of Greenwich is said to be in hiding with a disfiguring disease, he whom has made a bargain for one Miss Lydia Montgomery; did I mention the a Earl only needs her body!

    You can't do anything to stop falling for the mysterious dark Lord Sanford with the disfigured one side of his face and secrets.  However Lydia will astonished you with how strong she is,  Lydia wants to move forward with her artwork and at the same time wants happiness & love.....

    Take a step back in time-enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    MEET THE EARL AT MIDNIGHT by Gina Conkle is a unique Georgian Hi

    MEET THE EARL AT MIDNIGHT by Gina Conkle is a unique Georgian Historical Romance set in 1768 England. #1 in the "Midnight Meetings" series. What a beginning! A new and unique take on BEAUTY AND THE BEAST. A beautiful, romantic tale of love, passion, secrets, beastly reputations, scandal, and happiness.
    This is the tale of Lydia Montgomery and Earl Edward Greenwich and a meeting at midnight. Edward, is disfigured, Lydia, has such un-lady like behavior, but she is determined to tame the Phantom of London, one way or the other.
    Fast paced and filled with intrigue, passion, and romance. Can Lydia and Edward overcome their stubbornness and find their HEA? You must read MEET THE EARL AT MIDNIGHT, you will not be disappointed. Wickedly delicious! Received for an honest review.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: MILD
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1