Customer Reviews for

Meg (Meg Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

it described scienctists ideas about extinction

This book has described a life of a troubled scientist whose beliefs and troubles have haunted him and nearly destroyed his life until science was proved wrong and he was needed to stop a monster. The one thing that I loved was the fact that the author describ...
This book has described a life of a troubled scientist whose beliefs and troubles have haunted him and nearly destroyed his life until science was proved wrong and he was needed to stop a monster. The one thing that I loved was the fact that the author described how an ancient species could live without being discovered by man, but could be declared extinct until once again discovered by man. When the megalodon attacked the underwater submersible in front of Jonas he then knew that his unfortunate accident wasn┬┐t because he dozed off it was because of the shark that attacked his ship. This was something that amazed me when the author actually had some theories that went along with idea that the shark could still be living there and the fact that he finally brought on the shark. Overall this book was awesome and I hope other readers will think that too.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Utter garbage ...

Sorry but this author has no idea what he's doing. Characters, plot, everything is very poorly done. Don't mean to be so harsh but read something else or even watch some straight-to-video.

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    it described scienctists ideas about extinction

    This book has described a life of a troubled scientist whose beliefs and troubles have haunted him and nearly destroyed his life until science was proved wrong and he was needed to stop a monster. The one thing that I loved was the fact that the author described how an ancient species could live without being discovered by man, but could be declared extinct until once again discovered by man. When the megalodon attacked the underwater submersible in front of Jonas he then knew that his unfortunate accident wasn¿t because he dozed off it was because of the shark that attacked his ship. This was something that amazed me when the author actually had some theories that went along with idea that the shark could still be living there and the fact that he finally brought on the shark. Overall this book was awesome and I hope other readers will think that too.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gets the blood pumping...

    I truly enjoyed this story line. The science was believeable and entertaining while being informative. Makes "Jaws" look like swimming with dolphins.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    STILL think about it!

    I read this when it first came out and the following books in the series, Steve Alten is amazing!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Excellent Read!

    This book was passed on to me by my mother-in-law. I was captivated by this book from the very first page and have been facinated with anything to do with the Megaladon shark ever since. I am scared of sharks, so this made the book even better. If you love a good story plot and are interested in what could really be out there, try this book! You won't be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!!

    This is going to be a very exciting series and I hope it go's on for years. I hope it stays fiction but things are washing up on shores all the time, like 30 foot squids etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Utter garbage ...

    Sorry but this author has no idea what he's doing. Characters, plot, everything is very poorly done. Don't mean to be so harsh but read something else or even watch some straight-to-video.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    IF ikt were a report card... DISTINGUISHED HONERS!!!

    A truely horrific tale of a struggling man with a memory so terrifying it will knock your socks off. I highly recomend this book to anyone espesially thosewho have an intrest in any genres espesially horror.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome tale of Megalodon!

    I did not want to put this down! Can't wait to catch up the rest of the series!

    Alten's science is right on for a possible reality. The Meg could in theory exist in the depths of the trench. The action keeps the reader turning the pages to see what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great imaginable peice that takes you on a spellbinding adventure

    Wow utterly stunned at the quality of this book. Steve alten is a fresh and imaginative author who adds a personal flare of suspense and horror. It was a great book but still could have some things to change. The list is endless on why you should read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Loved it!

    It sucks you in from beginning to end! Entire Meg Series a MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    WHAT IF THEY'RE STILL DOWN THERE......

    This book was awsome!! I loved it from the first page, and even when jonas saw the meg in the trench for the first time. There were a lot of neat and scientific facts with this book. ALTEN YOUR THE MAN!!!! Alten can write a mean shark book anytime.... as he has clearly shows with this series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    wow!

    This book was awsome. the way he decribed the area and people was awsome. i wish he decribed terry t more but overall a great book. The ending is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    meg, behind the people

    meg was a awesome book about a giant megalodon shark. The characters were the best part of the book to me, i like the way he described and used there personalities in the books its self. I wish he would have described terry character more near the ending but even with that it still was a great scientific action packed exploding novel. this book had also many twist and surprise even from the beginning which hooks you into the story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Loved this book

    I first got my hands on 'MEG' when it was first published and I couldn't put it down until it was finished. I've probably reread this book so many times, I can quote most of the chapters. Alten is a fantastic writer with great writing skill

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    Sent chills down my back!!

    This book is so fast! The story moves at the speed of light and some how manages to move faster. I read it in 2 days! The main character, Jonas Taylor, is very intersting and complex. The action is so descriptive that you envision a 70-foot shark lunging at you! It scared me pretty good. I recommend this book for any one who loves a fun story with great characters and lightning speed writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    The New Literary Standard (That May Replace the Bible)

    Mr.Alten has redefined the very existence of literature with this masterpiece. Faulkner, Joyce, Proust and Huxley became juvenille hacks once 'MEG' hit the store shelves. Poetic, visceral, and simply awe-inspiring in its execution 'MEG' is the future of novel writing for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    Too Bad I Can't Give It ZERO Stars.

    This is just awful. The only reason I'm taking the time to jot down a 'review' is to warn other readers not to waste their money like I did. No entertainment value, and I'd also advise the author to stop writing his own five-star reviews. You mislead people into buying this dreck and you'll just p*** them off. The writing is inept and unimaginative, the concept cartoonish, and the fact that it got published at all (much less for the rumored big bucks) an aberration against nature. Absolutely dreadful, and unreservedly NOT RECOMMENDED. Ugh! (If I sound peeved it's because I wasted money on this garbage--misled once again by false reviews and cover publicity.)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really Great Story

    I bought this book for my husband who doesn't read much at all. He is more of a computer guy. He sat down and finished it in two days. Then I had to order the rest of the Meg series. So if your guy doesn't read much this might just be the book for him. It has a great story and action/adventure that he might like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book, but not recommended to youngsters.

    Steve Alton knows how to write an action book, this book has A LOT of action. But I do not recommended to youngsters under the age of maybe 16. If you older than that age this book is a great read, i totally recommend it. Steve Alton did his research, heck, even I learn a couple of things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Assed Series, Bad Assed Shark

    The general deal with Meg is, if you want nailbiting and terrifying action, look no further. As a person with a love of all creatures prehistoric I was very excited when I found out that there was a book series about a Megalodons. Mr.Alten obviously has a great respect for the creatures. He adds some of the newest evidence about these albino monsters which makes it obvious that he does his research. There were times in the story when even I was afraid to go into th water. From the opening scene on he gives non stop thrill after thrill. I mean, a T-Rex vs. a Megalodon?! Whaaat? Genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7