Customer Reviews for

Megan Meade's Guide to the McGowan Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 822 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(646)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I usually don't read, I usually don't like to read, but this book kept me in my bedroom with the door locked. Whenever I didn't read it was like a comercial break. The way the author uses words to describe makes it so...
This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I usually don't read, I usually don't like to read, but this book kept me in my bedroom with the door locked. Whenever I didn't read it was like a comercial break. The way the author uses words to describe makes it sound like a description of somthing that had happened to you. You may read the first two pages then put it down, but boy when you reach the third page it gets going. My teacher always says that if your the reader you choose what parts you want to skip, so go ahead and skip what you want but your going to be missing on a lot. SA

posted by PSD on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Sigh, are authors this desperate?

Much of this book is entertaining and chock full of teenage drama. In many ways, I genuinely liked the book

The difficulty of being the only girl in a family of boys, of dealing with a new school, using technology to stay in touch with friends far away, all w...
Much of this book is entertaining and chock full of teenage drama. In many ways, I genuinely liked the book

The difficulty of being the only girl in a family of boys, of dealing with a new school, using technology to stay in touch with friends far away, all well written, story-appropriate and constantly making me smile. I felt the issues surrounding Aspberger's Syndrome was not only interesting but woven in so nicely.

The poor handling of underage drinking, indiscriminate sex in public places, and having sex with one brother to 'get back' at the other brother was disappointing and is why I gave the book a low rating.

posted by Aradanryl on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!

    Megan Meade's Guide to the McGowan Boys is a really great book. I love the characters, and the story is easy to understand. My only problem with the book is the ending.I mean after reading the book, I actually expected a sequel, but there wasn't one. The ending left so many questions about the characters relationships unanswered. If she makes a sequel, A LOT OF PEOPLE WOULD BE SO HAPPY! Please Kate Brian, make another book!!!!!!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    good!

    It was very good. I liked how it was very unpredictable. Its great for any teenage girl. The one thing I didn't like about it was the ending, other than that it was really good! read it read it read it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    Awesome

    I love this book so much! The main reason is because i can connect with it since i am an army brat also and i been moving all over the world. I recommend this book to all military brats and everyone else to get inside of a military brat mind!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Going into this book, I had fairly low expectations. Fun to read

    Going into this book, I had fairly low expectations. Fun to read, light, interesting premise, but not much more than that. At first, my suspicions seemed correct--crushing on the popular kid, rivalry with his popular and mean girlfriend--but it quickly turned into a lot more than that. Megan, though seeming to be a shy, timid heroine, proves herself to a strong, intelligent female character. Stereo-types are turned on their heads left and right, and every single character is so much more complex than they originally seem. This story has a bit of romance, but ultimately is so much more than that--it's about family and friendship, and every bit of it rings true. Megan's friendship with Miller is heart-warming, and the ending is absolute perfection, despite the fact that by the time I'd reached that point, I was wishing it could keep going forever. Overall, this is definitely a worthwhile read, and I'd recommend it to any teenage girl.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Loveed it (;

    This book was cute, I loved all the characters, especially Finn. Oh sweet beautiful Finn. Haha, I thought the book was filled with great comedy, romance, and drama. Everything I love in a book! I wish at the end it would have said who Megan ended up with though. But I think I have an idea of to who it was probably. Youu should deff check this book out, you wont regret it...well hopefully. ANYWAYS I thought it was an awesome book.. soo yeaah! :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    I really liked this book, but

    When i started to read this book, im not gonna lie, it was kinda boring, but after a little a while it got really good, and i couldn't but the book down, so i recommand you go get it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    A good book. Leaves ya wanting more though.
    Should be a series of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Could not put this book down!

    Kate Brian has a way with words. I read the book in 3 hours. I couldn't put the book down. I really enjoyed it. A great read for young adult girls and up. I'm 26 and still loved the story. It has it all drama, crushes/love, high school drama and finding your true self. I only wish there was a book two and three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Awesome

    Amazing book! A bit of a drop off ending if you know what I mean, but I loved the relationship drama! ;) The ending was also kinda predictable, but overall, one of the best books ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Omg

    Sequal!?!?!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Really Good!

    I loved this book soo much! Cant wait for a maybe sequel!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Ok people calm down

    The book was ohkay, it was predictable. I am sure that most have figured out, if not look at the reviews below, that there might be a sequal. I mean look at the ending. Um i did not like how almost all the people in the book were blond. I mean come on us brunettes and redheads and such are barely anywhere tv loves blonds and so do movies....anywhooooo. I HOPE I did not insult anyone. So, I give the book an 8 out of ten. I recommejd the novel. Thanks fot reading. -MVM(:ow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    surprise

    despite the so not interesting cover, this book eas a suprisingly good read. i do wish there was more of a romantic side to the charecters. i felt as though the aithor was being too careful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    i so would!

    i love this book if theres ever a movie i want to be megan!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    DONT THINK Twice--JUST GET IT!

    This book was amazing! i knew all along she would choose Finn he was always so sweet to her and not wishy washy! it was a very moving story, i cried a lot! but then again i always get soo emotional! i really wished there was a sequal!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    drama much?

    If you are into drama, well assume this is your book. There was a few funny parts, overall an okay book. Don't I wish I could be in a houseful of hot boys. sigh, lol.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this book is awsome

    I went to the library and almost finished it i have like 12 pages left but i could seriously read the book over and over....kate brian is a great writer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Love it!

    Fun teen romance. Okay for most ages.
    If you li these you'll love this:
    The Summer I Turned Pretty
    Ten Things We Did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    This was a good book

    Just needed a little more detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Fun read

    I loved this book!!!!!!!!

    I was hooked on this book. I couldnt put it down. Excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7