Customer Reviews for

Megan Meade's Guide to the McGowan Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 816 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(642)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I usually don't read, I usually don't like to read, but this book kept me in my bedroom with the door locked. Whenever I didn't read it was like a comercial break. The way the author uses words to describe makes it so...
This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I usually don't read, I usually don't like to read, but this book kept me in my bedroom with the door locked. Whenever I didn't read it was like a comercial break. The way the author uses words to describe makes it sound like a description of somthing that had happened to you. You may read the first two pages then put it down, but boy when you reach the third page it gets going. My teacher always says that if your the reader you choose what parts you want to skip, so go ahead and skip what you want but your going to be missing on a lot. SA

posted by PSD on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Sigh, are authors this desperate?

Much of this book is entertaining and chock full of teenage drama. In many ways, I genuinely liked the book

The difficulty of being the only girl in a family of boys, of dealing with a new school, using technology to stay in touch with friends far away, all w...
Much of this book is entertaining and chock full of teenage drama. In many ways, I genuinely liked the book

The difficulty of being the only girl in a family of boys, of dealing with a new school, using technology to stay in touch with friends far away, all well written, story-appropriate and constantly making me smile. I felt the issues surrounding Aspberger's Syndrome was not only interesting but woven in so nicely.

The poor handling of underage drinking, indiscriminate sex in public places, and having sex with one brother to 'get back' at the other brother was disappointing and is why I gave the book a low rating.

posted by Aradanryl on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 642 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I usually don't read, I usually don't like to read, but this book kept me in my bedroom with the door locked. Whenever I didn't read it was like a comercial break. The way the author uses words to describe makes it sound like a description of somthing that had happened to you. You may read the first two pages then put it down, but boy when you reach the third page it gets going. My teacher always says that if your the reader you choose what parts you want to skip, so go ahead and skip what you want but your going to be missing on a lot. SA

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I loved it. I loved it from the start. Megan is such a great person and those 7 brothers, woah woah woah. I laughed my ass off, it hit a few heartstrings and in the end it made me want more. Great story. Read it! It's an order. ;-) Megan C cups~ xD

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

    Megan has always moved around a lot, but this time her living situation has changed even more drastically than usual. When she refused to pack up and move to South Korea with her parents, both in the army, they proposed another option: spending her last two years of high school living in Boston with the McGowans. John McGowan is an old friend of her father's. What makes this so different? The fact that the McGowans have seven sons. Megan is an only child, and can't imagine living with seven boys! <BR/><BR/>Life with Evan, Sean, Finn, Caleb, Ian, Miller, and Doug McGowan is as foreign to Megan as South Korea would have been. Her best friend from Texas, Tracy, even calls it an immersion experience; Megan will go in clueless and come out speaking the language of boys! <BR/><BR/>Even if the McGowan boys and Megan are supposed to be siblings, they don't exactly relate that way. After all, they haven't seen each other since they were little kids. Now Megan is in hostile territory; she's not exactly welcomed by each of the nine members of the McGowan family (though Regina, John's wife, is more than thrilled to have another female in the house, taking tomboyish Megan on shopping sprees and to the spa). And then there's the fact that Finn and Evan are, well, hot. And John and Regina even had a family meeting to tell the kids that they're all siblings now...but siblings don't want to kiss each other. <BR/><BR/>On top of dealing with the drama of living with the McGowan boys, Megan also has to handle starting over at a new school. She gets off to a good start when she makes the soccer team and even a few new possible friends. That quickly goes sour, though, when she is targeted by Hailey, Evan's girlfriend, who's jealous of Megan's talent on the soccer field--and her living arrangements. Can Megan handle Boston and the McGowan boys, or will South Korea turn out the be the easier option? <BR/><BR/>MEGAN MEADE'S GUIDE TO THE MCGOWAN BOYS is a fantastically fun book! It's full of great characters; even the minor characters seem three-dimensional. Kate Brian is a talented writer, and this novel is an awesome page-turner. I devoured this book; I read at every spare moment and took less than twenty-four hours to finish it--on a weekday! Megan's transition from shy to outspoken didn't feel one hundred percent real to me, but that was only a tiny issue; the book was still great. This is one book that definitely feels like there could be a sequel in the works (which is exciting), but that didn't stop it from being a complete (and completely awesome) story on its own.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    So Good!

    This is a really, really great book. It's about an army brat, Megan who doesnt want to move again, so she goes to live with her dad's friend, who happens to have seven childen- all boys, and most of them are teenage boys (gulp) I know what your thinking- that this would be awesome, but it's really not. Megan gets the inside scoop of these boys, the four-one-one, and it's not so sweet. Boys are moody, clique-y, winy, and sometimes just plain dumb. And Megan ends up having problems with all seven of them. The oldest,Sean, is quiet, and moody, and all he does it work on his motorcyle, the next oldest is Evan, supper hottie, guy magnet, slightly arrogant, completely oblivious, next is Finn, oh Finn, Mr. Sweet artsy type, who is so nice, calm and understanding, then there's Doug, and I think Megan has the most problems with him because he makes everything so much harder for her living at their house, he's the next K-Fed if you ask me, and then there's his twin, Miller who has some sort of problem, like i forget but he has to have things in a certain order and all he mainly talks about is baseball, but the last two are the younger boys who like to play jokes on Megan by cutting up her clothes and embarrassing things to her. But all in all this book is hilarious and find out which two boys Megan falls in love with!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Awesome!!

    I really loved this book. Kate write a sequel. Pleaseee I wanna know what happens with Finn and Megan, is Megan still gonna stay there? Does Evan like Megan? Theres so many questions, I like Aimee, Megan and Finn. WRITE A SEQUELLL. What about your fans?

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    i so want to be Megan Meade!

    This book was so much fun to read. i could not put it down. Kate brian makes you feel like your Meagan. The embarassing, sweet, and hilarious moments in the book will most definitely keep you interested and make you feel like your the character.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ~OKAY~

    This book was really good. I couldn't put it down. I definitely recommend it. The ending ended really abruptly. I wish Kate would right a sequel. Even though the ending isn't great I still recommend this book I am sooooooo glad I read it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Amazing!!

    I got this book for Christmas last year, and as soon as I started reading it, I couldn't stop. I finished the book in 4 hours, and I was so mad when I finished it because it was such a good book. Anyone who reads this book will enjoy it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    AMAZING! WONDERFUL! MAGNIFICENT! STUPENDOUS! A MUST-READ!

    An amazing book. I wish that there were more than five stars to rate this with, it was so great. The ending leaves the reader's imagination going wild! All of the drama and aspects of the characters and plausible and happen quite a bit. From mean girls, to autism, to boy problems, Megan has plenty on her plate, and the reader's eyes are glued to the page! I know mine were. I am thirteen and love this book. My mom loved it too. It`s better for girls, so boys beware. This book includes all of the aspects of a good story: romance, drama, humor, friendship, and action (on the soccer field at least). However the awesomeness that is Megan`s life, the book shouldn't be read by anyone under twelve or thirteen (in my opinion) due to more mature topics (including sex), though mentioned NOT described. A great read, and completely worth the money.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I hate reading

    i hate reading and this book was freaking amazing! i could not put it down and the way the author describes the boys makes u want to jump in the book and make out with them! i love the main characters personality and i just loved the whole plot line! it was also goofy in some parts where i was laughing to myself and people were looking at me strangly lol o well! plz read this book i beg of you!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    This book is on my list

    This was the greatest book ever. at first I felt so bad for her that she had to live with so many guys, then I read more then I didn't feel bad for her anymore because the guys were hot!!!!<3 Anyway, my favorite guy was Finn. I guess you would have to read the book to know what I mean.<3

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    simply loved it

    simply loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Five star, no question!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This isone of the best books i have ever read, and thats saying something considering all the amazing books i have read. I would reccomend this book to ages 12-22. Its got some humor here and there, those moments where you just want to skip the page and see what happens, and alot of awesome. Any soccer players out there will love this book along with people that love romance. Any body that loves an amazingly awesomly wonderful book, you should read this! One of the best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Awesommmeee!!

    Really funny. Megan has a teen voice that most girls can relate to; she's finding herself in the middle of a complicated crowd, and also finding her first love :-)....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I only read the sampke n im aalready in love with the book so if no one wants it gice me a way to contact you so i can get to borrow it or take altogether:). No but seriously let me eead it females only. Im too young.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Great Book!!!!!

    This was such an awesome book! Def. Needs a sequel! Is so recomended! Five stars, and a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Loved It

    The cover wasn't very interesting but from page one i couldn't put the book down. I really hope theres a second book!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    I loved it

    It's light and fluffy and romantic and sweet and I love Finn. I loved it :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    This was a great story.  Megan has to make a lot of changes, but

    This was a great story.  Megan has to make a lot of changes, but so do the McGowan boys.  Its not easy going from only child to one of 8! Of course there are a lot of love interests along the way.  Megan gave as good as she got.




    This was a definite easy read fluffy book, but fun and humorous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Loved!!!

    This was an amazing book and would deffinatly recomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 642 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33