Customer Reviews for

Megatokyo Chapter Zero: "Relax We Understand Joo!"

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Okay, I'm hooked.

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up the first volume of Megatokyo, but if I'd had expectations, they'd have been wildly exceeded. The series starts as a collection of sequential (and hilarious!) comic strips that when read together form a story. Shy, artistic, sarcastic Piro and aggressive, obnoxious Largo (who has WAY too much imagination!) are a pair that were tailor-made for comedy. I laughed so hard for some of the strips that my sides hurt. So, okay, it's funny, but what else is it? As the story moves along, you get to know the characters better. You learn about Piro's depression and low self-esteem, and Largo's unexpectedly powerful sense of honor. The characters they meet and get to know are also well-defined, and all their lives intertwine in unexpected ways. So, what is Megatokyo? It's funny and moving, shallow and deep, delicate and over-the-top, somehow realistic and also decidedly not so. It's able to be many things in a small number of pages, but more than anything else, it's totally addictive. (Highly recommended to anime/manga fans, gamers, and l33t h4x0rm4573rs!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Megatokyo Made Me Bilingual

    Thanks to Largo I am now fluent in l337 as well as english. Thanks Megatokyo! I recommend this for anyone who needs a laugh or loves manga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    I LURRVE Megatokyo

    I first discovered Megatokyo while browsing through the graphic novel section in my local library. I looked at it, flipped through the pages, and thought: all right, I'll give it a try. The next day I was completely addicted. I read it three times over. It is probably the best comic I've ever gotten the chance to read!! You'll definantly fall in love with this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    rent-a-zilla shall destroy all!!

    exellent. favorite part is when Largo and the nija(whose name is at a loss to me at the moment)crush the city with rent-a-zilla

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    webcomics at their greatest

    I started reading MegaTokyo last year and have been a fan since. Really good series, you should read it. The only reason I gave it four stars is because when he started out, Fred's art style maybe needed a little work and in my opinion, I like the second half of MegaTokyo better. But still, this volume is original, reeeeally funny, and worth the cash! ^___^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Megatokyo; it keeps you sane.

    When Megatokyo first started online, I immediately became an addict to the adventures of Piro and Largo. The brilliant story-line and art work blend perfectly, allowing the reader to fully understand both the quiet and crazy sides of their own personality through the two main characters. If you enjoy Anime, comics, computers, or simply blowing things up...you will love the Megatokyo team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    Mega tokyo is l33t master of all

    this book is the begginning of one of the best mangas around definatly worth the cash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    They don't understand me...

    At first glance this book is great!!! ... Until I stop and look at the other manga available, twice as good, twice as much, at the same price if not cheaper. Maybe the later books will be better, but getting a round trip of 'And this is how much this great web-comic sucked in the beginning.' at ten bucks a pop is a bit much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Long time reader and still going!!

    Believe it or not I have been reading Mega Tokyo since it came out online some time ago, and lets just say Im not suprised they are this popular! If you dont know what Mega Tokyo is you should start reading now, not only is it a awesome original doujinshi, it will teach you how to speak L33t, which to say is pretty darn cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    Pure Greatness.....

    I just started reading megatokyo about 3 weeks ago. I managed to read all 300+ pages in 2 days. That proves how adictive this title is. The story and artwork are excellent. With his japanese manga style of artwork and american background Fred Gallagher makes a truly remarkable story that is easier for an american reader to get into because he or she can almost understand how hard it would be for 2 guys in japan to make it....plus it's just plain hilarious the stuff GTL(Great Teacher Largo) does with his 1337 5|<1||5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    an amazingly good story

    Megatokyo.. When you first read it you just can't stop. No matter where you go in this genre you are going to see either a reference or just pure homage. The deceptively simple story... Two guys go on a trip. Shows a light into the soul. Kind of like a walking super ego and ID these two have moments when you can sympathize and even love both of them. Of course there are also the time when you can only giggle helplessly. But that's good too. It's lighthearted when that's what you need, but there's underlying meaning that can be found... or I suppose, imagined. It is a very human comic with a very human artist, both within it and making it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Lets hear it from the fans.

    I have been a fan of Megatokyo since the beggining and I love the book. It is fun to remember and relook all of the hilarious antics and hijinxs of Largo in his search for beer and video games and Piro with his constant ability to screw things up all the while being innocent and thoughtful. Also I have learned to type and read 1337 (Leet or elite) a type of computer language that is often seen in Megatokyo. So to all I must say, f34r |\/|J 1337 5|<1||5 & 8|_|J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    Piro, helping reach the mainstream.

    Being a long time reader of Megatokyo, I am thoroughly excited to see the title in print form. Telling the stroy of two friends' journey through Tokyo, Megatokyo skews reality with the popular fiction of manga, computer games, and the offbeat antics of not so imaginary consciences. If you are a manga or anime enthusiast, or if you want to see some excellently drawn, cleverly written work, I highly recommend Megatokyo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    The first manga that anyone can love

    Sure, call me a newbie. A rookie, even. But when an online friend provided a "check this out" link to www.megatokyo.com, I simply clicked it without even wondering what might lurk behind. I was surprised to find one of the funniest and freshest bits of cartooning I'd seen in a while. After reading a few of the semi-daily strips (Megatokyo is published more or less three times each week), I was intrigued enough that I went through the archives and picked up the whole story from the beginning. That was earlier this year. Since then, Megatokyo -- MT to its fans -- has apparently grown much bigger than Fred (and his de facto writing buddies Rodney and Dom) had ever anticipated. Over that time, Fred's already excellent artistic talents have grown even more impressive, and the storyline continues to spin into ever-funnier and wilder directions. The whole plot starts out fairly simply. Two fans of modern Japanese culture (that is, video games and anime) decide on a whim to take a trip to Tokyo. The idea for Piro (the nerdy one) and Largo (the crazy one) is to play some video games, check out the scene and then head home. But they end up spending more yen than they anticipated, leaving them with no way to buy a ticket home. Having no contacts and no means of survival, hilarity ensues as the boys try to find a way out of Japan. I realized early on that Fred Gallagher's style is deliberately intended to mimic that of classic Japanese manga comics, but his American characters and humor -- coupled with the proper English usage that comes from not having to translate the dialogue -- make Megatokyo a good general introduction to manga. Besides that, it's also a fun read for anyone into video games or modern Japanese culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1