Customer Reviews for

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Haruhi Suzumiya Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An enjoyable read for anyone

Granted, I may be biased because I saw and loved the anime series based on this book before I read it but I think anyone would find this book charming and quirky, anime fan or not. As its own separate entity, the book moves smoothly between each episodic scene starring ...
Granted, I may be biased because I saw and loved the anime series based on this book before I read it but I think anyone would find this book charming and quirky, anime fan or not. As its own separate entity, the book moves smoothly between each episodic scene starring its cast of colorful characters. The book doesn't carry much weight as I had to stop myself from blowing through it too quickly, but they may also be a sign of just how much I enjoyed the book.

posted by psylence on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Unrealistic And Lacking (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
By Nagaru Tanigawa
Pub. Date: April 2009
3.5 out of 5 stars
R - Inappropriate Sexual Behavior, Profanity, and Sexual Humor
Not Recommended

Haruhi Suzumiya is tired of her dreary life. After waiting three years for something inte...
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
By Nagaru Tanigawa
Pub. Date: April 2009
3.5 out of 5 stars
R - Inappropriate Sexual Behavior, Profanity, and Sexual Humor
Not Recommended

Haruhi Suzumiya is tired of her dreary life. After waiting three years for something interesting and having found nothing, she takes a different approach. If nothing exciting or fun happens on its own, she will just have to create it. Kyon is dragged into her crazy world with reservations. She is beautiful and has a gorgeous smile when she chooses to use it, but does that make up for her insane ideas and irresponsibility? When their new club, which is seemingly without a purpose, grinds to a slow, steady pace, Haruhi once again wallows in boredom. Kyon is tiring of her unsatisfaction and inability to settle down, yet he can not quit the club and leave the misfit members behind. Haruhi is finally giving up on this world for good and that's bad news for you. Unbeknownst of her, she holds the fate of the universe in her hands.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya was like advanced piano music with varied and meshed 8th notes. At first glance it's complicated and messy without a steady rhythm and offset beats, but with closer deliberation every bar is unique and trying to be heard. These group into weird stanzas with odd chords. It creates a pounding and crazy pace that entices you to speed up. They grow in strength and the contradictory notes battle to be the loudest. And then it stops. Your fingers are cramping and your wrists are crying, yet you sit with a wide smile. You can feel the aftertaste of the music on your fingertips and the buzz of notes long past in your head.

At first glance, you had been sweating and wondering how you could possibly enjoy such an outrageous piece. Afterwards, all you can think about is how much your hands yearn to string out those notes and how you can think of nothing else.

It was out of the ordinary and in no way a beautiful melody. It hurt and pained you with its ridiculousness. It was annoying and rhythmless. It was bittersweet. It occupied your thoughts. It fought itself and couldn't be tamed. It was all around a pain in your butt to play. yet you can't stop thinking about it. It's oddness and irregularity grows on you every minute.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya was not 5 stars worthy or masterful. It was unrealistic and lacking, but it was certainly memorable. This is a book that will have you laughing at its seriousness, yet you won't put it down until the end.

It this book is going to be read, I suggest it to older teens.

Date Reviewed: April 23rd, 2009

For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

posted by TeenageCritic on May 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read for anyone

    Granted, I may be biased because I saw and loved the anime series based on this book before I read it but I think anyone would find this book charming and quirky, anime fan or not. As its own separate entity, the book moves smoothly between each episodic scene starring its cast of colorful characters. The book doesn't carry much weight as I had to stop myself from blowing through it too quickly, but they may also be a sign of just how much I enjoyed the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An objective review on a unique and beloved series.

    This review will attempt to be objective as possible though it should be noted that I absolutely love this series. Now then, I should first state that saying I love anime is about as pointless as saying I love movies or novels since all three are but mediums to convey information like stories or facts.

    Without spoiling the story, I will explain why this series of books is so well loved. First of all, it takes many genres and puts elements of all of them to create a unique piece of work. We have all heard of mystery and science fiction, but few authors can convincingly combine the genres of slice-of-life, romance, mystery, science fiction, fantasy, comedy, philosophy, and drama into a single piece of work.

    Second, the narrator Kyon is quite a unique choice to make the narrator. His overly sarcastic narration gives the reader a giggle once in a while, his monolouges give the reader something to think about, and he makes both over the top comparisons and obsure allusions. Fermat's last theorum is definitely not in the curriculum of a high school math class. I should know, I'm a junior taking Calculus AB AP, and I highly doubt Calculus BC refers to it. More than that, it's the fact that he seems a reliable enough narrator, but entire essays can be written about how unreliable a narrator Kyon is. After all, a reliable narrator should be courteous enough to give us his real name.

    Third, this series is known for its deep, deep characterization. Don't get me wrong, the plot is interesting, but it's the character development that makes this series so much loved. Every main character is given time to develop (some more than others), so even if you don't like one of the characters at first, by the time the fourth novel comes around, you'll appreciate all of the characters more.

    Fourth, this novel series is very deep. Remember your high school literary class where you learned and were forced to analyze novels? Those analysis skills will be very useful in this piece of work. It takes a couple of rereads to get everything this novel has to offer, and there's even seemingly innocuous phrases and actions that foreshadow the events in future novels! Much of the characterization is derived from the subtlest of actions that even the unreliable narrator thinks is insignificant.

    However, flaws exist like in everything else. It takes good number of pages for the story to take off and the title character fits almost all of the criteria to be diagnosed with antisocial disorder even by the end of the first book. As such, her actions are ... objectionable.

    Regardless, this novel is a very entertaining read. If you want an unique book that has been praised as genre-defying, then this book is for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Tead it now

    This book is sooooo funnny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Ahhhh im going insane

    I never noticed what the new nook update did. Plus no more infinite Yaoi!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mainly for fans of the show

    I love this book, but that is mainly because I've seen the animated adaptation of this. If you want to read something new, however, go right ahead and dive in.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    Haruhi...in the USA!!!

    This novel is just a great piece of writing and I've been happy seince i bought it,since i had been waiting for a long time for it to be translated into english(don't know Japanese). I recommend all Haruhi fans to buy this book, you will absolutely love it from start to finish and will nejoy Kyon's sarcastic comments all through out...I know I did...lastly, Long Live Haruhi!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Unrealistic And Lacking (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
    By Nagaru Tanigawa
    Pub. Date: April 2009
    3.5 out of 5 stars
    R - Inappropriate Sexual Behavior, Profanity, and Sexual Humor
    Not Recommended

    Haruhi Suzumiya is tired of her dreary life. After waiting three years for something interesting and having found nothing, she takes a different approach. If nothing exciting or fun happens on its own, she will just have to create it. Kyon is dragged into her crazy world with reservations. She is beautiful and has a gorgeous smile when she chooses to use it, but does that make up for her insane ideas and irresponsibility? When their new club, which is seemingly without a purpose, grinds to a slow, steady pace, Haruhi once again wallows in boredom. Kyon is tiring of her unsatisfaction and inability to settle down, yet he can not quit the club and leave the misfit members behind. Haruhi is finally giving up on this world for good and that's bad news for you. Unbeknownst of her, she holds the fate of the universe in her hands.

    The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya was like advanced piano music with varied and meshed 8th notes. At first glance it's complicated and messy without a steady rhythm and offset beats, but with closer deliberation every bar is unique and trying to be heard. These group into weird stanzas with odd chords. It creates a pounding and crazy pace that entices you to speed up. They grow in strength and the contradictory notes battle to be the loudest. And then it stops. Your fingers are cramping and your wrists are crying, yet you sit with a wide smile. You can feel the aftertaste of the music on your fingertips and the buzz of notes long past in your head.

    At first glance, you had been sweating and wondering how you could possibly enjoy such an outrageous piece. Afterwards, all you can think about is how much your hands yearn to string out those notes and how you can think of nothing else.

    It was out of the ordinary and in no way a beautiful melody. It hurt and pained you with its ridiculousness. It was annoying and rhythmless. It was bittersweet. It occupied your thoughts. It fought itself and couldn't be tamed. It was all around a pain in your butt to play. yet you can't stop thinking about it. It's oddness and irregularity grows on you every minute.

    The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya was not 5 stars worthy or masterful. It was unrealistic and lacking, but it was certainly memorable. This is a book that will have you laughing at its seriousness, yet you won't put it down until the end.

    It this book is going to be read, I suggest it to older teens.

    Date Reviewed: April 23rd, 2009

    For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    L LOVED THIS SERIES IT WAS AWSOME....................................

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    To anonymous on Sep. 16

    This book is based off the animae/ manga. It is pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Fun Japan light novel, fans of series will adore

    For those who have watched the first season of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, you won't be learning much more than you did watching the show, instead you are treated to a few more instances listening to Kyon's humorous if not callous internal dialogue.

    For those that somehow stumbled into this, I would recommend first watching the anime, as the novel is more the next step forward for strong fans of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Otaku

    I saw the first episode of the anime.Should i buy this manga?The anime was ok.I mean I only saw one episodd,but it looks fun.Should I get this manga??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Love watching the animes!!!!

    Watched the animes on youtube when my brother was looking fer naruto last month loved it better then my sister loving a guy named sasuke all day she loved the esper dude lol shes 8 but i didnt care my dad loved it too mom liked it as well i think the esper dude smiled too much lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Join Waterclan!

    At silver ocean res one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Great

    I have not finished this yet but so far so good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    This is one of the best books ever

    It id one of the best books ever, including the other books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Omg

    Where are all the nonyaoi comics ive always loved the haruhi series but come on it says comic and graphic novels what r chapter books doing there . Their not even illustrated
    Sincerly nerdgrlsk8r

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Question about manga books.

    Are any of the books in the manga section real "manga comic books"? And not yaoi manga or chapter books like this? But I still like the Haruhi Suzumiya books so far.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    So cute!

    My gosh I love it so so SO much!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Im buying the second book

    This book was amasing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    What

    Why isnt there any manga "in" the book?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4