BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Melissa Explains It All: Tales from My Abnormally Normal Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Let me start off by saying that this book was great and I could

Let me start off by saying that this book was great and I could barely put it down. I really don't like how other reviewers are saying that she is full of herself. The whole point of the book is that she is very humble and appreciates not be an A list celebrity because ...
Let me start off by saying that this book was great and I could barely put it down. I really don't like how other reviewers are saying that she is full of herself. The whole point of the book is that she is very humble and appreciates not be an A list celebrity because she wouldn't lead a semi-normal life if she was. The spotlight for her growing up was a lot different then how kids now a days have to deal with being known. I think you should read this book because you are interested in finding out more about Melissa. I found it to really interesting and I loved all the juicy details of her past that I never would have thought she would do.

posted by 2887156 on February 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book was hilarious! I could not put it down. Thank you Meli

This book was hilarious! I could not put it down. Thank you Melissa on such amusing, funny, & entertaining stories and tidbits. 5 STARS!

posted by Dobie1 on October 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    This book made me feel strange after reading it. I found myself

    This book made me feel strange after reading it. I found myself going from really liking Melissa Joan Hart and her work to feeling annoyed and simultaneously bad for her. She comes across as full-of-herself throughout the entire second half of it, and the celebrity name dropping seems to come across that she's trying to convince herself that she is/was relevant. Her mom also seemed a bit Kardashian-like even though she claims her mom was her biggest supporter. I think I would have enjoyed it more if she came across more humble and "normal" as she claimed to be. Overall, the book made me like her less.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Let me start off by saying that this book was great and I could

    Let me start off by saying that this book was great and I could barely put it down. I really don't like how other reviewers are saying that she is full of herself. The whole point of the book is that she is very humble and appreciates not be an A list celebrity because she wouldn't lead a semi-normal life if she was. The spotlight for her growing up was a lot different then how kids now a days have to deal with being known. I think you should read this book because you are interested in finding out more about Melissa. I found it to really interesting and I loved all the juicy details of her past that I never would have thought she would do.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Good read!

    Love MJH! Great book with lots of interesting facts about her life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    !

    Makes you love her more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Me...myself...and i...

    This woman is so full of herself. I can almost hear her narrating in an obnoxious know it all teen voice. Very disappointing. The book has no message. Just talks about how great she is and how boring and lame other child stars were. Insulting to people...wishing she could hit Oprah because she wasnt able to promote her book on her show...to allowing Ryan Reynolds to make out with her. Pathetic attempt at a memoir. Reads more like a diary.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Made me hate her

    While an ok read she shows her conceited side. Disappointed with her as a writer. Could have been worse.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    To mjh

    Just turn to porn like all the other actress s .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Anonymous

    While I have not read this book, the reviews confirm my impression of this person. I have seen her in many interviews, and she comes off as being rude and very full of herself. I have no desire to read this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Fang

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    Melissa Talks About Life - Hers That Is Since I'm about the sam

    Melissa Talks About Life - Hers That Is

    Since I'm about the same age as Melissa Joan Hart, it was only natural I'd become a fan early on, and I've watched most of her work, including some of all three TV shows (didn't watch much TV growing up, so I've only see a few episodes of Clarissa) and her one big movie.  Naturally, I was interested in reading this book.

    Starting with her career in commercials, Melissa talks about everything in her life, from her big hits to her parent's divorce and meeting the love of her life.  It's pretty much what you'd expect from a celebrity autobiography, which can be good and bad.  As a fan, I enjoyed it, however if I weren't a fan, I wouldn't be that interested.

    A couple of the chapters were filled with a bit too much information for my tastes, and she does have a story or two that puts celebrities in a not so flattering light.  However, she doesn't spread too much dirt around.

    My bigger disappointment was that I wanted more info on what happened behind the scenes on her shows.  She shares some, but I wanted more.  Heck, I could take an entire book about the behind the scenes decisions on Sabrina alone.

    Still, I am glad I read this book and I enjoyed getting to know an actress I like a little bit better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    A good book for fans and non-fans of MJ Hart

    I liked MJ Hart before, but am a HUGE fan after I read her book. She gives you a look behind the scenes of her shows. I wish she would have spent more time with her shows, though. Quite a bit of the book is her life as a mother. Even still, a good, entertaining book from a funny, hard-working woman. You even learn on Sabrina the Cat worked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    I'm returning this book. I struggle to read almost all of it. I

    I'm returning this book. I struggle to read almost all of it. I just couldn't get interested in it. She does brag about herself in the whole book. She jumped around in the chapters. The last few chapters she wrote about made me think she had nothing else to write about, so she just made up stuff. For example, the chapter she wrote about her husbands obsession with the Alabama Crimsons. I get her husband likes the football team but do you have to write 13 pages about it. I got so sick of reading about the football team I just skipped to the next chapter. I'm so disappointed. It makes me like her less now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1