Customer Reviews for

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

Average Rating 5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful masterpiece

    well, i'm a big fan of r&b and hip-hop music. listening to rock or alt. music isnt really me. so for me to like something out of the norm, it has to be *really* good to get my attention. there are few groups that got my attention like nirvana and red hot chili peppers. there was something about smashing pumpkins that captured me. i really loved the creativity of it. it has such a wide variety. i loved the mellowness and beauty of tonight tonight, galapogos, porcelina of the vast oceans, take me down, beautiful and farewell and goodnight. i felt this cd represents what smashing pumpkins is-an amazing group. i hoped you liked it as much as i did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the most beautiful albums of all time!!!

    This album was so beautiful, I thought I was gonna cry. The opening song "Melon Collie and the Infinitie Sadness", is just so gorgeous, and so is "Tonight, Tonight." The album is composed of soft songs, like Tonight Tonight, and some hardcore songs,like Jellybelly and Zero. If you want an album that is half hardcore, and half slow but beautiful, then Mellon Collie and the Infinitie Sadness, by The Smashing Pumpkins is definately what your looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!!!!!!! A WORK OF ART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is an amazing album. Billy Corgan is a genius and an awesome singer/songwriter. The other bandmates are very talented as well. Every song on here is amazing and will blow you away. Especially Jellybelly, Zero, Tonight Tonight, and 1979. what is so rewarding about buying this CD is how much material is on here and I have never seen or listened to an album this good in a long time. SMASHNG PUMPKINS ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece!! One OF THE BEST CDS OF ALL TIME!!

    WOW! This is an amzing album! Billy Corgan is an amazing song writer and singer. He is a genius. The whole album is great. When I first saw the album I thought I probably wouldn't like because of how long it is. But I was wrong it is a true masterpiece and will probably become one of the most enduring albums of all time.By the way, jellybelly, 1979, Zero, and tonight, tonight are amazing as well as the rest of the songs. Great job Smashing pumpkins for having another CD of yours to be addicted to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A LEGENDARY ALBUM

    This album is one of the greatest albums ever made. Covers every emotion the human spirit is capable of feeling. Can speak to your anger and your sweetest love. Words can not desribe the beauty of this album. Please listen and you will be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It Rocks

    This is the Smashing Pumpkins 2nd best album (Siamese Dream is my favorite). There are so many great songs on MCIS. I like every song! My favorites include: Jellybelly, Zero, BWBW, Where Boys Fear to Tread, Stumbleine... I highly suggest that any rock fan buy this album, because there is something for everyone on MCIS. Just blast it on your stereo once and you'll know what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the greatest cd

    this cd is the best cd ever. it is my favorite smashing pumpkins cd. sp is my favorite band of all time. if you do not own this cd, you must. not only for the songs that were always played on the radio (tonight, zero, etc), but for every song on the album. i recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't Get Enough

    This CD is the best use of moey i have ever spent on a CD. There is a variety of slow songs and songs that make you wanna jump around. Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness is always in my stereo and never leaves unless i'm going on a trip then it has to come with me. I garentee that you will fall in love with these songs and you will fall in love with Billy Corgan's voice regardless of your sex!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good stuff

    I only recently became a fan of the Smashing Pumpkins, but I'm certainly glad that I bought this album. Pure alternative riffs (Jellybelly, Zero, An Ode to No One, Bodies, Tales of a Scorched Earth) to soft, serene melodies (Galapogos, Porcelina of the Vast Oceans, Cupid de Locke, Lily (My One and Only), Farewell and Goodnight) to awesome hits such as Bullet With Butterfly Wings, Tonight Tonight, and my personal favorite, 1979, this album is truly a classic that should be in any alternative fan's collection. Its just unfortunate that SP is no longer together and won't be releasing any more great albums such as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just shy of too much

    It's strange to listen to this ablum seven years after its release. When it initially came out, I was right in the middle of ''the emptiness of youth'' Corigan wrote about on Muzzle, the album's strongest track. Now I've got a bit more perspective and while the album is still filled with solid material, I almost wish Corigan and company would have been a little more choosey with the tunes. It could have been a spectacular (and still a double) album, if they cut it down to the albums 20 strongest songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SMASHING PUMPKINS ROCK!

    Since I'm a fan of the smashing pumpkins, of course I'd love this cd. It has twice as many tracks on it as all the others, and each one is great. The lyrics are meaningful and their songs are true pieces of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Smashing Pumpkins At Thier Best!

    This album is probably one of my favorites. It has a variety of different sounding songs and I don't think any of it is filler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Smashing!

    This is brilliant. The joint best album of the decade along with Nevermind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    The Pumpkins have done it again. They put together a perfect double album. The songs never slow down, from 1 through 28. There is such a wide variety of music available on the album. They are a great band whom I hope never quit making music. The hit's ''Tonight, Tonight'' and ''1979'' really stand out. The sleepers are ''Forgive'', ''In the arms of sleep'', and ''Muzzle''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best cd(s) Ive ever heard

    These two cds have made it possilbe for me to get though my rough time because it touches you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of their best

    I'm a ravid listner of smashing pumpkins and i love this album its one of their best and has many of their best known songs if your starting out its a great one to listen to because you really get a good feel for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NOT AN ALBUM, AN EXPERIENCE!

    The third album from the illustrious Smashing Pumpkins,'Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness,' is a true rock opera. Billy Corgan and his outfit have sculpted a masterpiece, filled to the brim with abrasive rockers that feature distorted guitars and beastly drumming courtesy of the marvelous Jimmy Chamberlain, and nostalgic love songs that embrace the listener. Corgan has mastered his voice, utilizing roars, whines, and lulls. This mammoth symphony lasts two discs and there is not a even a somewhat bad song to be found. Unlike most grunge-hit-wonders, Corgan and his troupe are reinventing the rock band instead of surrendering to the common mold of what one is supposed to be. If you have yet to explore the lush soundscapes crafted by the Smashing Pumpkins, do so soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This cd was the best of all of them

    I love the way Billy Corgan writes and sings his music. He is so moving...only a person that has a soul that dark can move a listener so much. I love him and his music... every word is beautiful and mysterious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must have for any Pumpkin fan

    I great CD wich will keep you coming back for more time and time again. Even though the Pumpkins have oter CDs you will still want to come back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Emotional Rollercoaster

    From start to finish, this album offers a diversity many bands lack. While songs like Jelly Belly and Zero offer unleashed rock and anger, lullabies like Galapagos and Farewell and Goodnight offer a softer side, expressing the sadness and beauty of the minds of these four. Billy Corgan is truly to be commended on such a fantastic album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2