Customer Reviews for

Memento Nora

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    A really good idea and story. I loved how the science and techno

    A really good idea and story. I loved how the science and technology of the medicine was easy to understand. The book was almost too short and extremely slow paced for me. It kinda dragged and wish it had more content. Still seems like a good concept, but didn't capture all my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    I don't know why but lately I seem to have only picked up books

    I don't know why but lately I seem to have only picked up books with really strong female leads...go figure!  Anyway, what's wrong with a good dystopian with a female lead?  And speaking of dystopians, let me introduce another great quick summer read for those of you that can't get enough of this dystopian genre, Memento Nora by Angie Simbert.

    Memento Nora takes place in the not-so-distant future (and this is one dystopian where the future world is a believable one, not one run by zombies or aliens or where society is a compound with desolate areas).  Nora is your average teenage girl who loves to shop and witnesses a bookstore bombing and in this society when something horrible happens the people visit a Therapeutic Forgetting Center (TFC) to take a pill and put those bad memories behind them.  When at the TFC Nora notices classmate, Micah spit out his pill and Nora decides to do the same and does this change her life!  

    Nora's spur of the moment decision takes her on a dangerous roller coaster of a journey where she meets new friends Micah and Winter and together they start a comic, Momento (remember in latin) to document their stories and spread the truth.  This (like many things) catches like wildfire at school and beyond to the community.   All of the sudden, people are after them, either to silence them or erase their memories and the truth might not set them free.  What will happen next?  Will they find their way to the Big Pill and erase their memories forever?

    This is a great weekend read that really has it all!  The story is believable and exciting with really well written characters and interesting plot turns.  It's short enough that you could pick it up for a flight or a trip to the beach or even some reading material for the bus.  You won't be disappointed.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Memento Nora is a compelling dystopian told in alternating point

    Memento Nora is a compelling dystopian told in alternating points of view between Nora, Micah and Winter, 3 teens who have little in common except for their need to remember the past. Since the novel is so short, the plot does move rather quickly, not insanely fast, but I will admit to getting a bit confused once or twice. It's length also had me a little worried that I wouldn't have enough time to really get to know the characters, but that definitely wasn't the case. Author Angie Smibert does a really wonderful job of giving each character a distinct voice and very different personalities, while still making all 3 very likable.

    Winter and Micah are already very close, Nora's introduction throws the pair for a loop, but thankfully not in the way you might expect. The dynamic between the trio is really interesting because they don't become instant friends, there's a slow build up to it and even then its layered with trust issues. While you spend the most time with either Nora or Micah and their increased interest in each other, I really felt Winter was the more intriguing character. She seems to remain such a mystery even after you get to know her and I loved the relationship between her and her grandfather.

    The world the novel takes place in isn't very far removed from our own, which allows it to feel much more personal. There is also a great cast of supporting characters throughout the novel, many just as interesting as our main trio and some not at all what you'd expect.

    My only real complaint was that more time wasn't spent on the government and political backstory of how the world ended up the way it did. It's touch on a little bit, but I definitely would have liked more information about it.

    The ending of this novel left me completely shocked because although I should have seen it coming, I really didn't. I'm really glad the author is working on a sequel, since it gives the ending much more depth. I have no idea where the author is planning to take the story, but I'm very excited to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth

    The compact size of MEMENTO NORA threw me off, but don't they say that good things can come in small packages? Let me say that this package delivers quite the punch that you won't want to forget!

    Nora, Micah, and Winter live in a world that reminded me of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, but instead of messing with brainwaves, unforgivable and undesirable memories get erased with a swallow of a pill. The more you choose to forget, the more spending credits you get as a reward to shop and move up in society. A pretty sweet deal, but it begs the question of how valuable are your memories. Furthermore, how easy would it be to keep domestic abuse or conspiracy hidden from public scrutiny?

    MEMENTO NORA is primarily Nora's story, although Micah begins to play a bigger role as he grows closer to her and they get closer to the the truth behind the bombings. I wish we had gotten a little closer to Winter who seemed to have an interesting backstory, but she only had a minor role that still gets roped into the ugly aftermath. It was fascinating to follow the three different characters and see how they blended this intricate story together. The ending threw a nail-biting curve ball - and I really cannot wait to see what Book 2 will bring!

    There is definitely a lot left unsaid in MEMENTO NORA, especially concerning Nora's mother and Winter's parents. Which means that the reader can fill in the blanks or that Book 2 will hopefully lay questions to rest. I think, though, that all of the unanswered questions works for this book. As Nora states from the beginning of the story, readers will only get the important parts of the story. The rest remains untold, but highly speculated upon.

    Don't get fooled by the size of MEMENTO NORA as it gets dwarfed by other 300+ page books on the shelf - it contains a neat dystopian world that you definitely don't want to gloss over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just OK

    I thought that Memento Nora had so much potential and I liked the overall concept of the book. Unfortunately for me, it was somewhat boring at times and predictable. I really enjoyed the writing style, but the characters and everything else was mediocre.

    Nora witnesses a terrifying explosion on the city streets and she's encouraged to go to TFC, the Therapeutic Forgetting Clinic, where she'll talk to someone about what happened and take the magic erasing pill. But she runs into Micah, the nearly homeless skater kid, who's got Memento written on his broken arm's cast. She decides she's going to remember, at first not for herself, but just because she thought that's what she should do.

    Nora and Micah then become friends and start to draw and write out a comic book with their stories and what they've seen. I really enjoyed this part of the story, because it was a way for them to express themselves and go against everything they are encouraged to do.

    I wasn't a fan of Nora and her 'glossy' self, but she changed for the better once she made friends with Micah. I thought she was still just a bit dull, though. Eventually I saw the strength that she had to actually do what her and Micah did.

    I really disliked the ending of the story. I would have liked to get further closure and it just wasn't what I expected. Overall, though, I enjoyed reading Memento Nora and I would recommend it to my readers as a quick read!

    Review based on ARC copy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This book is one heck of a eye opener. From the very first page I was hooked. The world that Ms. Simbert created is like no other. Filled with a ruling government and a great plot, Memento Nora is one book that I do not want to forget.


    What I like most about this book, is the world that Ms.Simbert created. A government that offers you points to forget about bad things that happen. Now why would they want you to forget what you saw? Control. The world in the book and the way it was described is utterly amazing.


    Nora, for one, is a great character. Her strength not to forget anything is amazing. And the only reason she chooses to remember is not what she witnessed but what she found out. I was heart broken. To know what she knew and to know it was been hidden, I would want to remember too. Nora now saw everything and wanted to do something to remember, hence the word Memento. She created comics depicting events people set out to forget. And those comics got her into a lot of trouble.


    The father in this book is pure evil. I could not even imagine why he did what he did to his own daughter and wife. But like the government he worked for he wanted control. And I glad that is blew up in his face.


    Although this book is small, (which is my only gripe) is was packed with a great plot. Ms. Simbert gave you everything you needed to feel the characters and see their world. Memento Nora is a beautifully, haunting novel with a great dystopian world. I am looking forward to the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Average Dystopian!

    SUMMARY: Nora lives in a world full of explosions. Almost every day, a bomb goes off--set by the Coalition, a terrorist group with no known motive--and someone dies. To forget what they've seen, witnesses can head to their local Therapeutic Forgetting Clinic, where they take a white pill and their memories are erased. After witnessing a particularly gory bombing, fifteen-year-old Nora is taken to the TFC to have her memory erased. Except that while in the waiting room, she sees a boy spit out his pill, and is inspired to do the same. Memento Nora brings up an important question--should we choose to run away from what troubles us?

    MY THOUGHTS: On the surface, Memento Nora seems like any other dystopian book out there. Upon finishing the book, though, I've come to the conclusion that it's not--it's more. All three of Memento Nora's narrators have troubled lives--lives that, as the book continues, get much more complicated. I liked how despite the terrible things in their lives, the three main characters still decide against taking the forgetting pill. It really speaks to the strength of their character.

    The world that Angie Smibert created was very clever. It had the usual characteristics of a dystopian--a corrupt government, a resistance to said corrupt government, and an overload of technology--but it still managed to seem fresh. I had so many questions about Nora's world--what is the coalition? Why are they setting off bombs? Who came up with the white pill?--and answers to all of them were revealed at perfect points in the novel.

    Memento Nora's three narrators, Nora, Micah, and Winter, made the book feel fleshed out. Because the three teens were from different social classes, we got to see the story from different angles and perspectives. The connections between the three were expertly woven, and though I think I enjoyed Micah's perspective the most, all were enjoyable.

    I'd recommend Memento Nora to anyone who loves the dystopian genre but wants a bit more substance. The book has great moral messages without seeming preachy, and the action-packed world in which the three narrators live is one you won't want to leave (unless a bomb goes off. Then run the heck away).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    Warning prepare for lots of gushing about how much I loved Memento Nora. I want to start out by telling you that sometimes I have a difficult time with dystopia and sci-fi because I don't always feel like I can relate to such a different world or it makes me sad to think that we couldn't survive as a society and we almost cause our own destruction and a new radical world takes it's place. For those who feel the same way I do, I want to recommend Memento Nora to you because it is set in the future but you don't feel like a whole new world is forced on you. I felt that it could be possible for this future to happen but I also think that fans of Dystopia and Sci-fi could enjoy this.

    In Memento Nora the world is 40-50 years in the future and terrorism is at an all time high. Car bombings happen every few days and there are Therapeutic Forgetting Centers (TFC) that help people forget any traumatic event with a simple pill that will only cause you to forget that specific event.

    Nora makes to her first trip to a TFC after witnessing a bookstore bombing while she is out on a shopping trip with her mother. Her mom goes to to TFC almost weekly and Nora loves that after her mom is finished she's in a great mood and usually ready for more shopping. While she is in the waiting room she sees Micah, a skater kid from school, coming out after a TFC session and he spits his white pill out when no one is looking. Since it's Nora's first time her mom tells her that her father beat her and she takes her pill to forget. Nora decides that like Micah she doesn't want to forget and she spits the pill out as she exits the center.

    From that moment on nothing in Nora's life will ever be normal and she seeks out Micah. They decide to put their stories in comics that will be titled Memento, which means remember in Latin, and distribute them so others can see the truth. They hope that other kids will share their stories before they take the pill to forget. Micah is not a jock or distant if anything he's sweet and caring and really makes a great love interest. *Micah I love you* In a way he sort of reminds me of Peeta from Hunger Games and Jay from The Body Finder. With help from Micah's artsy best friend Winter they successfully print and distribute Memento.

    Memento is loved by students and quickly makes it's way around the city. The students are coming up with ideas of expressing their voice and it fuels support for Memento. They want a newspaper and pull a prank in support of the comic. An underground group wants Micah, Winter, and Nora to stop Memento as it could get them arrested. The government wants to find out quickly who is behind it and to wipe all their memories.

    Memento Nora is such an amazing book. For it only being 192 pages this little book packs a big punch. The cover is gorgeous and the ending might bring you to tears. I want to reread it because I wonder if there are hidden clues now that I read the whole story. Memento Nora is Angie Smibert's first novel and she is currently working on a sequel. Angie is also part of the Class of 2K11 and with the League of Extraordinary Writers. I can also see Memento Nora being turned into a graphic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    Quick, Fast Paced Book--Great Read!

    The world Nora lives in is really just plain terrifying! To think that terrorist actions are a normal part of everyday life and people live through these events having any kind of effect on them is a scary thought. Of course, people in this world have the ability to see a horrific event, go to the nearest Therapeutic Forgetting Clinic, take a pill, and the memory is erased.forever! What's even more horrific is that every trip one makes to the clinic allows the person to earn what I like to call frequent flyer miles, whether for taking a trip or buying a beverage. With this being said, people are rewarded for forgetting all of the negative things in society. If nothing else, which there are many other parts of the book I enjoyed, the world itself really sparked my attention.

    Memento Nora is a fast-paced, suspenseful book told from three different points of view including Nora and her two "new" friends. I tend to be drawn to books that are told from varying points of view because I feel that I get a better view and understanding of the characters. Although some authors are unable to pull off this writing style, author Angie Smibert did a great job with it. The three main characters are diverse enough that their individual chapters will maintain reader's interest. Nora's chapters include much more information than the other two characters, but this works very well because it makes the story more mysterious and suspenseful.

    What I liked most about Memento Nora is that from the start of the book until the end of it, the suspense continued to grow and intensify making me unable to put it down. There were not parts that fell flat or left be bored, but instead I was constantly connected to the story line. Towards the end of the book, I felt like I couldn't read fast enough to find out what happened to all of the characters. Just like the rest of the book, the conclusion of Memento Nora will leave readers shocked, but not disappointed. Memento Nora made me feel like I was on a roller coaster that I didn't want to get off of. What a fun, quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1