Customer Reviews for

Memoir of a Milk Carton Kid: The Tanya Nicole Kach Story

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A must buy for any parent in America! Awesome book! Memoir of

A must buy for any parent in America!

Awesome book!

Memoir of a Milk Carton Kid, by Tanya Kach and Lawrence Fisher (author) delves into the issues surround one girls horrific ordeal, her ten year essential inprisonment by a her middle school security guard Thomas Hose...
A must buy for any parent in America!

Awesome book!

Memoir of a Milk Carton Kid, by Tanya Kach and Lawrence Fisher (author) delves into the issues surround one girls horrific ordeal, her ten year essential inprisonment by a her middle school security guard Thomas Hose (some tweny years older than her). Tanya Kach was your typical 14 year old middle school girl in America (she was living in Pittsburgh, PA area) when her life started to spiral out of control with her parents divorcing, terrible crowd, stress, so forth. She started to skip class, talk to her middle school security guard (he decides to kiss her one day), Thomas Hose. Tom tells Tanya that she can come live with him at his house, so she runs away only to be essentially inprisoned by Tom (security guard) for the next ten year of her life. This book is very insightful into the legal system in America, Lawrence Fisher (author) talks about home such a thing can even happen in America. Once Tanya is at Tom's house, a house that he shares with his son and/or parents, Tanya is forced to live in room for the first four years (shower a week if she was luckY), malnourishment, solitary confined to a room. After the first four years, in 2000, Tom basically introduces her to his parents, son and tells them this is his new live in girlfriend. He has Tanya change her name, they go on some excursions outside of the house under the watchful eye of Tom. The information packed in this book is interesting, you learn a lot. Very good writing. After ten years of captivity by her middle school security guard (tom), Tanya finally makes a break for it and begs a cashier at a mart for help. She is able to be finally free, turn all the misery she faced into a triumph. Tanya overcame many forms of mental illness caused by her ordeal, and is now engaged. She overcame many physical ailments from her inprisonment by capture-Tom, she has a job, college, house. It is an amazing nonficiton book. A must have for any parent in America. Stories like Elizabeth Smart, Tanya Kach are sad but inspiring in that despite a tragedy (abduction) or in Tanya's case brainwashing, home confinement they are able to go onto to live productive lives. Truly fascinating content, a must buy for any parent in America. Buying this book signals that you care about the cause of mssing children in America! In America's woeful economic times, budget cut backs for schools, this is a great learning tool for parents, always be on guard about their school atmosphere, have open communication - some type of relationship with young, nieve children up the age of at least 18. Highly recommend this book to any parent in America, it was a great book, very insightful content. Awesome book!

posted by BrianD0 on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Sad and heartbreaking story, but not well written

When I saw an her TV interview on Dr. Phil, my heart went out to her for the ordeal she suffered. Towards the end of the interview, it was mentioned that she and her lawyer had written this book, I immediately went to my local B&N to pick up the book, to read more of he...
When I saw an her TV interview on Dr. Phil, my heart went out to her for the ordeal she suffered. Towards the end of the interview, it was mentioned that she and her lawyer had written this book, I immediately went to my local B&N to pick up the book, to read more of her amazing story. I was very disappointed, not well written or organized in my opinion and found it very difficult to follow along with the story. Not at all written in the same style as Jaycee Dugard's book.

posted by 9869077 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A must buy for any parent in America! Awesome book! Memoir of

    A must buy for any parent in America!

    Awesome book!

    Memoir of a Milk Carton Kid, by Tanya Kach and Lawrence Fisher (author) delves into the issues surround one girls horrific ordeal, her ten year essential inprisonment by a her middle school security guard Thomas Hose (some tweny years older than her). Tanya Kach was your typical 14 year old middle school girl in America (she was living in Pittsburgh, PA area) when her life started to spiral out of control with her parents divorcing, terrible crowd, stress, so forth. She started to skip class, talk to her middle school security guard (he decides to kiss her one day), Thomas Hose. Tom tells Tanya that she can come live with him at his house, so she runs away only to be essentially inprisoned by Tom (security guard) for the next ten year of her life. This book is very insightful into the legal system in America, Lawrence Fisher (author) talks about home such a thing can even happen in America. Once Tanya is at Tom's house, a house that he shares with his son and/or parents, Tanya is forced to live in room for the first four years (shower a week if she was luckY), malnourishment, solitary confined to a room. After the first four years, in 2000, Tom basically introduces her to his parents, son and tells them this is his new live in girlfriend. He has Tanya change her name, they go on some excursions outside of the house under the watchful eye of Tom. The information packed in this book is interesting, you learn a lot. Very good writing. After ten years of captivity by her middle school security guard (tom), Tanya finally makes a break for it and begs a cashier at a mart for help. She is able to be finally free, turn all the misery she faced into a triumph. Tanya overcame many forms of mental illness caused by her ordeal, and is now engaged. She overcame many physical ailments from her inprisonment by capture-Tom, she has a job, college, house. It is an amazing nonficiton book. A must have for any parent in America. Stories like Elizabeth Smart, Tanya Kach are sad but inspiring in that despite a tragedy (abduction) or in Tanya's case brainwashing, home confinement they are able to go onto to live productive lives. Truly fascinating content, a must buy for any parent in America. Buying this book signals that you care about the cause of mssing children in America! In America's woeful economic times, budget cut backs for schools, this is a great learning tool for parents, always be on guard about their school atmosphere, have open communication - some type of relationship with young, nieve children up the age of at least 18. Highly recommend this book to any parent in America, it was a great book, very insightful content. Awesome book!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    To unbelievable, I say shame on you! I say until you walk in someone elses shoes, you have no clue!

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    A book worth buying, and money well spent!

    As a student of Cornell Middle School during the 90's, attending in the Mr. Hose era, I found myself over whelmed by the fact of personal connection, a need to purchase and read this book! I felt extremely obsessed to read Ms. Kach's book because my sister and I were run a ways who attended Cornell at almost the exact same time as her ordeal!! Ms. Kach may have even associated with my sister or myself. And even though Ms. Kach has fallen subject to much criticism and judgment for her story, I without a doubt believe her story, and sympathize with her! Many people choose to chastise her, blaming her for what happen to her! However, as a student @ Cornell @ the time Mr. Hose worked there I can honestly say I believe her story! He was with out a doubt a creepy, scarey, predator,preying on all of the girls he was paid to protect! I deeply believe if Tanya would haven't moved to Mckeesport & fallen under his diabolical trance, one of the other hundred trouble Cornell Middle School female youths would have!! And maybe the ending would have much worse. So those whom choose to badger Ms. Kach need to take a second look. Cause she was only 14 and no matter what he was wrong as at almost 40 sleeping with a child!! I only wish she would have told more about the years before when she was under lock and key, But other wise, I praise her for being able to survive!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    It is a sad story, but great ending. Cannot belive stuff like t

    It is a sad story, but great ending. Cannot belive stuff like this happens in the 21st century, but it does. Case of young girl, forced to live with adult man for ten years. Very good book.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Every parent should read!!

    This is a book about survival. When I read this book, I was truly appalled at how the system failed this girl and that not even her parent's cared for what happened to her. This is a must read book!! Read it for yourself, don't form your oppinion over what the people who had nothing but ill word's to say. Nobody know's what she went through but her!! Until you have walked in her shoe's, keep your negative opinion's to yourself!! Worth the money to buy it to read and worth the time to read it!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Great Book

    This book is a classic and there's good reason why it is a New York Times Bestseller. The subject matter is intriguing and contraversial. The style of writing is crisp and clear. The charachter development is multi-layered and profound. Overall, the orginality of the subject matter as well as the way that subject matter is presented give great insight into a ponderous plot.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Shame on u haters

    Shame on u lovedbyall and all others like you. This a very sad story which shows how our troubled teens fall through the cracks. Because their parents dont care and society wants rid of them. The fact is those of you who are disbelievers, never walked in her shoes and this shows your ignorance. So shame on you. I feel for you Tayna stay strong, keep the Lord #1 and the ones that matter in your life are the ones who support you, all others aren't worthy of your love and friendship. I for one would be honored to give u a big hug.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    A Heartbreaking Story A Must Read for Parents and Their Children

    A riveting story. My heart goes out to Tanya, the survivor of this horrifying experience. I also celebrate her triumph of overcoming this. A definite must read for parents along with their children, to teach them that even those who are paid to protect them can't always be trusted. Kudos to Lawrence Fisher for explaining some of the more confusing legalities.

    Being on the New York Times Best Seller's List just speaks for itself. I definitely recommend this book to others.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Tanya's story should be heard by all of the general public, amaz

    Tanya's story should be heard by all of the general public, amazing story.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Memoir of A Milk Carton Kid: The Tanya Nicole Kack Story by Tany

    Memoir of A Milk Carton Kid: The Tanya Nicole Kack Story by Tany Nicole Kack (author), Lawrence Fisher (author) is an excellent book. Very well written, relevant to American society today for anyone to read, learn from.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Could not put this book down after reading the first chapter, ve

    Could not put this book down after reading the first chapter, very well laid out, it was like a real life movie, sad content, with a delightful ending. A must read for any individual interested in mystery, missing kid stories. Gripping tale!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Highly recommend

    The book I s good read and has many life lessons in it that we all can learn

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Sounds like a good read

    I am thinking about buying, i dont understand how anybody can criticise her, especially if u have nevrr been in that stuation!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Lawrence Fisher, Tanya Kach's lawyer did a splendid job writing

    Lawrence Fisher, Tanya Kach's lawyer did a splendid job writing of her horrendous
    of house kidnapping by her middle school guard for a decade. God Bless Tnaya Nicole Kach.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Excellent book

    Excellent book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    5 out of 5 stars.

    5 out of 5 stars.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great Book

    I read this book in one night , I cou,d not put my nook down!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    This bitch is........

    So stupid she asks like its his fault when she went to him i saw her on dr.phil and i can tell she is not innocent

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Amazing

    A completely heartfelt book

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2